We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Georgetown-Marina(Georgetown)(Great Value!)
$129
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Georgetown)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxter's Brewhouse Inn(Georgetown)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Pawleys Island)
$69
$59
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Pawleys Island(Pawleys Island)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oceanfront Litchfield Inn(Pawleys Island)(Great Value!)
$209
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield(Pawleys Island)(Great Value!)
$141
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
12
8
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
8
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue southern hospitalityb bsbreakfast was deliciousspent nightsplace to staymarsh
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Mary at Shaw House B & B confirmed my reservations for one night, on a Monday night. About a month later she contacted me and because we were only staying one night she would "let us find another place". This was because someone else wanted to stay for 3 nights during the same time. Without a doubt, unprofessional hardy dents the surface of this establishment.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Mrs Mary Shaw is the innkeeper and she is very special. This is the place to stay in Georgetown! Rooms are very nice, view of the marsh from the porch is spectacular,
and so is Mrs Shaw. Two couples, great stay, great breakfast! Thank you, Mrs Shaw!

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

The Shaw House was absolutely amazing. Southern hospitality at its core. Mary is a wonderful lady. Minutes to Historic Georgetown and short car ride to enjoy the beaches on Pawleys Island. We enjoyed our time and we will be back and will continue to stay at the Shaw House!

Room Tip: recommend the first floor
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2015

“What a house”, is the first thing that came to our minds when we arrived at our bed and breakfast in Georgetown, a small town on the South Carolina coast, about halfway between Myrtle Beach and Charleston. Joe and Mary Shaw, both in their early nineties already (!), have been running their house as a b&b for a couple of decades now. They’re trying to slow down a bit, so you may want to check in advance. They normally only accept people that stay multiple days, so we felt lucky that they took us in for only one night. As I said, they have a big house, which enables them to offer three (big) rooms, each of them with a private bathroom (I think) and each with a (very small) tv set (but they have another tv downstairs which they’ll probably let you use if you must, since they are very nice people). I’ve read reviews complaining about ‘clutter’ lying around. Sure, the entire house is filled with little thingies, but I wouldn’t consider it clutter, more like something that adds to the overall charm. And everything is very clean. We also enjoyed a really quiet night. Mary will make you fresh breakfast in the morning, which you’ll enjoy overlooking a marsh. The Shaw House is the last house in the street, so they have a stunning view from their porch. Georgetown used to be a relatively important town and merits some of your time. Downtown is only a couple of blocks away from the Shaw House, so you can easily walk. We took a boat ride in the afternoon (Rover Tours) and spent some time in the evening on the Harborwalk. We felt sad we had to leave the next day, because Joe and Mary were so hospitable.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015

This is a great value and beautiful place to stay in Georgetown. The host and hostess are very kind, sweet people. I'd recommend this place to anyone. The house is full of interesting antiques. Rooms are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews