We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grand old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice old historic property. Very friendly,classy, professional staff....from the valet thru house keeping...all were exceptionally well trained, knowledgeable, friendly,etc. Great location right downtown, very clean & well appointed rooms. Obviously an older property, but very,very nice & a pleasant evening spent. Exceptionally comfortable bedding & nice plumpy soft towels. Really spotless clean rooms. Like everything in life, you get what you pay for. When looking for a little something extra classy & special...this place delivers. A simply nice old beautiful grand hotel. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Frank,
Thank you so much for your very generous review of our hotel. Our staff strives to deliver consistently good experiences. While we are a historic property, we have all the modern day amenities you would expect from a AAA 4 diamond rated hotel, such as free wireless internet, HD TV and complimentary airport shuttles. We are pleased to hear about the clean rooms, the soft towels and the comfortable beds. We sincerely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

My early-morning check out was a breeze thanks to Bethanye. I had questions about my corporate rate an she was happy to assist.

I always love the historic character of this hotel. Clean and spacious rooms. Helpful staff. This hotel is a hidden gem in a small town.

Well-placed on Main Street, there are restaurants and bars and things to do within walking distance.

Capping off my visit, Bethanye's willingness to help with a smile even made departing smooth!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mammoth06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your raving review about our hotel and how helpful you found our guest service representative, Bethanye, to be. We have shared your nice comments with her, which she very much appreciated. Thank you for your patronage. We do look forward to you returning to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Westin is a classic, adult hotel that has comfortable rooms, top amenities and is located right downtown. The elegant entry is very inviting and the staff is very welcoming. Ask for Main Street view or a backside room if quiet is your preference. Business friendly.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that your stay was everything you hoped for. We provide free high speed internet in all guest rooms and in the public space, which is widely used by our business guests. Complimentary airport transportation in one of our two new vehicles is a quick and convenient way to get around. We sincerely look forward to having you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently attended a wedding atthe hotel and stayed there as well.
The actual hotel is quite old but has been renovated in the past 15-20 years. It still has the classic bones and that old southern charm with high ceilings and fixtures.
Service was great with a friendly staff.
The room was spacious, and very comfortable.
Bathroom amenities were scarce and they could do better with that (shower cap for the wife, Q-Tips, ,maybe an emery board).
The bar was relaxed and made a mean drink. We only had the banquet food at the wedding and it was very good for a catered event.
Best of all is it's in the middle of downtown making everything easily accessible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the detailed description of your experience at the Westin. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food served at the wedding, the drinks at the bar and the friendliness of our staff. As to the building itself, the hotel first opened in 1925, but was been fully restored 13 years ago and has been renovated since then. We provide modern amenities such as complimentary high speed internet access and HD TV while maintaining the historic feel in the public space at the same time. We hope you will be back to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a mini-staycation for our 6th wedding anniversary at The Westin Poinsett. Everyone that we came in contact with was super friendly, wished us a happy anniversary and offered to assist in any possible way to make our stay the best it could be. We returned from dinner to find a gift of chocolate-covered strawberries and champagne. Every detail was fabulous and much-appreciated. I will recommend this hotel to any of my out-of-town guests.

Room Tip: Room with a Main Street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peyton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Peyton,
Congratulations on your anniversary! And Thank you for picking the Westin Poinsett to celebrate this important occasion. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time and that you are spreading the word. All of us look forward to seeing you again this time next year (or before)! Our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were attending a show at The Peace Center. This hotel was conveniently located to both downtown and walking distance to The Peace Center. It is an older hotel, but our room was large, very clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside might be the odd showerhead. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catjim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Being located just a two minute walk from the Peace Center and the Symphony has made us indeed a most convenient hotel for guests visiting Greenville to enjoy a show or concert. Despite the proximity, we still offer to drive our guests to and from the venue if they so desire. Thank you for commenting so nicely on our staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. With so many terrific upcoming performances at the Peace Center, we count on seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a Wonderful experience at the Poinsett for location, easy parking, great location for shopping, restaurants, good gym , walking on Greenville's trail, easy parking, Piece Center for concerts, etc.
the bar has wonderful crab cakes (all crab) and piano for entertainment. This is a lovely hotel with large comfortable rooms. A+

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for all your kind words about our hotel. Our comfortable piano lounge is a popular spot for guests and locals to enjoy good food or just a perfect beverage along with live music and professional service. It is the perfect setting before or after a show at the close by Peace Center. We sincerely appreciate your very nice rating of our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#16 of 64 in Greenville
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#11 of 64 in Greenville
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#15 of 64 in Greenville
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $172 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing