We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is my third stay in the hotel. Right in the heart of downtown Greenville, with tons of things within walking distance. This is a classic old south hotel. Beautiful old lobby with a great staff that greats you with a smile. Older building with odd shaped rooms but clean and crisp like you would expect from a Westin. Workout room is above average. Room was neat and clean with the heavenly bed you would expect to be comfortable. Food is above average in the hotel but this trip I ventured outside the hotel for all my meals. I loved Nose Dive a pub attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We’re so glad to hear that you continue to choose to come back and visit with us. We thank you for your kind words about our staff and amenities, like our newly renovated Westin Workout facility. While we love our guests experiencing our Chef’s cooking, we are indeed within walking distance of over 50 restaurants, making it easy to explore and enjoy downtown Greenville. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    263
    83
    41
    16
See reviews for
256
395
56
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The outside of this hotel is beautiful and the welcome from the staff was very courteous, you go up one flight of stairs to the lobby and reception and it is a stunning space. We were upgraded to a suite and in all honesty for a suite it wasn't very impressive, please don't get me wrong it was a big room and nicely decorated it just didn't have the wow factor, that a lot of suites have. I think if I had paid the difference from an ordinary room to the suite I would have felt a little cheated. That aside the bed was ultra comfortable and the sleep undisturbed. The hotel is situated right on the side of the main street, but Greenville has a lovely main street and the view of it from the top floor was very pleasant.

Room Tip: When in Greenville check out the waterfalls, only 200 yards from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear David,
It has been 13 years that this hotel has been fully restored and re-opened to the public. Honestly, it was a close call and could have been demolished instead. Guests like you, appreciating the unique character of a hotel that was built in 1925, but enjoying the modern amenities that we are offering at the same time, are our most loyal customers. We sincerely thank you for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Full service, professional and adorable staff. Well run, well managed old hotel with lots of charm. Stayed here many times.

Janis the concierge helps tremendously with recomendations and reservations. The front desk great. Nice lobby bar.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Richard,
Your review is short and to the point. We sincerely appreciate all your positive adjectives describing our hotel. As well, we are especially grateful for your highlighting of our Concierge and Front Desk Team. After all, it is the staff that makes the difference. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

You can feel and live Greenville's past in this historic, classic hotel with gracious service. The location in the heart of downtown is ideal for exploring Main Street (recently cited in Travel & Leisure as one of America's best), the West End district complete restaurants, boutiques and art galleries, Falls Park on the Reedy with a curved cantilever bridge, Fluor Field - which is a replica of Fenway Park for the Single A affiliate of the Red Sox - Greenville Drive, and the Peace Center performing arts center. Rooms are stately though can vary greatly in size, feel and view. Public spaces are tasteful. Treated nicely by a terrific staff, and liked the small touches of freshly baked cookies in the afternoon, fresh water with citrus slices. Gym is the typical grouping of cardio machines and weights. Along with the Hampton Downtown on Riverplace (which might have the slight edge), these are my two favorite places to stay in Greenville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our city and the many attractions it has to offer. All these venues can be reached by foot or through a complimentary ride in our golf cart. Thank you for noticing our freshly baked cookies, offered every day as of 3pm at check in and the infused water, available around the clock. As the only 4 diamond and historic hotel in downtown Greenville, we offer a different experience from our neighbors. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel was much nicer than expected. Beds are marvelous. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Location was ideal. Would not hesitate to stay there again. The food was very good and you did not leave hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Carole,
We sincerely appreciate the compliments about our hotel, service, staff and food. It sounds like we might have an opportunity to seeing you again. We definitely look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our out of town wedding guests absolutely loved staying at the Westin. We booked our rooms for the wedding weekend through Somers and she was very easy to deal with even though Artisphere was the same weekend. She went above and beyond helping our group by adding two rooms at a time as they would fill up. Our guests loved the location and being right in the middle of everything going on all weekend. A big thank you to the Westin and their fine staff for making the room situation the last of our worries on our wedding weekend.

Taylor & Gypsy

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Taylor,
You clearly picked the perfect weekend, our downtown location can’t get any better with the excitement of the Artisphere. It is wonderful to hear that Somers took such nice care of you and helped make your wedding weekend so special. Please join us again (with or without guests); Greenville is always worth a visit. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We held a small one-day meeting at the Westin. It's a beautiful venue and the staff was great; from the pre-planning process to onsite help, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the Westin Poinsett.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Kristin

Thank you for your kind words about our venue and friendly staff. We sincerely appreciate your endorsement and hope that we can plan more meetings for you soon. Until then, our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing