We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, unique experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lazy Goat

The Lazy Goat
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lazy Goat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Camperdown St
Description: The Lazy Goat is a Mediterranean-themed restaurant with a menu featuring global influences from Spain, Morocco, Italy, France, Greece, Africa and the Middle East and a relaxed atmosphere where taking the time to "linger and share" is encouraged. The diverse menu was created to accommodate a variety of diner preferences with meat & cheese plates, small plates to “graze and nibble,” and main dishes. Guests are invited to take their time while "trying a little bit of that and a little bit of that" or a "whole lot of whatever they like".
Travelers Rest, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is one of our favorite places in the Greenville area. The food is unique and the cost is reasonable. In particular I like the crispy brussel sprouts. One of the great things about The Lazy Goat is the option to go with a number of small plates ("Graze and Nibble") to share.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTimes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    219
    95
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Nothing lazy about this goat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

While leaving Charleston for our first trip to Greenville we asked for recommendations for local restaurants...what a pleasant surprise The Lazy Goat was. Food was excellent - the crispy grilled Brussels Sprouts were delicious - who knew they could taste so good! The Grilled Calamari were also excellent as was the Lazy Paella. For desert hubby and I shared coconut bread pudding with vanilla raisin ice cream - yum yum! Our waiter Andrea was very pleasant and knowledgeable - we took his recommendations and they were all winners! A lovely dinner.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ROSYME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food. Prices on the expensive side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was invited by a friend who was visiting the area from out of state. His hotel was within walking distance of the Lazy goat. We found the downstairs indoor seating to be cramped and decided to sit outside overlooking the Reedy river.

The choice of vegetarian food was limited. Either a pizza, one vegetarian entree or a non vegetarian entree (pappardelle) with the Pancetta removed. I did not choose that since it would have left me only with vegetables. I chose the Risotto Primavera which was good but the quantity was a bit on the smaller portion side. The red wine was good.

I might come back here again but there are equally good options for the same prices serving larger portions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenvillehybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Jonathan was very attentive and helpful with menus items. Try the mussels they were sooooo amaze! Florida girl pleased thank you

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Misskittenkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
810 reviews
562 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Tapas by the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great setting, great service, great food. The staff at lazy goat has a nack for bringing a fresh cold beer right when you are ready for it! A wonderful place to meet friends, relax, and enjoy downtown Greenville

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ge0rgiaPil0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Goat also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing