We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lazy Goat

The Lazy Goat
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lazy Goat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 900 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Camperdown St
Description: The Lazy Goat is a Mediterranean-themed restaurant with a menu featuring global influences from Spain, Morocco, Italy, France, Greece, Africa and the Middle East and a relaxed atmosphere where taking the time to "linger and share" is encouraged. The diverse menu was created to accommodate a variety of diner preferences with meat & cheese plates, small plates to “graze and nibble,” and main dishes. Guests are invited to take their time while "trying a little bit of that and a little bit of that" or a "whole lot of whatever they like".
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have been to the Lazy Goat on several occasions and it is always delightful. The ambiance is wonderful with a great view of the river and walking bridge. The service has always been great. I would definitely recommend the fried goat cheese with honey drizzle - they are amazing. We get these every time we go. The charred baby cauliflower is scrumptious, as is the pizza with grilled vegetables and goat cheese. This is a tapas place, so be prepared to share!

On Fridays and Saturdays, it can be busy, so make a reservation.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trippin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    219
    95
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bring Milk to soothe the palate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been to the Lazy Goat on a number of occasions but have decided that we are not in any rush to go back. The food has gotten spicier and spicier to the point that the last time it was overwhelming. My wife had the Roasted Branzino which is a delicate white fish that was completely overwhelmed by the heat of the spices. I tried a bite of the fish and it brought tears to my eyes. I had the Steak Frites which were also very spicy. Spice is one thing, an excessive use of spices ruins a good meal. Its if the chef or sous chefs are cooking for themselves and not the customers. They should at least put the term "spicy" in the description of the entrees.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tourdirector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
240 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“I Love the Lazy Goat! Great Food, Great View and Wonderful Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have gone for Lunch and Dinner and lunch is a wonderful value. The food is great, the view just delightful and the service just can't be beat.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tangaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Can't say enough about the ambiance and the food. This place rocks. The presentation of the food was a beauty to behold and then the taste started a party in your mouth. Light, refreshing and magnifecent are words that come to mind to describe their fare. I would not hesitate to reccomend this place to anyone. It over looks the river and feels like you are sitting in a friends dining room. Allison L rocked too.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

GREAT food, service, prices & views. We went early ~6:30. Later it did get a little noisy. Try the crimson pear martini. Tip: if you are traveling it can be hard to find, so look for the Hampton Inn & parking garage. Reservations are a good idea for the very best table views. Enjoy.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imadancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Goat also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Goat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing