We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great front desk staff, housekeeping needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great front desk staff, housekeeping needs improvement”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for over two months and thought it was great except for housekeeping. Its about a 7-10 minute drive from the airport and tucked back in this residential area off the main road so it felt more like home than a typical hotel. Its close to the major mall and around 15 minutes to downtown. You can walk to two different grocery stores and a couple of restaurants like Ruby Tuesday's. The rooms haven't been updated so they are the older Residence Inn style but the hotel is very quiet and comfortable. One side backs up to woods so I highly recommend one of those if you are looking for peace and quiet.

The front desk staff was great but I was disappointed in housekeeping. If I didn't leave my trash can in the middle of the room it wouldn't get emptied - I not sure why they don't check under the sink where the trash can is located? Many times they would empty my dishwasher with dirty dishes. I would grab a bowl or a glass and it was dirty - again, I don't get why they wouldn't just leave it in the dishwasher dirty or run it?

All of that being said I really do like this hotel and its where I have stayed when travelling back to Greenville. With the exception of spending a lot of money to stay in downtown Greenville I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and privacy ask to face the back. If you like a lot of light their corner studios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne R, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello! I greatly appreciate you taking time to give us such great feedback. We have been working very hard over the last few months to make some great improvements here at Residence Inn, and one of our focus areas has been the consistency of our housekeeping staff. I truly believe we have done a great job to better this area. I also appreciate your kind comments about our front desk staff. I hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Greenville, SC, to see our hard work. Thanks again for your feedback. We genuinely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
36
16
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I chose to stay at this Residence Inn because I was travelling with family for a wedding this past weekend. Much to our dismay, this NONSMOKING hotel cannot do anything about smoking guests. A chain-smoker was enjoying blowing smoke nonstop that flooded our room with smoke.

We called the front desk. We called again. And again. We got excuses of why they could do absolutely nothing. The smoking continued and of course continued the next miserable morning as the smoker rose before daylight & lit up another one!!!

With a raw sore throat, sinuses irritated, coughing, sneezing, along with my children and sleep- deprived- I could hardly wait to get home to my Heavenly Bed especially since the mattresses here were not any good anyway....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKGAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne R, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I am very sorry about the smoking issue during your stay with us. Having a small child with asthma, I truly understand what an inconvenience another guest can cause when they choose to smoke. There is a protocol we are required to follow when we suspect a guest is smoking, and I am very sorry that a proper resolution was not reached for you and your family. It is our goal to give you a comfortable, clean room with service that exceeds your expectations. I fully intend to follow up with my staff so that in the future, these matters can be handled more appropriately. I appreciate your feedback and genuinely appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Every staff person you encounter will smile at you and say hello. 'Glad you are staying here, I will do whatever I can for you' smiles - not those pathetic smiles of waiters/waitresses forced to sing you happy birthday at chain restaurants.

I expected it from front desk folks but also got it from housekeeping, breakfast buffet people and maintenance man.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne R, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Needed a 2 bedroom suite during our recent stay to Greenville. I found the hotel to be very worn. Our couch was broken in the middle, the chair in the living room was broken and unusable. Cigarette smoke was coming in through one of our bathroom vents. All very disappointing. I know I could have complained but not sure it would matter. This hotel just has alot of wear and tear especially for what we paid.
The good things about our stay were a friendly staff and the morning breakfast was well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpWheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSPRI, Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. I do apologize for the furniture that was in your room, and the cigarette smoke coming through the vents. If you could please call or e-mail me, I would like to compensate you for the inconvenience and experience that you received. We want every guest to have a great experience at our hotel. I thank you for the kind comments about the friendly staff and breakfast. The exciting news for our hotel is that we are planning a renovation for fourth quarter of this year! I do hope that you visit us again in the future. My e-mail is ri.gspri.gm@marriott.com.


Sincerely,
Rita Vaughn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I would have given a three if the television worked, sound and no video. Could use an update and it appeared the lotion and shampoo were re-used. It was OK for the price. The bed was not as comfortable as other Residence Inns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSPRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I apologize that the experience that you received was not top notch. I do hope that we were able to take care of the TV before you left. I truly appreciate your feedback so we can better ourselves. Yes the beds are a little worn; we are in the process of planning a renovation for 2013. Maybe when you travel back to SC it will have been completed. Thank you again and I hope to see you on your next adventure to Greenville.

At Your Service,
Rita Vaughn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Several of my colleagues stayed here for weeks at a time and had positive things to say. The next time I went to Greenville I gave this place a try. The location is excellent, well off the interstate but still very close. There is a Bi-Lo supermarket nearby as well as great restaurants.

Check in was much quicker than most hotels - everything was already prepared from my reservation and I only had to show ID and credit card. The room had the same layout as the last Residence Inn I stayed at. There is a full kitchen and that full-size refrigerator is so nice to have when on the road. The flatscreen TV's (one in each room) have some HD channels but not all. What mattered to me was Monday Night Football and there is ESPN HD. There is also HBO in HD and a few other good channels.

I didn't have any issues with the internet. I used the wireless in my room and it was plenty fast - there were no problems so I didn't really think too much about it.

My only complaint was my neighbor's TV was loud enough to keep me from sleeping. I noticed that my TV didn't have a clamp on the volume like some hotels do - I could turn my TV up absurdly loud. I called the front desk and they asked my neighbor to turn it down but I think it made the neighbor mad because the TV seemed to get louder. I packed up and went to the front desk and asked to be switched to another room. The desk clerk was accommodating. This room was a different layout than the two-room suite, but I liked it better. I'd choose the standard room if I were to return. This room was very quiet - no neighbors!

As far as cleanliness, comfort of the bed, the HVAC, etc. I have no complaints. I have made this my Greenville hotel of choice and recommend it to others.

This hotel is pet-friendly, one colleague suffered from pet allergies that didn't affect me.

Room Tip: Corner rooms don't have a neighbor with a TV, your bed is on an outside wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSPRI, General Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. I happy that you had a great stay. We have been readjusting the volume for future guests. I am sorry that you had to move rooms. Make sure if and when you return to drop by my office so I can say Hi.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerly,

Rita Vaughn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ok, Marriott redeemed itself from a bad experience the night before. We had a very nice stay at this property. Lakista Gilliam (Asst. Gen Manager)was delightful, friendly and very informative. The food was excellent and YES ! I highly recommend this property. Oh and the bed - fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler07Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSPRI, Manager at Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I am so happy that you enjoyed yourself at our hotel. We are very lucky to have Lakista on our team. She joined our team in 2005, working in Breakfast and Social. The she moved over to the Front Desk and later promoted as the Asst. Gen Manger. She is a jewel! When you travel back to Greenville I would love to meet you in person. Thank you for your kind comments and I will make sure to share them with Lakista.

Sincerely,
Rita Vaughn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Greenville Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Greenville-Spartanburg Airport
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites
#40 of 64 in Greenville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Greenville - Airport
3.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Greenville Haywood Mall
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport

Property: Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport
Address: 120 Milestone Way, Greenville, SC 29615-5065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Greenville-Spartanburg Airport Hotel Greenville
Greenville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing