We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, near restaurants and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We needed to stay one night in Greenville, and didn't need to stay right downtown, so we decided to stay at this Holiday Inn Express because we got a really good rate.

The hotel is what you'd expect for a HIE. Very clean, good staff, better-than-average breakfast.

We were very happy to receive an upgraded room, including couch, coffee table, breakfast table, and a very small kitchenette area.

The hotel is directly across the street from a mall, and there are a number of chain restaurants in the area.

The only bad thing about the stay is that we were there at the same time that a number of kids' soccer teams were there, so that was a little crazy, especially at breakfast. But, you can't really fault the hotel for that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boscaverde86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. One of our goals is to deliver a consistently excellent experience so you can come to depend on the service and experience you will receive at every Holiday Inn Express. We do like to think our hotel is a little special as we do have some very genuinely caring people on our team. Please know that anytime you stay with us and experience any type of noise from other guests, we are very proactive to make sure that every guest has a pleasant stay with us no matter the reason they're here. We will always address any issue that you may have! We hope to see you again the next time you return to Greenville, SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I checked in here a few months ago. Even though check in was at 3pm, they let us check in early and upgraded us for free because the original room we booked was not ready. We were driving all night, so we REALLY appreciated this. The desk clerk also offered late check out, so we could sleep in. I wanted to give him a hug- he was so nice!

Room was very clean. Had a few hiccups with the TV signal, but other than that we were very pleased.

The breakfast was yummy! Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, breads, etc. Breakfast staff was also very friendly. Those ladies were so sweet and in such a good mood!

There's a bunch of shopping and food options close by, but traffic isn't the best. This area must be building up a lot, and the town just isn't equipped to deal with the traffic volume yet. Our experience was wonderful. Friendliest staff I have ever encountered at a HIE. I hope to return someday!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

We are honored by your high praise. We do hope that every guest experiences the best stay they've ever had with us. At our hotel "it's all about the guest" and our team recites this mission during our morning meetings. We hope that you will continue to return to us each and every time you're in the Greenville, SC and let us know if there is ever a time when your stay does not meet the standard and expectation that was set on this visit! We always want to know! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I landed at the Greenville Holiday Inn Express as a result of a Priceline bid for a 2.5 star hotel. I'll just say that the price I paid was less than 50% off the posted rate online. It was a steal! I have stayed at H.I.E. properties before so pretty much knew what to expect. This one was no exception.

Room/Facility: Room was modern, spotless, and updated. Great bed/bedding. Adequate size. Great, high quality furnishings and lighting. The public spaces are bright and attractive. I had a room toward the side of the property, and it was very quiet. Yet the lobby area is just a short walk.

Service: Outstanding service - no issues. Front desk staff was professional and very friendly. Quick check-in process.

Location: Great location. Set back off of the main road, yet close to dozens of restaurants and shopping. Target is 1/8 mi away. You could almost walk but I reckon you'd get run over by one of SC's crazy drivers. If you want a quiet place to stay, this is it.

Misc: The hot breakfast was superb, as usual at H.I.E. hotels.

Overall, this and all the Holiday Inn Express properties I've stayed at are a great value for what you get. This one was clean, modern, comfortable, quiet, and close to everything. That I got the room for a steal on priceline adds even more value to the stay. I have no complaints, and highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want near total quiet, request a room on the first floor, facing the rear, toward the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we're even happier to see that you're a loyal Holiday Inn Express guest! Loyalty is what we aim for in every guest experience. We always want to make sure that Holiday Inn hotels are your hotel of choice everywhere you travel. We work very hard to make sure that each of our guests' stays are memorable and consistently excellent. We look forward to seeing you each time you return to the Greenville, SC area! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The service was great and I can tell they appreciated our business. Gail is a jewel!!! The breakfast was great and the rooms were very clean (unfortunately you can't say that for all hotels) We look forward to returning to Holiday Inn Express in Greenwood, SC.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonyp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We work very hard to make sure that all of our guests know how much we appreciate their business. We hope to continue not to just "get" your business, but to earn it. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express one night and had a very good expierence. One of the cleaning personal helped my wife get the luggage cart up to our room so we could off load our luggage after we checked in, without my wife asking for help. I asked for a recommendation , at the front desk, for dinner and was given the name of a very good yet not overly expensive place to have dinner (CPW's). Overall our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Greenville was very positive because of people that work there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We love it when we hear that one of our team members has made such an impression on our guests. We encourage all of our team members to look for opportunities to "wow" our guests and provide to them a service experience that is unparalleled. We hope we've made a fan out of you and you'll return to us every time you're in Greenville, SC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

First off, we love staying at Holiday Inn Express hotels and suites. Good value for what you get! We loved the Greenville Holiday Inn Express, great location, safe and a lot of surrounding food/shopping establishments. We had a suite which had plenty of room and the 42 inch LG Flat screen looked brand new and had plenty of channels. Breakfast was the typical HI Express food, plentiful and a good variety as you can’t complain as it is free and included in the hotel room cost. We arrived on a Saturday around 2pm and beware Woodruff Road is a “VERY” busy road for Greenville residents to go visit the surrounding food/shopping establishments, especially on the weekends. Anyhow, we will be back and we had no complaints!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We did, indeed, just upgrade all of our suites by installing brand new 42" Flat Panel LCD Televisions. We are glad you were able to enjoy that. Our breakfast, too, is an outstanding value and we work very hard to make sure our food is fresh and plentiful. We hope that we will always be your hotel choice in the Greenville, SC area! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here on a job interview trip to Greenville, SC. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and at home. They have a great morning breakfast buffet and also a evening mgr welcome. This is a great place to stay and so clean!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are so honored to have such kind words of praise. We hope all of our guests experience this impression when they leave our hotel. It truly is at the heart of what we do to create a hotel guests love! We hope you'll return to stay with us again and again each and every time you're in Greenville, SC....and we hope you got the job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville / I-385 Haywood Mall
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville I-385 - Woodruff Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
Hilton Garden Inn Greenville
#6 of 64 in Greenville
734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Crowne Plaza Greenville
#25 of 64 in Greenville
292 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road

Address: 1036 Woodruff Rd, I-85 Exit 51-A, Greenville, SC 29607-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Greenville
#16 Business Hotel in Greenville
#16 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $106 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart, is a whole lot smarter at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Woodruff Road, Greenville, South Carolina. With 155 guest rooms and the option of booking one of our two room suites, we're so much more than what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express. With 42" Flat panel LCD televisions in all suites, indoor pool and over 3000 square feet of versatile function space we have exactly what you need to relax, conduct business or simply recharge while you're on the road. We now offer complimentary shuttle service to and from GSP International as well as local area businesses, restaurants and shopping venues. Come experience our award winning hospitality completely with free long distance calling, free fiber optic wireless Internet access and our full hot Express Start breakfast bar. Located just 6 miles from GSP International, BMW and within 2 miles of GE, Michelin, Fluor, ICAR, Hubble Lighting and the Hollingsworth Development site, we're the convenient choice when you re traveling to Greenville for business. For pleasure, you couldn t make a smarter choice! Located in the heart of Woodruff Road s new, booming shopping and dining district, we're just minutes from downtown Greenville, the Bon Secours Wellness Arena (formerly the Bi-lo Center), the Peace Center for the Performing Arts, Falls Park on the Reedy. Come see why the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, is a whole lot smarter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville i-85 And Woodruff Road Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing