We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Corporate Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would highly recommend the Westin Poinsett. We had a group of approx 35 people and everyone had only positive feedback for the hotel. The hotel accommodations and service were above my expectations. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were clean. We did not dine in the restaurant but the catered events were all very nice with delicious food/drinks and excellent service. The hotel is located in a great part of downtown Greenville. We were able to walk to many restaurants/bars, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Angela:
“Exceeding expectations” for a group of 35 people, is a very nice compliment. Thank you so much for being such a good supporter of our hotel. Despite the fact that we are located right in the middle of downtown and in walking distance to most restaurants, we are now offering a complimentary ride in our golf cart to and from all venues on Main street if you wish to take advantage of that. We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently attended a wedding reception held at this hotel. I wanted to report that the catering staff was by far the nicest and most efficient I have ever dealt with at a reception. They were quick, unobtrusive, very friendly, and funny. I would highly recommend the catering staff to anyone! Good job everyone! Also, the food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Kirstin,
What a nice compliment about our Banquet operation. Despite the fact that we host approximately 70 weddings a year, we always want to make sure that each single one is perfectly done. Thank you for highlighting our service team as well as the quality of our food. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I had a Saturday overnight stay. One wedding and two proms were taking place the same day/evening. The check-in desk assured us this would not be a problem with respect to noise and access to bar/services and they were exactly right -- they were well-staffed and we did not feel crowded or overwhelmed. We enjoyed cocktail-hour drinks in the lobby area and had attentive, pleasant servers. Our king room was at the end of the hall and we heard absolutely no noise during the stay, other than people closing doors checking out in the morning.

Here are the items that reduce my rating from 5 to 4.

(1) Parking. You can valet park or self-park for a reduced cost in the garage behind the hotel. The parking is not expensive. But if you self-park, be sure to unpack your car at the front circle because there are stairs and a ramped hallway between the garage and the hotel that make it inconvenient to load/unload from the garage entrance. I mention this because we arrived a few hours earlier than the check-in time, and so could not unload in the front circle without moving our car out of and then back into the garage. A plus is that the hotel gives you a card that gives you in/out privileges at the garage.

(2) The hotel has "character" but part of the character seems to be its "mezzanine" (half-floor) levels around the entrance and lobby. For instance, the exterior main entrance is a half-floor from the check-in desk. You can either take the steps or have a little elevator ride to the main lobby. It is not a big deal but it creates an obstacle you have to think about when you are carrying things. Great experiences don't require thought.

(3) We had a room at the end of the hall, but I noticed that rooms near the elevator are also near the ice-machine, which is in an alcove open to the hallway. So those rooms would be subject to more noise.

(4) Items specific to our room: the housekeeper left a scrub-pad with a hair embedded in it in our shower. There was a hair in our sink. Something had been spilled long ago on the bathroom floor that etched/stained the glaze on the tiles -- they weren't dirty but they looked dirty. My wife liked the shower but I thought the flow was sort of weak. For the life of me I could not figure out how to operate the radio -- I think the ipod-style volume knob simply didn't work.

(5) Pillows. Every hotel seems to have its own oddly shaped pillows -- tablets or rolls or squares... anything but traditional-shape pillows. The bedding was great but we had these long and narrow pillows that I had a hard time trying to arrange. You shouldn't have to wish you had your own pillows from home when you go to a luxury hotel.

I will say again, all of our interactions with hotel staff were great but you have to consider the facilities along with the people. The facilities had character, but not enough character that you feel you are in "a grand hotel of the past". At a bit over 2 bills per night, I expected more, especially in Greenville (this isn't Charleston!) but the other downtown hotels (with the exception of HI) were even more expensive. I would have liked it better if this were in the $160-170 range.

I might stay here again just because the location is good, we wanted a romantic getaway and we didn't want to drive to dinner or shopping. But if you have a designated driver and destinations all over the area, and don't value the "city hotel experience", I think you would find better values. Hope this review helps you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crea8ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your time writing this detailed review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was quiet despite the wedding and two proms. Being a historic building, there are clearly some unique features, but we hope that, due to our compact size, it did not cause any inconvenience. As to the grand hotel of the past feel, we restored much of the public space to the look of the time when Amelia Earhardt, Cornelius Vanderbilt and Bobby Kennedy were guests at the Poinsett Hotel and it served as backdrop for several scenes in George Clooney’s film “Leatherheads”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel, now with the Westin signature comfort. Professional staff, comfortable beds, attention to detail. If driving, valet is a must. Make sure to enjoy the paintings with their local history, including the story of the of the hotel's namesake, for whom poinsettias were named and brought from Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Dave,
We are glad to hear about your appreciation for our historic hotel. We are a member of the Historic Hotels of America association and, at the same time, fulfill the expectations of the more contemporary Westin brand. Therefore, you can enjoy the attentively restored public spaces, while receiving complimentary high speed, fiber optic cable, internet access at the same time. Utilizing the best of “both worlds” has been very much appreciated by our guests. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, facilities and food at this hotel. Located at the bottom of beautiful downtown Greenville, this is a great location to spend a weekend or hold a large event. The staff are superb and efficient and the service impeccable. We have held a CE event for 130 people including breakfast, lunch and speaking rooms twice yearly now for the last few years and have returned again and again. This is our first choice for this venue in Greenville.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
We cannot thank you enough for your kind words about our hotel. We pride ourselves on our attentive staff and are glad to hear we have left a lasting impression to have you return year after year. We look forward to helping you host your next event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We come to Greenville often as we only live 70 miles away, but rarely stay overnight. I had a continuing education meeting that was at the Westin so we decided to stay overnight. We stayed a a junior suite. Although the price at $240 was a little more than I like to pay for an overnight stay, it was on my companies dime so what the heck. The suite was very spacious and the bed was amazingly comfortable and cozy. There was plenty of room for both a mini fridge and microwave which would have been nice to have as the midnight leftovers from dinner would have been more enjoyable warm and I wouldn't have had to drag a small cooler up 5 stories for medication that needs to be refrigerated. All in all I would come here again for a special occasion. They did a great job with the continuing education amenities as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ugavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you chose to stay with us for your overnight visit to Greenville. Glad to know you enjoyed the heavenly beds as well! Please be aware, we do have mini fridges and microwaves available upon request at no extra charge. Therefore, please let us know, the next time you come to visit and we will gladly deliver one to your room. We very much look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in March 13, and having driven from Atlanta after a long flight the concierge parking was a real treat as was the warm reception. I was given a top floor room with good views of the downtown. Free Wifi worked well and the room was a good size. The breakfast was excellent value and offered a good choice. This is a good choice if you are on business or for couples. The location means you can visit many of the excellent restaurants or bars as well as the theatres / concert halls.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that our team provided such a relaxing time to you while on your trip. We know that traveling can be tiring which is why we work hard to ensure each guest feels at home when staying with us. Thank you for the compliments about our complimentary high speed internet as well as the quality of our breakfast. Please come back to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#10 of 64 in Greenville
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $182 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing