We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful! This place is a joke.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trappe door

The Trappe door
Ranked #4 of 899 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful! This place is a joke.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We went back twice and never even got seated. The hostess with the bull nose ring promised us it would be 40 min wait, then we went back 40 minutes later and she told us it would be a 20 minute wait. Reluctantly, we waited...and she never called. For what it's worth it smelled like nasty old fish when we walked in. Will never give this place my money...not on a date or on my anniversary. Go anywhere else but here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    153
    33
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place to eat”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ended up here for dinner based on Tripadvisor ratings. We were not disappointed. Cozy cellar environment. Nice selection of beers on tap. Menu tends to the heavy side but we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We did not have a reservation (Friday evening) and they were booked. The bar serves the full menu which saved us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uihwki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little Slice of Europe in Greenville, SC”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

South Carolina restaurants can be a bit challenging for those not from this state. Every now and then we find a real gem of a restaurant in this state. The Trappe Door is Europe all the way. Absolutely fantastic all around!!! Closed on Mondays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Saved the night.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

After being less than inspired by the milquetoast offerings and aggressive hawking on Maine St, we were about to drive away when we passed the Trappe Door on the way back to our car. Authentic and cozy, we were gently introduced to a beer style we had not tried before by our excellent waitress and treated to the delights of the marriage of meat and fruit that is Belgian food. We left very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedal-Paddle-Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We read the reviews online and were not disappointed! Wonderful food and service in a unique, European cellar atmosphere. Varied menu. Took waiter's advice and ordered the frites--seriously! Entrees were well-prepared and were paired with delicious sides. No room for dessert so will try one on our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravenel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappe door also viewed

 

Been to The Trappe door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing