We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Westin at its best!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great old restored hotel in full Westin standards.their location is right where you want to be. And there is a spa next door :-) that you also have to try. We had a great stay and will come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. The spa next door is convenient for our guests along with all the other attractions that surround our hotel. We look forward to you returning to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    262
    83
    41
    16
See reviews for
253
393
56
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We came to Spoonbread Restaurant for brunch on Sunday, our server was Shannon, she was very attentive and after she found out it was our anniversary she brought us sparkling juice ( in champagne glasses ) and chocolate covered strawberries, it was a really nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday brunch. Special congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for celebrating the occasion with us. Shannon is indeed a valued member of our team and I’ll be sure to pass along your praises to her. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

From the moment we were picked up at the airport on Friday until the moment we were dropped back off on Sunday, our every request was met with true Southern warmth and charm! My teenage daughter and I were in town to attend a concert. The hotel was central to everything and very convenient. The room was spacious and relaxing. The staff and subsequent service were outstanding!

Room Tip: Top floor, room 1110 was a beautiful, large corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneymombeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Westin.
Since you mentioned our complimentary airport shuttle, I want to inform you that we now have a six seater golf cart to drive guest to and from the hotel to various venues, as well. So, the next time, you and your daughter are in town for a concert, it will be our sincere pleasure providing a ride to and from the Peace Center. We look forward to doing that soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all, let me get it on the record that my wife and I love downtown Greenville. Great shopping, parks, restaurants and the perfect small city to get out and walk Main Street. Lots of fun things to do for young and old.

Put simply, the Westin Poinsett is in a perfect location to enjoy all that downtown Greenville has to offer. Minutes to Reedy River park, right in the thick of great shopping and eateries on main street and a short stroll to the historic West End.

The hotel itself is over 100 years old and has a vintage feel, while at the same time providing modern upgrades in the rooms and common areas. Rooms are spacious and romantic, and we've always found them to be clean. There are also larger rooms (suite) with a nice seating area and large flat screen televisions. Beds are very comfortable and the hotel is typically very quiet. Service is consistently very good.

We also really enjoy the breakfasts in the hotel. Very nice buffet (omelets made to order, etc.) in a wonderful dining room with high ceilings.

My only minor complaint about the hotel is layout. Up the stairs, around the corner, down the elevator to the parking deck, etc. It just goes with the age of the property, but more than once I've got turned around trying to get somewhere on the property. No big deal.

Overall, a lovely hotel. Will always be our first choice for lodging when visiting Greenville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your very nice and detailed description of our hotel and the city of Greenville. When regular guests, such as yourself, talk about the “very comfortable beds”, how “always clean rooms” are, a “very nice buffet”, how the service is “consistently very good” and the overall look of the hotel, we are especially pleased, as consistency is very important to us.
In regard to the access from the parking garage, we will not be able to do much about our historic structure connecting directly to the parking garage, but I will be working with the City on improving signage. Thank you again for always making us your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

While I wasn't expecting the Westin Maui I did think the hotel was a bit on the tired side. It is a historic older bldg and of course, when it is cold the rooms are cold as the windows are not very tight. Of course, along with an older bldg is small elevators etc....... But what I think was NOT excusable was the condition of the rooms. The makeup mirror hanging off the bathroom wall, the small little vanity in the bathroom, the little tv's, Other than that the service was great and the hotel is in a great location in a cute town. Westin just needs to dig in to their pockets (Iike they should in Houston at the Galleria too) and spend some money so their brand is a "no brainer" like it used to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bufind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. You will be pleased to know that we are continuously upgrading our hotel. For example, we have just replaced over 200 guest room windows with modern double pane windows, installed fiber optic high speed internet in all guest rooms (provided complimentary) and offer 90 TV channels, half of which are in HD. Thank you so much for your compliments about our service and the Westin’s great location. We look forward to seeing you soon, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I are fans of Starwood properties in general, and Westin hotels in particular. This was my second business stay at the beautiful 1906-vintage Westin Poinsett. The overall quality and value of the hotel, rooms, food, service and beautiful location are all excellent, but the staff members are the best part of all. They picked me up at the airport in a BMW SUV at no charge, and later dropped me off at my meeting in town. No matter how much pressure I was under, or how much help I requested, they cheerfully supported my stay in every way they could. Altogether, we have stayed at about 25 Starwood locations in the US, but the Westin Poinsett is one of the most charming of all. The next time I am in Greenville, I will return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,
You definitely wrote a wonderful review about the Westin Poinsett and, in the name of all of us, allow me to sincerely thank you for doing so. You mentioned that “the staff members are the best part of all” which makes us proud and motivates us to further exceed your expectations. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon. Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because of a business meeting. I had sent some meeting materials ahead of time, and was stranded with extra stuff that needed to be sent back upon my departure. The staff was very helpful, and very friendly. They accommodated all of my requests. In addition, as others have pointed out, the hotel is very centrally located, and really pretty. The rooms are still reasonably fresh and new and very nicely arranged. In short, I liked my stay in the hotel and would recommend it.
There is, however, one issue: The doors are really poor quality and some seem to have a 1/2 inch open space between the door and the floor threshold. This results in virtually NO SOUND ISOLATION. It is easy to hear the conversations of guests in their rooms by passing through the hallway, and likewise, when I was in my room, I was keenly aware of everyone passing by my door.
Unfortunately, some people are not very considerate and some guests continue their loud, animated conversations and laughter late at night in the hallways. If that happens close to your door, you can forget about having a good nights sleep.
This is the only reason, I reduced my 5-star rating to a 4-star rating

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lots_of_travel_4_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabianu, General Manager at The Westin Poinsett, Greenville, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest;
It is always a pleasure to hear when guests compliment our team. As I share all the comments with our associates; feedback such as your “staff was very helpful and very friendly” is very motivating and will help keep us focused to do what we were hired for. Regarding our guest room doors, all of them have rubber door sweeps installed that should prevent the issue you mentioned from happening. I will have our Chief Engineer check all doors and adjust where needed. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Poinsett, Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

Property: The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
Address: 120 S Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Greenville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Poinsett, Greenville 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 4-diamond hotel in Greenville, our downtown location puts you in a great spot for exploring the city. Onsite, we have over 10,000 sq ft of event space, perfect for all types of occasions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Poinsett, Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville Hotel Greenville
Westin Poinsett Greenville
Poinsett Hotel Greenville Sc
Westin Greenville
Greenville Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing