We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch! Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Notch! Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was very impressed with the service and decor of this hotel. From the moment you check in you feel warm and welcome; very friendly staff. The rooms were very clean and beautiful, and the location was fabulous. Large updated bathroom... comfortable beds & pillows. Walking around downtown was was so easy and convenient. Loved that Starbucks was in the lobby. I'd highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelAndRelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear LoveToTravelAndRelax,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others through Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and time in Greenville. We hope to see you again in the future!

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    147
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
157
156
12
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Room was as promised but maid service was slow. they staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. No pool but workout facilities are decent. Walking distance to everything downtown. Never moved the car the whole time. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrcarter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in a suite while other family members stayed in rooms nearby. The suite was spacious and great for entertaining. The bed linens where very nice - which is important to me. The staff was extrememly friendly and very, very accommodating. They provided extra wine glasses, bottle opener, extra towels,sampoo.
The only negatives is there is no hot tub or place to get lunch.
I would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PtboCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear PtboCan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and accommodating! Our guests are our highest priority, and I am pleased to hear our associates took great care of you during your stay. I am happy you had the opportunity to experience one of our suites. The extra space and sitting area make it easy to relax, but the views of Main Street and our Courtyard are what, I think, make our suites so memorable! I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Greenville. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever be of assistance in the future.

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We love the downtown Courtyard. It is so convenient to be able to walk anywhere you need to go downtown. It is new, clean, well appointed and has very efficient staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lnaveggiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Lnaveggiegal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. It really makes a difference when you are traveling to be able to get to your destination and leave your car parked during your trip. With so many shops, restaurants, and attractions within walking distance of our hotel, it is possible to explore Greenville by just taking a few steps in either direction. I hope we will be able to serve you again in the future!

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I'm a platinum member as was scheduled to stay here on 9/12. Unfortunately, my itinerary changed. I contacted the manager in hopes of a reprieve on their 24 hour cancellation policy. I was told they would not help me at all and I would be charged for full night's stay. I've stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions and had plans to return at least 7 more times this year. It's very disappointing that customer loyalty means so little to the management of this particular hotel. Business travelers beware of this establishment.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCourtyard, Manager at Courtyard Greenville Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others through Tripadvisor. We appreciate honest feedback from our guests as it helps us grow as an organization. Complete satisfaction is our goal, and I am sorry that in this instance we were unable to be lenient with our policies. It was my understanding that after speaking with our General Manager you were able to come to an amicable solution that was to the benefit of both parties. We sincerely hope you will choose the Courtyard Greenville Downtown during your next trip to Greenville so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with a more pleasant experience. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or further concerns.

Joyelle Lew
Guest Service Manager
864-451-5703
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

It is called a courtyard, but it is really nicer than many Marriott. Very friendly staff, easy parking, clean comfortable room (with a refrigerator), and a with nice seafood place directly attached to the hotel (not run by marriott). Wireless internet is included in the room price. The location is excellent. Use to stay at the Westin, but frankly, the Westin is an old property with spotty management. I had issues with two of my last two stays there. Highly recommend this courtyard!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabbqking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel in August. Our purpose was to explore the downtown area of Greenville. We were able to check in early and were quite surprised and delighted with the hotel; as a matter of fact, we often felt we were in more of a luxury hotel than in a Courtyard. The lobby area is especially nice, with a nice bar area, a wonderful restaurant (Nantucket--which was doing a booming business!), and a relatively large computer area. In fact, when we didn't receive a morning newspaper and didn't receive our bill under the door, we had to remind ourselves that we were "only" in a Courtyard! We were in a king room on the 5th floor, and the view of Greenville at night was especially lovely. The hotel is, as others have pointed out, in the middle of the downtown area. To the left of the hotel is the pretty tree-lined area for shopping, cafes, bars, restaurants. To the right is the river area--really beautiful--with more restaurants, etc. Add to it all is the fact that the hotel is fairly new, so there are no worn areas in rooms, hallways, lobby, etc. The breakfast is Starbucks in the lobby--with breakfast sandwiches, some breakfast plates, and pastries. We stayed there on points; however, we felt that the $152 asking rate was a bit steep. It was the same, too, for a weekend night. Otherwise, we were impressed with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown Riverplace
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#14 of 64 in Greenville
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
0.2 mi away
Aloft Greenville Downtown
Aloft Greenville Downtown
#16 of 64 in Greenville
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Greenville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Greenville Downtown

Property: Courtyard Greenville Downtown
Address: 50 W Broad St, Greenville, SC 29601-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#3 Family Hotel in Greenville
#3 Green Hotel in Greenville
#4 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Greenville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The experience you'll discover within our walls reflects the one you'll relish just outside of them. Contemporary décor along with modern architecture will blend seamlessly with Marriott Courtyard's signature hospitality and dedication to excellence. An experience that is both specifically Courtyard and uniquely downtown Greenville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Greenville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Greenville Downtown Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing