We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique expirience”
Review of The Owl - CLOSED

The Owl
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are not much to look at from the outside (yet!), but Trust Us a little and stop by! We will give you a great meal in a fun and casual atmosphere. Our menu includes very reasonably prices small plates as well as several full-entree sized options. The menu changes often as we are always trying to improve, and can be found on our Facebook page. We also have a full bar serving hand crafted cocktails, beer, and wine. Reservations are recommended! Hours: Wed-Thur 5:30pm-10:30pm Fri 5:30pm-1:00am Sat 5:30pm-11:30pm Sun (Brunch) 11:00am-2:00pm.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique expirience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food was great. Service was attentive and helpful in the description of the different dishes. Excellent expirience!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loveinterestingfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Eclectic surprise in Upstate South Carolina”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Owl is located on Wade Hampton just down the street from Bob Jones University. It may be a challenging location and a challenging menu for a business-oriented town like Greenville. But if you get a call from Anthony Bourdain and he's coming to the Upstate, take him here. It's probably the only place in town that offers tongue, romesco, and sassafras-enhanced risotto on one menu. This kitchen obviously rocks. The butternut squash bisque garnished with curried cabbage, almonds, and pickled apple was a bowl tipper ($5 for a generous portion). My second plate was the noddle bowl which was served with smoked tofu, roasted grapes and a interestingly seasoned butternut squash base. I stopped there and will explore the rest of the menu (always changing, I assume) on my next visit. Portions were quite generous. Waitress said, "They're tapas size." They are absolutely larger than that. The cocktail list (10 different possibilities) sounded smashing (pardon the pun) and run from $8 to $10 for your legal high; the bar seems to be funding the restaurant, but that's cool. Decor: not much effort here. The diners provide the decoration. No need for a linen bill, but I do have a complaint about serving dishes. Each dish should be presented with a plate under it. Don't just bring a bowl of soup, put a damn plate under it. Don't just bring a plate of noodles, put a plate under it. This provides a place for your diners to put their flatware, thank you. Boarding school basics. Live it--there's really a reason for a lot of serving etiquette. One truly negative: the dessert offering. The only dessert was lavender creme brulee ($3.50). Please, that's what grandmere and Aunt Madge would serve with tea. I am dreaming of blood orange pudding in a licorice roux or cranberry mousee with mushroom foam and toasted torbino sugar. I just came up with those from the top of my head. Maybe pumpkin-espresso sorbet with walnut syrup. Foodies, go and love this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“De-licious!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I finally made it over to try out The Owl. Their menu is all small plates, which I love because then you get to sample a variety instead of committing to just one dish. The price was very affordable and the food impeccable! The interior is modern/minimalist and the seating in the dining room is spaced out so you don't feel crowded. The servers were very attentive and also knowledgeable. The music played in the dining room would be my only complaint, it was a little loud and abrasive for my taste, but hey to each his own! Another great Greenville addition!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thanks Trip Advisor! Your subscribers nailed this one!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was in Greenville SC for the weekend. As is usually the case when I'm in a town I don't know I turn to Trip Advisor. This was the #1 pick, After eating there, it is now mine. From the outside the building is not impressive, Neither is the inside! 40' by 40' open floor plan with14 formica tables. But the food is FANTASTIC. Ecclectic, delicious, different. Order anything and you will not be disappointed. Small dishes, great prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavorful and unique”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Find this place! Not directly downtown but very close and well worth the effort.

I have tried several different cocktails and dishes... ALL well executed. The description of dishes on the menu are brief which makes every dish a tasty surprise.

Cocktails are unique and exceed expectations. And if you already have a favorite, try it here for an interesting twist.

Busiest times are between 7pm and 9pm but there seems to always be room at the bar. During the busy hours... just call ahead to make a reservation.

Definitely worth the trip whether you are visiting from out of town or a local looking for something new.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sccyclist70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Owl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing