We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Review Highlights
Interesting history

Being from a farming family I was really interested in this museum. But the further along we were... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
ByronEllenShaw
,
Asheville, North Carolina
Mr & Mrs

Rice Museum was a true learning experience. The guide was extremely friendly and knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tom G
Read all 170 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Georgetown
from $20.00
More Info
from $375.00
More Info
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
93
50
19
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
93
50
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice gift shop third floor hardware store south carolina balanced tour no elevator unique items history nerd self guided tour learning experience black river personal tour minute movie on display wonderful guide per adult
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 170 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2019

My second visit to this museum. A wealth of knowledge about the rice culture in SC explained by an excellent tour guide. Plan several hours to browse the museum and the gift shop. So much history to digest. Well worth your time.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank penell2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

We had a tremendous tour guide and a small 7 person group. Looks can be deceiving as was this case here. This was well worth the entry fee of $7 for seniors. Nice dioramas and a comfortable walking tour ending with a 15 minute movie in the history of rice plantations in S.C. Your will learn some surprising facts. The town itself is very active and there are other things to do and see if you have the time. Highly recommend taking the 1 1/2-2 hours this activity takes. Can;t remember the name of the tour guide but we were there at 10:00 a.m. on 3/12/19. Thanks for the memories

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tom646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

Love to learn about new places and this stop did that. Very interesting tour-you have to take it with a guide, but then he let us go back to see a few things. Learned a lot about rice, growing it n sadly about the slave trade. But they also have exhibits about the first slave elected to Congress and a woman whose life was teaching the children. You need the guide to get even more history.
The only negative is in the actual museum there is no elevator for the 3 floors

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Pacdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019

It is surprising how much time you can take to see all of their exhibits when you consider the size of this small museum. I was astonished to be able to actually thumb through some of the old store logs and discover the purchases of families from long ago. The exhibits are fun to explore but the highlight of the experience was Shannon, the great tour guide!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank katdod50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

This museum has a tough job because the area's history is so steeped in slavery. I feel like they had to walk a careful line, not wanting to glorify the slave culture, but at the same time not wanting to hide it, or gloss it over. I think they walked that line well.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Phillip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews