We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Children's Museum”

The Children's Museum of the Upstate
Ranked #11 of 93 things to do in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 80,000 Square feet of fun! The Children's Museum of the Upstate is 7th largest children's museum in the country and only children's museum that is a Smithsonian Affiliate. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Greenville on the cultural campus of Heritage Green, it's close to all the action and offers ample parking. The museum features 20 exhibit galleries that include a traveling exhibit hall, two outdoor interactive exhibit spaces and an outdoor programming space. Visitors experience more than 100 individual exhibit components with a continuum of programming in the areas of arts, humanities, sciences, health, nutrition and the environment. Kids and adults can simulate flight into space, design their own Formula 1 race car or go exploring in the Climber that reaches up to the skylight. Whatever your age, The Children's Museum is a place of possibility where children and adults alike can explore, discover, imagine, pretend and Be Anything! The Children's museum is committed to serving the needs and interests of all children by providing experiences that spark a lifelong passion for curiosity and learning through play. Open Tuesday - Saturday 9am - 5pm, Sunday 11am - 5pm. Open Mondays from Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Knoxville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Children's Museum”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is our 3rd children's museum this year. This was an impressive museum. There are 3 stories packed full of activities. Our grandchildren are 4 and 1, and they both had a great time. The 4 year old loved the climbing structure. She also loved singing and making her own cd, which we purchased for $5. I found several benches throughout the museum. One suggestion would be is that you might want to call ahead and see how many daycares are planning on being there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DBry2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libgator, Director of Sales at The Children's Museum of the Upstate, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share these fun details of your experience. Especially since it sounds like you are becoming a Children's Museum connoisseur! How lucky for your grandchildren to be able to experience learning through play at multiple museums. We hope you were able to experience the early childhood education program at 1pm. When summer camps end on Aug 8, we will have this program twice daily at 11am & 1pm. Please check the calendar on our website for current program details and times. Will we see you at Grown Ups Only Night on Aug 22nd?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    77
    18
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun place for kids!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the better children's museums we have been to. It has 3 floors of activities with a giant climbing play center in the middle. I would recommend this for ages 10 and under. The activities and exhibits are geared towards younger children.

Helpful?
Thank Kidsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libgator, Director of Sales at The Children's Museum of the Upstate, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful compliment and taking the time to review us. Will we see you at Grown Ups Only Night on Aug 22nd? It's a fun night where adults get to have fun on all the exhibits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My son absolutely loves this place. So much to see, do and learn.3 stories of fun, with no time limit! Once inside its free roam for as long as you'd like.great way to spend a day with the family.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tons of fun!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I brought a 4 and 7 year old here to entertain them for a couple of hours. Both boys had a wonderful time exploring the exhibits! The favorite of both was the "Construction Zone."
My only suggestion is that I wish there was some seating near the exhibits for parents to sit while observing their children. My only complaint was that I wish we had made more time in our day to enjoy this museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noteworthymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for the little ones”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although it's not very big, my kids had a ball. They really enjoyed the "shopping center " the entire setup.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Children's Museum of the Upstate also viewed

 

Been to The Children's Museum of the Upstate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing