We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Casual Turkey/Iran/Greece with some Spain thrown in”
Review of The Lazy Goat

The Lazy Goat
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lazy Goat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 907 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Camperdown St
Description: The Lazy Goat is a Mediterranean-themed restaurant with a menu featuring global influences from Spain, Morocco, Italy, France, Greece, Africa and the Middle East and a relaxed atmosphere where taking the time to "linger and share" is encouraged. The diverse menu was created to accommodate a variety of diner preferences with meat & cheese plates, small plates to “graze and nibble,” and main dishes. Guests are invited to take their time while "trying a little bit of that and a little bit of that" or a "whole lot of whatever they like".
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Casual Turkey/Iran/Greece with some Spain thrown in”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Want something different and fun? Just order lots of small plates to share with your table. The service staff is very well trained to describe the dishes and help you order. The kitchen is very speedy and efficient....wine list is also unusual and frequently is discounted as they clear out the hold for new.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dentav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    234
    101
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have enjoyed several lunches there”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have taken several visitors to the Lazy Goat for lunch and have enjoyed our lunches. We always sit by a window to enjoy the Peace Center and river views. Our visitors have all told us how much they liked the views and food. We have only had lunches there, so I can't comment on their evening meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Enjoyed everything we were served, service was excellent as was the view of the ole river running by. Yep even the Goats cheese was better than expected along with the main course!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clydef97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was not impressed with menu and quality of food. Service was very prompt and waiter was pleasant and helpful, but just did not suit my taste or most in our party.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank swiftyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We went here on a Saturday night, the day after Valentines Day. It was busy and noisy. Our server seemed rushed and it wasn't always easy to hear him due to the background noise. The portions were small, and the menu was not extensive. It was our most expensive meal in Greenville, and my husband left hungry. Not quite the romantic meal we were hoping for. HOWEVER, we hope to return to Greenville in the summer, and we may give them a second chance, as they have a lovely outdoor seating area that overlooks the water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliesowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Goat also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing