We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, but they sneak in a charge for the in-room safe without telling you.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Greenville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Roof Inn Greenville
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice, but they sneak in a charge for the in-room safe without telling you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

This hotel is just fine for the low rates, but I really don't appreciate having extra charges added for the room safe without being told about them. $1.50 per night. Not much, true, but I just find it deceptive and not customer friendly. The desk clerk wasn't all that friendly either. Oh, and to get those charges taken off, you have to ask them to do it at check-out. Well, I'm usually in a hurry at checkout time, and just leave my key card in the room. So now I have to go through that hassle and extra irritation. I would stay here again if I couldn't find a comparable rate, but I'll definitely look for something else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinacaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinEbersole, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Greenville, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Hello, Thank you for your review. It is always helpful when we hear or read the reviews about our hotel. We do offer the safes for up to $10,000 in liability… The charges are posted automactically and if the guest doesn’t use it during their stay, they simply just need to notify us at/after check out and we will gladly remove it from their bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    26
    17
    20
    21
See reviews for
22
21
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The website lies to you. Nothing but pimps and hookers at this hotel. Had a drunk person knock on our door at 2am then the phone rings someone asking for a woman. No toliet paper. Room was dirty. Never again will I use this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frecklez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

While driving through N GA on the way to NC, my wife and I texted our son to find a decent motel for the night. We were coming from TX. He replied suggesting Red Roof Inn in Greenville, SC (via TRIPADVISOR). Travelers who had stayed there highly recommended it. We found this to be totally true: off the beaten path, quiet, friendly, efficient staff, VERY clean room with a nice layout. Price was right and 3 levels above the Motel 6s/Super 8s we had been staying at. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edko23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turbeville SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

The rooms were extremely clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful. We were there for a hospital appointment that was very close.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurbevilleSC_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wacissa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

In May (2009) I gave a bad review of the N. Kansas CIty (MO) Red Roof Inn, and was surprised since most of thier properties are at least clean, and at best a tremendous motel value. This location is a good example of one of the better RRI's.

I checked-in in the late afternoon, so didn't have to worry about a sleepy night clerk. I had a great conversation with the gentleman that checked me in, with great advice on local sights and restaurants. The "bad neighborhood" referenced in another review is an Interstate (I-85) interchange, with warehouses and a row of car dealerships. In fact, all I could see from the room were lush green trees as this hotel is hidden in a woodsey area. Anyway, the location is great, and this is the largest metro area on the highway between Atlanta and Charlotte. I'll be back, especially when I'm travelling with my hound dog Jake!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark-nole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

Overall, the hotel was modern, clean, and aesthetically pleasing. However, do not check in during the late night shift. The front desk clerk was sleep when I arrived to check-in. Apparently, she thought she was at home. She did not look happy to see me. She was in such a rush to get back to sleep, she wanted me to sign the contract before she corrected the price for the room, based on AAA discount.

Unfortunately, we had to have a "pissing contest" before she realized that I was not going to sign a contract with the wrong price on it because it was convenient for her. By the way, I thought that businesses appreciate customers and show that through the use of words like "hello", "thank you" and "good night".

If you think the way you are treated is as important as the cleanliness, price, and appearance of a hotel, then this may not be the hotel for you. Minus this particular employee, the staff at this hotel was friendly and professional. You have a 50/50 chance of getting the best of both worlds: a nice hotel with nice people.

There are plenty of other hotels one exit away just fyi.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank supplycorpsofficer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Va
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

In town for Parents and family weekend at East Carolina University. Literally no other rooms in the city were available (and we booked 6 weeks inadvance). So we booked a room at the Red Roof Inn.
Located in a bad part of town. Room smelled upon opening door and there was a Roach crawling up the wall. Bathroom floor greasy and peices of hair left in tub and on sink from previous guest.
Very nasty place, I could not allow my family to stay and we drove 45 minuters in rain to get to available room. Best 45 minutes I've spent (driving to another hotel).

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything, dirty, nasty place
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Millennium
Comfort Inn Millennium
#45 of 64 in Greenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Greenville
WoodSpring Suites Greenville
#41 of 64 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
5.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
#42 of 64 in Greenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Greenville
Days Inn Greenville
#48 of 64 in Greenville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Greenville
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenville Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Greenville

Property: Red Roof Inn Greenville
Address: 91 Vision Ct, Greenville, SC 29607-5290
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Greenville 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing