We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer!”
Review of The Trappe door

The Trappe door
Ranked #5 of 917 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is for the serious beer connoisseur. I have been there twice and tried several beers on tap and they are excellent. Don't look for Budweiser or Miller Lite - they don't have it. I've also tried some different appetizers and those are good too. However, the beer is expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    168
    38
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pickens, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always Terrific”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I went to the Trappe Door for lunch. Among the three of us, we ordered the beet salad, the duck spring rolls, and the crepe of the day. Each of us was very pleased with the price, freshness and taste of our lunches. One of us ordered a draft beer and found it to be quite good. I've been to the Trappe Door several times, both at lunch and dinnertime, and I've never been when I didn't have good service and fine food. Greenville is lucky to have it there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is no trap!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My expectations were not met! I was expecting a trap door to exist somewhere in there, however after hours and hours of scouring the place, I was not able to find it. I was hoping to get rid of my date (wife) through this method, but had to listen to her talk instead. Big disappointment there! I had to cancel my other plans! However, food and beverages were amazing! Excellent beer selection, especially the exquisite high gravity beers which made my wife look not ugly again. Knowing there is no actual trap door, I would still return. Very knowledgeable bartender, except for not being able to confirm the existence of the trap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Even if you don't think you like duck - you will”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had another amazing meal at The Trappe Door - OMG!! The mushroom vol au vant melts in your mouth! The warm brussel sprout salad was tasty! The sauteed duck breast in the cherry beer sauce was out of this world! I can't say enough about the fries also. They are to die for!! Sean....our server ....was a delight! You must visit here people!! What more can I say??

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbamomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I heard about it from daughter who attends college nearby. A little skeptical at first but that changed quickly. It is below street level but very interesting. The decor keeps your eyes wandering. Incredible Belgian beer selection. Our very knowledgeable waiter guided my wife and I to some good brews. They seem to specialize in mussels and fries and they do them both very well. I had given up fries 8 months ago but after my wife and daughter raved about them I caved. The dipping sauce selection is amazing. No Heinze ketchup here! I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappe door also viewed

 

Been to The Trappe door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing