We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to spend a rainy day.”
Review of Rice Museum

Rice Museum
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakville
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a rainy day.”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Although we have visited many plantations and have heard many accounts of the rice cultivation in the slave era, this museum really brought it all together. The dioramas were excellent. I was just complaining about another museum that used story boards to tell the slave story. These dioramas were far far better in explaining what went on and children could see and relate to them too. As well there is a wonderful guide which explained the historical importance of rice to the area and how the plantations worked with the rivers and ocean tides to flood the fields. A short video reinforced all that was learned and one came away feeling like they had had a good experience. As well there is a boat which was one of the first built in America and was preserved in the mud. They took the roof off the building to house it here. Amazing. They have a nice gift shop where I bought a book and a museum to take a self guided tour. It's very reasonable and certainly worth it. Considering the massive fire they had on the main street last year, we are certainly lucky this treasure wasn't lost.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southcentral Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I glad we didn't read the reviews first! Actually, I had a hard time finding the attractions in Georgetown in here-we found out about this on another site. Very rich history and amazing technology.
The docents/volunteers were wonderful!
Sadly after we were leaving the tour in the clock tower, a family with grandpa greeted us at the top of the stairs. I hated seeing them turned away and told to go next door. They didn't.

Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyRiderClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely but Leaky”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is an excellent small museum housed in the old city hall. The architecture of the building is very interesting as well. The guide was well informed and explained the historical importance of Rice to the area very well. We watched a short video in the building above the museum store. It was very interesting. This building has a leaky roof that we hope is fixed very soon. The building is an important heritage site which it would be a shame to damage further due to the leaking. This museum is well worth a visit, and your financial support. The museum store is excellent with a large range of gifts and artwork.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope the people of Georgetown read these reviews”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am glad that I visited this exhibit. Although simplistic, it showed how labor intensive rice cultivation was, using this methodology. The knowledge that these plantation owners possessed was truly amazing. What an engineering marvel to use the tides to one's advantage . The exhibits are in need of some TLC , but, glad that I viewed them. The framing in this old building, the worn floors, and the ledger's from the 1800's -worth the price of admission.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lawhpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
509 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quaint place; very small museum”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Interesting little find in Georgetown. The guided your portion was interesting and well done. However the exhibits are quite modest and calling this a museum is a bit of a stretch.

Worth the $5 senior rate but not much more than that.

Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Museum also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing