We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful service”

Pomegranate on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Pomegranate on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 908 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Augusta
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had never eaten Persian food before and was very pleased with my meal at Pomegranate. We had a cucmber relish with pita for an appetizer, I had the salmon for lunch. Everything was scrumptous and the waiterss was a delight. I can't wait to return for dinner

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beaverbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    91
    26
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
377 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The food was a little disappointing, the service not so great, overall our expectations were higher than were met. It's an average place to eat....seemed a little on the higher price side for the value of the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GVL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,228 reviews
802 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Got to the restaurant to early”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I had a show to see at the Centre Stage Theatre so we made reservations early at Pomegranate. We had never eaten and were looking forward to it.
After the waitress explained a few things she asked for drink orders and our starter which she suggested. We were early or they were late getting started the appetizer wasn't going to be ready for 20 more minutes and the drink my wife wanted they were waiting for the owner to arrive w/some fruit juices so she had a beer and I stuck with water (figured they had that at least). We ordered different things so we could try each thers and they were good and different prepared a middle eastern way. We were towards the end of our meal when the waitress asked my wife if she wanted the drink they couldn't make earlier and well my wife declined. It was a little late to start over.
When I went to wash up I saw the owner standing near the bar doing nothing special and was disappointed he couldn't come over to see how things were and to at least say sorry we weren't ready when you came in tonight. After all it was our first time eating at the Pomegranate.
We had gone to the Pomegranate because we had a Groupon certificate to try it out and even though the food was OK I don't think we'll go back. If the owner doesn't care about his customers then why give him our money? The food was good, but certainly not great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
397 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious flavors”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a satisfying experience. We visited Wed night. 1/2 price bottles of wine. Where else could you find Chateneuf du Pape for $38 a bottle? This restaurant is Persian and features kabobs etc.
But don't be fooled, the flavors are out of this world. The lamb lollipops were succulent and tender. Served with bbq shrimp, roasted tomato and delicately flavored basmati rice. I'm not normally a rice fan, but they combine cranberries, lima beans, walnuts and all kinds of flavorful delights into their rice varieties. I'm a convert.
The Pomegranate ice cream presented with a sour Pomegranate drizzle and mint sprig was superb. We ate at the bar and Jessica provided expert help with our selections.
A live singer in the style of Nora Jones sang outside on the patio, and her music was discretely piped into the restaurant. The Main st area of Greenville SC is a very pleasantly developed area to visit. The Pomegranate topped off our visit to perfecton

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate SC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Delicious Persian food in a lovely setting. Great waitstaff. What more can I ask for? My husband and I loved it. It's pricey, but well worth it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank happycmpr731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomegranate on Main also viewed

 

Been to Pomegranate on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing