We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time southern charm.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old time southern charm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a historic hotel with sweeping staircases and marble. The location is perfect - right on the middle of charming shops and boutiques. A variety of restaurants are just out the door. Hotel has a restaurant, piano bar and great lobby to enjoy; However we only stayed one night while visiting our son at Clemson. The park is also just a few blocks away. Will definitely return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Elvis,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Poinsett Hotel! Thank you for complimenting our Spoonbread Restaurant & Lounge. I am glad you were able to experience the fabulous live music our musicians play four nights a week. We also agree that our location can’t be beat in the center of downtown surrounded by great shops and restaurants. We are looking forward to you staying longer next time and congratulations to your son studying at Clemson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    249
    80
    41
    15
See reviews for
244
377
53
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Super clean! The view was awesome! great room service. Over looking Main Street in downtown Greenville. Walking distance to any eating spot. Would def stay again! A great place to stay to get away but not have to drive a long distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Brian,
Thank you for your generous review! It is a pleasure to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Westin Poinsett from the “awesome” location with a view to the great room service! Being centrally located in the heart of Greenville certainly has its perks! We look forward to hosting your next getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I booked the number one hotel in the Greenville Tripadvisor rankings expecting southern charm and hospitality. The location was great and Greenville downtown was definitely worth visiting. The room was large and comfortable although the bathroom felt as if it hadn't been modernised for at least 25 years.

The hotel was let down by poor service on the front desk, who failed to pass an urgent message from my wife and who then, when asked to email me about a missing package, did not do so.

Finally I was put off by the waitresses in the otherwise excellent breakfast restaurant asking for their gratuity very assertively every morning even though it was a self service breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemberGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review. As Greenville’s only historic four diamond hotel, we strive to keep up with modern conveniences Westin guest’s are accustomed to while maintaining our historic charm since the doors opened in 1925. I sincerely apologize you did not receive the warmest welcome and customer service for which Westins are known for. As the General Manager, I have addressed your comments with my management team and sincerely hope you will join us again next time your travels take you to Greenville. We would like to demonstrate to you that we have rectified the issues. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Nice and quite reasonably priced. Smack in the middle of a wonderful downtown area full of shopping, bars and restaurants.
Room was fine except the view was of another building that I am sure was not there when this old building was built.
Breakfast was good ($16.95) for the buffet- no eggs on the buffet which I found odd, but there was a lady making ommelettes.

Very satisfactory overall. No unpleasant suprises.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasnhal212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Westin Poinsett’s perfect location in the heart of downtown Greenville and found us to be reasonably priced too! I will be sure to let Chef Curtis know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and I will thank our omelet cook on your behalf. We definitely hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean, beds were comfortable and parking was easy. It's located in the center of downtown Greenville. You can walk to anything. It was a bit pricey, but again, downtown Greenville was right there as you walked outside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapinedas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Poinsett in the heart of downtown Greenville. Our location is indeed a great asset being just steps away from many great restaurants and shops! As soon as the weather warms up a little, we will again provide our golf cart for complimentary transportation up and down Main street. We look forward to hosting you again on a future visit to experience it all! Thank you for your flattering recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at the Westin for 2 nights while on a business trip. It was a rainy, cold weekend in Greenville but hotel was very nice, cozy and most important very clean! Centrally located to great restaurants, downtown shopping and the park...didn't have to ask for my car the entire stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Poinsett! Being in the heart of downtown certainly has its perks, I am glad you were able to take advantage of our prime location! We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at your hotel recently while some restoration was done at our house as a result of a water pipe burst. Just wanted to say what a delightful stay we had there (9 days) and your staff could not have been more supportive and accommodating! It was so relaxing to wake up in our 7th floor, corner room with the sun streaming in those big windows...

In particular, I wanted to mention just a few staff members who were especially kind to us... Janice, the Concierge, was wonderful to us and she felt just like an old friend by the time we left. You have a treasure in her! Dru was very helpful with our reservations and happily accommodated the fact that we had to extend our stay. Cindy, in the dining room, did not blink an eye at breakfast when my husband asked if she could use some of the fruit to make a smoothie - unbelievable!

We have stayed at many fabulous hotels in this country, but I would say that the Westin Poinsett is right up there with the best. You have put together a great staff and we will not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Recommend the "01" rooms - corner with nice natural light from 2 large windows - very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Peggy,
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us at the Westin Poinsett and that we were able to accommodate your every need! I will be sure to let our staff know how much you appreciate their attention to detail and support during this difficult time for your family. Additionally, Janice, Dru, and Cindy were very pleased to hear about your compliments as well. Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to serving as your “home away from home” any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#11 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#19 of 64 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing