We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a romantic get away! Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Westin Poinsett is the perfect place for a romantic getaway for an anniversary! When I think of this hotel, I think of southern charm at its finest! The historical building is stunning, very tastefully decorated, and in the perfect location to be within walking distance of everything in downtown Greenville. The friendly but professional staff is amazing and very helpful, yet they did not appear to expect anything in return. Through email, the concierge helped me arrange for champagne and a cheese/crackers/fruit tray to be in our room upon arrival for my anniversary and helped surprise my husband. Many other amenities are available for purchase as well at what I consider very reasonable prices. My husband and I were completely blown away and surprised when we received a complimentary late night snack of strawberries dipped in chocolate and fruit and a beautiful, handwritten note congratulating us on our anniversary and thanking us for staying in the hotel. The room was simple but very elegant and tasteful, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The parking deck has plenty of parking and valet parking is also available. The late check out time of 12:00 is really nice. The hotel showcases some gorgeous photographs of various weddings that have been held here. If you make arrangements in advance, you might be able to go to the top of the hotel for a picture with a huge, cool vintage hotel sign at the top. The hotel has a spa and a huge gym, which we did not use, but it appeared very nice. There was a restaurant on site and a beautiful dining area for special events or maybe even in house dining, which we did not use. Since we were only there for one night, we tried to take in as much of downtown as possible. My husband and I were made to feel very special and like royalty while we were there! The attention to detail was amazing. We’ve raved about our stay to all of our friends. This hotel is definitely a class act, and we can't wait to make arrangements to return in the fall!

Room Tip: With the location of the hotel, I believe that you would be able to have a great view of downtown Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest
We appreciate your very nice and detailed review on our hotel and the photos you took as well. We are honored to have been part of your anniversary celebration and glad to hear that our staff was welcoming and helpful, I’ll be sure to pass on your kind words to our concierge, Janice, and the front desk staff. Being the only historic four diamond hotel in Greenville, guests have high expectations of the Westin and we are delighted to hear that we fulfilled your's during your recent stay. We look forward to you returning to us in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Westin Poinsett was our choice to celebrate a 60th birthday lunch for a very special friend. The atmosphere and service was over the top. The Poinsett is a very special historical landmark for downtown Greenville and I would highly recommend the experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Paige,
Thank you for kind words about our staff, I am delighted to know how helpful they were for your friend’s birthday festivities. Thank you for choosing to celebrate with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Greenville which is lively and has a number of unique restaurants. We used the Valet parking which was very reasonable and the valets very prompt. The staff are genuine and professional, the room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Overall, we felt welcomed by everyone and we will be returning to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torn8oChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is always wonderful to hear guests confirm that they will be returning due to the great stay they had with us. Since our valet service was to your liking, on your next visit you should take advantage of our new golf cart service where the valet will drive you anywhere on Main Street, free of charge. We do look forward to your next return and I’ll be sure to pass on your praises to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The service was great. The front desk was very helpful. The rooms are nice with great showers and beds. The air conditioner could have worked a little better and the rooms are a little outdated. However, the room also does not cost $500.00 a night. Basically a great deal for the price and probably the best choice in Greenville. The breakfast was very good and the staff was eager to please. The Westin maintains that Southern hospitality. Main Street is up and coming.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room overlooking main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that our historic hotel gave you a good taste of Southern hospitality. Our downtown has been winning awards and the Westin is located right on Main Street, next to many restaurants, theatres and venues for Broadway shows. We appreciate your comment about the affordability of our 4 diamond hotel and hope you will take advantage of it again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Third stay here . . .you just can't beat the location and the fantastic staff at this Westin. The rooms are lovely, clean and well-appointed. The lobby/bar area is beautiful and welcoming. Fantastic overnight to attend a Peace Center concert. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, stay on the back side of the hotel. If you want to watch the comings and goings o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccermom844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your raving review and the fact that you are a returning guest make your nice comments even more meaningful. Thank you for the kind words about our employees. We will share your comments with all. As for our lobby/bar, we just renovated that area so we are pleased the updates are to your liking. We hope you are planning your fourth trip soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a nice hotel and staff! This historic hotel sits right in the middle of a quaint downtown amid restaurants, shops, and a lovely waterfall park. The hotel has a welcoming entry, beautiful lobbly, elegant marble elevators, and very nice rooms. Classic Old South. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We had coctails in the lobby, had a very comfortable night's sleep, and ordered room service for breakfast. The bed and linens were perfect. Bathroom was updated. Nice shower. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room with king sized bed was at the end of the hall and overlooked the main street downtown. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was in search of a place to stay because I was working in Greenville for a few days. This Hotel did not disappoint. Service was amazing as expected, the room was well appointed and I love all the old details that were not destroyed when the building was converted back into a hotel after sitting vacant as burned out shell for so many years. You can see all the old details they left intact everywhere, but also updated with all the modern touches you expect today. This amazing location is situated in everything you can want or need in Downtown Greenville within walking distance.

A bonus is the free internet service, its something that all hotels should offer, especially higher ned business hotels. A note on room service, the breakfast card you hang on the door is not very well done, it could use a redo, but the breakfast was great once it was delivered. Ordered dessert one day and the Chocolate Cake was amazing, but the next night the Creme Brulee was rather bland and was only crunchy on half the top.

Overall this was great stay and I would most definitely stay again for my next downtown weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor and enjoy some amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Michael,
Business travelers are a big part of our clientele and we are thrilled to know we impressed you. We appreciate your comments on our historic structure. We recently joined “Historic Hotels of America” and work hard to maintain the traditional stature while also providing modern amenities, like the complimentary high speed internet you mentioned. We will review the layout of our breakfast door card to improve your next experience. Looking forward to your next visit, whether it’s for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#16 of 64 in Greenville
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 64 in Greenville
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#15 of 64 in Greenville
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $172 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing