We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Staff service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston
1 review
“Poor Staff service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Pros Breakfast was great
Cons: Staff was rude- staff was on personal calls all three times that I went to front desk for checkin/request, ignored request, room temperature was cold, requested an additional comforter multiple times and request was ignored, finally went to a store and purchased a small heater, tv remote intermittently worked, overall a horrible experience. I will recommend my colleagues go to Hampton Inn, Hilton Gardin Inn or Holiday Inn Express instead of Wingate/Wyndham

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateGreenvilleSC, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Renee, I am sorry that you had so many issues with your recent stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves on our Quality Assurance Scores and the fact that you were treated rudely at the front desk will not be tolerated and will be addressed. I thank you for brining it to our attention. Also, I am sorry that you felt the room was too cold and that you had to go by a small heater for the room, I did have our Maintenance Engineer go check the unit just to make sure that it was working properly. I want to assure you that this is not common in our hotel and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on another trip to Greenville, SC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    216
    80
    37
    20
See reviews for
217
105
52
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The perks made up for the shortcomings. Loved the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies! Appreciated the lemonade. Having snacks available was really nice. My boyfriend had the complimentary breakfasts and enjoyed himself. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room had FAR too much furniture and was laid out in a way that you were always bumping into it! The clean towels had hairs in them, so I didn't use some of them. The sprinkler head was falling out of the ceiling, should be fixed. And the shower curtain does not cover the showertub so water is ALL over the bathroom floor. BUT the beds are comfortable and I slept well. Enjoyed the personal coffee/teamaker in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateGreenvilleSC, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Laura,

I am glad that you enjoyed the welcome amenities that greet our guests upon arrival at the hotel of lemonade and cookies and that you both slept well! I wish that you had informed someone about your towels, this, I can honestly say, has never happened and our high Quality Assurance Housekeeping Scores are indicative of that fact. They would have been changed immediately!! Also, the sprinkler head would have been fixed and the shower curtain replace, apparantly, the magnets on the shower curtain may be worn out if it did not close properly. Overall, I am glad that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again on your return trip to Greenville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is fine for the stay before an early departure or after a late arrival. It just leaves you thinking it could be better. The rooms are large with room to spread out. However, the layout could be better. The sitting area is very large, but the king bed has to be jammed close to the wall on one side because of a small decorative wall on the other side of the bed. And, the bathroom is too small given the overall square footage of the room. If more space were devoted to the bathroom and area around the bed, it would be better. Also, the pillows were among the worst I've encountered in a mid-class hotel. Finally, the breakfast was pretty much gone 45 minutes before it closed. To be fair, a college team was in the hotel, and they likely picked it clean. With that said, the hotel should have anticipated this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateGreenvilleSC, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I must say that this is the first review that talks about the layout of our rooms! Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the size of the bathrooms. On your next visit, perhaps you would be more comfortable in a room without the decorative wall, you may like the layout a little better. I also wanted to let you know that the pillows are being swapped for larger WynRest pillows. Our breakfast closes at 9:00 am and we did leave it out until 9:30 so to accommodate the team that was staying in the hotel. Thank you for letting me know that it was practically picked clean 45 minutes before close, because that would make it around 8:15 am and that is not acceptable and we will speak with the Breakfast Hostess regarding this! Hope to see you again on your next trip to Greenville, SC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhalla, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked here due to it's being close to my surgery location. However, the Hotels.com site showed some different pictures than what the room actually was. Basically I was expecting a couch, dining table, etc but just got a chair and desk. It was a small error of picture placement on the site. I was very impressed with the way the staff handled me, especially when they were booked to the max. I called Hotels.com and the lady quickly called the hotel, and in a short time the problem was corrected and we were given a discounted rate. The suites are above average size but were not the separated sitting areas. This hotel is a very clean comfy place to stay and was very nice to return to for peace and quiet. Breakfast was average and good for type of hotel, and staff was eager to please. Several big chain restaurants right in same parking lot. We have stayed at Wyndham properties before and have never had any issues with cleanliness or rude staff. I appreciate all that was done to make my stay comfy. I felt like I got above what I payed for here. Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: Rooms near the outside of building are quieter since ice machines and lobby noise are in the center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateGreenvilleSC, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Sean, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we could provide a nice restful place for you to relax! We are diligently working with sites such as Hotels.com, to make sure that the pictures are loaded correctly so this doesn't happen again. I am glad that you found your room comfortable, as we pride ourselves on our Guest Satisfaction, and your comment was correct, we have over 12 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I hope that if you have travel needs in Greenville, that you will think of us and visit once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I reviewed this hotel a couple of weeks ago. It is a good place to stay, I have been here on business during the week for 10 months, but I complained about the missing TV channels and their absolutely terrible internet speed. Good news! They have fixed both problems and I would now fully recommend this hotel!!! :)

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th (top) floor in the summer (heat rises).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateGreenvilleSC, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jim, thank you for your second review and your loyalty. Yours is a prime example of the fact that we do take what our guests say seriously and aim to correct any and all problems encountered! Thank you for your full recommendation and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
4.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
#21 of 64 in Greenville
856 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Greenville Haywood
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenville Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Greenville Airport
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Greenville
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport
Address: 33 Beacon Drive, Greenville, SC 29615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Greenville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Greenville
#11 Business Hotel in Greenville
#12 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Greenville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Greenville Airport Hotel Greenville
Wingate Hotel Greenville Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing