We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Live Music and Good Food Too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smiley's Acoustic Cafe

Smiley's Acoustic Cafe
Ranked #384 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Live Music and Good Food Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

For a fun night out with good, varied music and surprisingly good food, definitely check out Smiley's. They rotate in various live music acts, especially on the weekends, so you can get a good variety of local and traveling artists from all different genres.

In addition, you can have a great meal with enough food options to meet a variety of tastes and some really creative and delicious cooking. However, it is not a large place and people tend to sit and linger after their meals to enjoy the live music, so get there early or try to show up between acts if you want to get a table.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
276 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Open Mike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Interesting menu and good service make this a nice change of pace. Not a great restaurant but nice as a cafe with some interesting entertainment on Open Mike night.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jackinbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very cool place. Great Food and Good Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We enjoyed our dinner, and the music was fantastic! They have great food with good music. This is a cool place to hang out as well!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30090Laura_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is the place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just returned from supper at Smiley's Acoustic Cafe. It's old brick interior is awesome and adds to the atmosphere. What a great place!! Short walk from the "Downtown" main area. Great service and great food! Live entertainment was awesome! Tonight was Matt Morgan and friends. Played great music and were very personable. Food was very good, beers a plenty and at reasonable prices. Will be going back again in my visit in Greenville. Probably several times. LOVED IT! Definitely 5 stars!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadianeh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent Entertainment, Lousy Service, Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

After hearing some good things about Smiley's, I was very excited to plan a date night with the hubs. We arrived at a reasonable time on a Friday night, and were able to obtain a table for two. There weren't very many open tables, as this is a rather quaint setting and the place was full. Loved the atmosphere and decor. The music was a bit loud, but we were also sitting rather close to the performers. The folk/blues group was decent, nothing to get too excited about. It would have been a lot better if they would have played more and talked less. Exactly the type of place to go if you're looking for a little music and drinks, but stay away if you're planning on having more of a conversation night with your date.

Food
We ordered the Brie, topped with Walnuts & Caramel Rum Sauce and served with fresh apples, grapes, & crackers. For the price, it was not what we were expecting. It was brie, out of the box, with some tasty, but spotty apples and some measly grapes. It was lacking sophistication, and freshness. Next, I had the Cafe Angus Burger - how can you go wrong with a burger? Unfortunately, it was very average as well, lacking flavor. The fries were a bit on the heavy side, and there was nothing special about them.

Service
The service was by far the worst part of our night. The server repeatedly walked past us, even when we were trying to get his attention. It took far to long just to order our food, and the time it took for the food to get to the table was completely outrageous. Our server never checked back on us, and forget about a drink refill. In fact, when he brought our appetizer, he said he would bring some silverware and napkins to us - which he never did. I was so hungry when our food arrived that I no longer cared that we didn't have napkins or silverware, or that the apples and grapes looked a bit old. I was starving! It also took an infinitely long time to get our check, with my husband finally getting up from his chair to go and tell the waiter that we were ready for the check. The worst part is that we could see him going to other tables behind us - not sure why he was ignoring us other than that there were only two of us and his other tables were larger.

It was extremely difficult to enjoy the entertainment of the night because we were so focused on trying to get eye contact with our waiter throughout the evening. And honestly, if you're having a bad night as a server, I would totally understand - but there was not even the least bit of an apology offered.

Truly a disappointment. If we ever go back (and that's a big if), I will not be ordering any food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trippin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiley's Acoustic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Smiley's Acoustic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing