We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOLD FOUND HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My boyfriend and I checked into this hotel because we are relocating to the Greenville area. We thought from reading the reviews that it looked like a clean place. I've worked in the hospitality business before and understand that some things cannot be helped. First we checked in really late around 10pm or later. The first room we were checked in to we had to move because the smoke detector had dying batteries and starting beeping. That wasn't that big of a deal. The second room however had a deodorizer in it. We didn't really notice the smell until the next day when we came back to the hotel. We thought it was just a smoke/musty smell. After spending three days in this room we found MOLD in the bathroom underneath the wall paper in the shower. I'm currently 6 months pregnant and wanted a clean non-stinky room due to health reasons. [Like any normal person would I suppose] We went to the front desk the next day and were asked by the staff if we wanted to move rooms. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Of course I did. The staff are unprofessional and I have yet to hear from the GM regarding this issue after being told by customer service that I would be hearing from the General Manager by Aug. 2. I called again today and spoke with yet another customer service representative and now I'm waiting for the manager above the general manager to contact me. Do not stay here unless you are willing to switch rooms and potentially have mold in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyack276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdpgm, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2010

Dear Guest:

Please accept my apologies. We tried to contact you and your husband via a cell phone number left for us at the front desk on multiple occassions. We had no luck in making contact with you. We maintain our rooms in excellent condition.

The room in question had wallpaper coming apart at a seam no more than an inch under the shower head. We have since repaired. We have have to repair such items from time to time as routine maintanance in all our hotels. "Mildew" will start establishing on the backside of wall papers as glue is a good food source . Please trust me that we have no mold issues in our hotel. All our bathrooms are ventilated very well and we use both anti fungal and anti microbial cleaners on a daily basis.

Guest safety and satisfaction are our number one priority. We are 100% satisfaction guarantee hotel. You stayed here for over a week and should have contacted us right away. It is our regert that we did not get a chance to make things right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 104 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

Great value for the location. A travelling sales persons that are responsible foor their accomodations should give Microtel a try. Clean room with free breakfast (included healthy choices of fruit,, juices, oatmeal etc). The hi speed wireless made work easy at the end of the day.

Front desk staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMPBannerElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

On our way to NC from Orlando we crashed out at this hotel. Property looks dated but was clean and very comfortable.

A good breakfast for a hotel like Microtel. Friendly staff. Downtown Greenville is a great place to visit. We drove through town and were surprised to seee great restaurants in the downtown area. Visited the BMW visitors center.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank OrlandoMagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

I have never stayed here simply for the fact that I called in about staying and was spoken to like a dog. I spoke with a foreign man named Paul... He was the rudest person I have spoken with. I asked for a number for another hotel...didn't know they didn't have the number...and was told "we don't have anything to do with them"....and was hung up on. I called back to speak to a manager and was againg speaking with Paul...apparently he is the manager. He said "I don't care what you think, I appriciate your coment" and again promptly hung up! I have reported them to Better Busines. I seriously hope you never stay here simply for the way you would be treated.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
Thank H0telStayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Conneaut, Ohio
321
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed here as a stop over on our way home from Disney. We stopped to visit relatives in Greenville. We have never stayed at a Microtel before and were very surprised.

The rooms were huge, clean and and very comfortable.

We will use Microtels more often.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdpgm, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Dear Guest,
Please accept my personal apologies. This hotel is now under new management. We are working hard remodelling our hotel inspite of the no bank financing environment we are in. Our hotel is converting single rooms to two room suites geared fro the business traveller. We are also adding family rooms - interconnecting rooms with king and two queen beds. As fo October we will be serving a hot breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

On our way to North Carolina, we stopped here. It was not American owned. The sheets were stained, blanket had a burn hole, although this was suppose to be a non-smoking room, and a smoke smell. The bathroom could use more cleaning, the floor was dirty. The receptionist was more interested in TV than helping. Yuck.

2  Thank triprewards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2005

Good choice for a budget traveller. Very close to the Interstate. The title "micro" tell it all low price and tiny, tiny rooms. A business traveler looking for a place to lay their head, or maybe some one just visiting family or friends and just looking for a place to sleep would be happy. But don't plan on spending much time on the room, you'll get claustrophobic -- they are small rooms. Room and bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites Greenville Airport
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Greenville - Airport
5.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Greenville
Red Roof Inn Greenville
#49 of 64 in Greenville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Millenium
Rodeway Inn Millenium
#47 of 64 in Greenville
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Greenville Airport Inn
7.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Greenville Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn and Suites

Address: 20 Interstate Ct, Greenville, SC 29615-5014 (Formerly Microtel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Greenville
Microtel Greenville
Greenville Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing