We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayer beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

While the rom was nicely renovated the Hotel was in active state of construction. There essentially was no lobby-the "uoscale"!! breakfast was not present and the absence of usual amenities such as drink machines was not evident on a consistent basis. The first floor requestedd was actually in the basement and the lobby on the second floor. While the staff ws very accomodating in making adjustments to rate(which in my estimation was way over the top considering the condition and ongoing construction).
In booking the room online there was no mention of the condition or construction which gives this property a failing mark and the chain one also

Room Tip: Unless you want to be in the basement with a questionable outside unprotected entrance-aside form th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLIAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you were not aware of our renovations at the time of booking. Our booking message did recently expire. As of today, the construction phase of our public space renovations is complete and the lobby is waiting for the arrival of all the near furniture and décor. We will begin renovating our meeting room and fitness center this weekend. We are also converting our pool to a salt water pool. I regret that you experience was negatively impacted by the ongoing renovations. Please let us know how we can make amends. Our GM can be reached at 864-678-8000.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently met some friends in Greenville to attend a George Strait concert and to look around the area for a possible retirement location. We stayed at this Hotel as I am a Platinum Priority Club Member.
Our check in was super friendly and efficient. Our room was nicely appointed, it had a coffee pot, small refrigerator and micro wave. The TV was a 40 inch flat screen with a nice selection of channels.
All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpfull. The morning Breakfast was fresh and tasty, including a selection of cereals, Hot Biscuits and gravy, Scrambled eggs, etc. The serving stations were squeaky clean and well organized. Really a nice start to the day.
The Hotel location is right downtown and an easy walk to anything. Also, only two blocks from the BILO Center makes it a perfect place to stay if attending a concert or other event.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjpglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of our hotel and our location on North Main. We enjoyed all of our George Strait fans. When you return to Greenville for your next concert you will get to see our new look. Our renovations will be complete soon and we can wait for our big reveal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

They are presently under going renovations. It was pretty torn up. Our room was clean and spacious but half renovated. No indoor pool. The front desk was very helpful. The area appeared safe. I was disappointed we didn't spot any discount on line or when I called. Loved Greenville, Im sure we'll visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our renovations. I am delighted to know you enjoyed the location and were able to enjoy your stay in spite of our construction. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the new and improved Holiday Inn Express and Suites Downtown very soon. There is always a reason to come to Greenville and enjoy our beautiful downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and had a good experience. This time it was AWLFUL! There is remodeling going on that was not noted on their website. Had I known this, I would have selected a different hotel. The lobby from the front entrance to the elevators is COVERED in dust and construction debris. As we were entering a worker was sweeping and clouds of dust puffed all over us. We were on the 4th floor but the carpet is filthy with construction dust. To top all of this off the jack hammers started up at 8:00 am. Yes fine for some, but our schedule was a later one so this was most annoying. Again no mention of construction on the website. This was one of the worst experiences I've had with HIE. While the desk clerk mumbled something about the mess, I truly felt some form of compensation should have been offered. Or, we should have been offered to stay at another HIE in the area. To make matters even worse the drain in the tub/shower area didn't drain so you "stood" in dirty water. I would give 0 stars had the option been available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing , Owner Represntative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Renovations are always disruptive and while we do everything possible to minimize the impact, there are always periods of time where inconveniences are unavoidable. I do regret that things were so chaotic during your stay. We have come along way in the past few weeks and we are really looking forward to unveiling our new look very soon. We would like to be able to welcome you back to see the calm, after the storm. Please let us know if you plan to return to Greenville in the near future. You can talk with our General Manage about the arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here just over the weekend for a dance convention that was being held at the Hyatt Regency. The hotel there was full and also more expensive, plus had to pay for parking. I thought the pricing at HIE was reasonable. No pay for parking, free breakfast (although nothing extravagant) but still free breakfast. We had two queen deluxe room with microwave & fridge. Plenty of room for 4 people in the room. I felt the pillows and beds were very comfortable. The walk to the Hyatt was about 2 minutes and from there keep going down Main Street for plenty of shops and restaurants. We even walked down to Falls Park at the Reedy a couple of times (about 7 blocks away). Not a bad walk at all especially since the weather was decent. I had no issues at all and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCFAM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed our location. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding experience to each guest, every stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our public space so we will look like a different hotel when you return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

During a business trip we stayed here and the location down town is great, The property was very clean and nicely kept and the staff was great. The location to all of the downtown activites is a plus, within walking distance of the shoping and dining

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed our location. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding experience to each guest, every stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our public space so we will look like a different hotel when you return.. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

LOCATION, LOCATION!!! We had a suite and worth every penny. For a few more dollars you get a fridge, microwave and sitting area. Room was nice and clean. Hotel is at end/top of the street from all the bars and restaurants and BEST of ALL is only a few block form the BI-LO CENTER. SO you can park and walk to everything. (except maybe Falls park it is at the other end of the street and worth the trip)
Bad news they WILL NOT LET YOU CHECK IN EARLY. But there is an OK free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobidowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquiRRose, Corporatre Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and enjoyed our location. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding experience to each guest, every stay. We are currently in the process of renovating our public space so we will look like a different hotel when you return.. I am very sorry that we were not able to accommodate an early check in for you. When we have rooms available and ready we are always happy to accommodate early check ins. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the meantime, we wish you safe travels and much success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
#13 of 63 in Greenville
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Greenville
Crowne Plaza Greenville
#27 of 63 in Greenville
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#16 of 63 in Greenville
1,205 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenville I-85 and Woodruff Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown

Address: 407 N Main St, Greenville, SC 29601-2000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $132 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Downtown Greenville is nestled along the thriving downtown business district. This AAA approved, five story interior corridor hotel is convenient to surrounding office parks, Palmetto Expo Center, ICAR, major highways and within walking distance to the Bi-Lo Center, Peace Center & Falls Park , historical museums, public parks, fantastic shopping and over 70 of the city's most popular restaurants & pubs. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites comes packed with an abundance of extra amenities including an on-site Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry Facilities and Meeting Facilities. The Upstate s diverse economic base includes numerous Fortune 500 and major international corporations such as BMW, Bowater, IBM, Fluor, GE, Lockheed Martin, Michelin, 3M, Caterpillar, Fuji, Hitachi, Rockwell Automation and Bosch. Local colleges & universities include Bob Jones, Clemson, Converse, Furman, Greenville Tech, North Greenville, Southern Wesleyan, USCS and Wofford. Centrally located between Charlotte and Atlanta and just minutes from the Greenville Spartanburg Airport (GSP), we offer the perfect solution for travelers of all ages. Hotel amenities include FREE high speed & wireless internet access in all guestrooms, meeting room and public areas as well as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and parking. Be sure to check out Greenville's newest 'Shops of Greenridge' and 'The Pointe'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
Greenville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing