We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but Leaky”
Review of Rice Museum

Rice Museum
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely but Leaky”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is an excellent small museum housed in the old city hall. The architecture of the building is very interesting as well. The guide was well informed and explained the historical importance of Rice to the area very well. We watched a short video in the building above the museum store. It was very interesting. This building has a leaky roof that we hope is fixed very soon. The building is an important heritage site which it would be a shame to damage further due to the leaking. This museum is well worth a visit, and your financial support. The museum store is excellent with a large range of gifts and artwork.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    15
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope the people of Georgetown read these reviews”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am glad that I visited this exhibit. Although simplistic, it showed how labor intensive rice cultivation was, using this methodology. The knowledge that these plantation owners possessed was truly amazing. What an engineering marvel to use the tides to one's advantage . The exhibits are in need of some TLC , but, glad that I viewed them. The framing in this old building, the worn floors, and the ledger's from the 1800's -worth the price of admission.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lawhpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
521 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Quaint place; very small museum”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Interesting little find in Georgetown. The guided your portion was interesting and well done. However the exhibits are quite modest and calling this a museum is a bit of a stretch.

Worth the $5 senior rate but not much more than that.

Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Rice Museum aims to interpret a very important part of Georgetown's local history and help place it within the broader context of Southern slavery, but mostly underwhelms and disappoints. Unquestionably, Georgetown should have some sort of museum or accessible cultural resource center that focuses on its agricultural roots and evolution.

Entering the Clock Tower to view the exhibits within it was very confusing. A sign at the stairwell entrance reads "Rice Museum Entrance." OK. After climbing the stairs and entering the tower, an awkward docent confusingly explained there was a tour. OK. Where? Of What? Cost? ...10 minutes later, tickets were purchased next door and a "tour" commenced of the clock tower. The displays here are very dated and historically inaccurate. E.g.- a showcase display of a "typical rice plantation" is shown with an atypical slave "allee" or "street" layout. Additionally, the plantation is shown as having a large "school" for its enslaved peoples. Come on....

But it gets worse. The building next to the clock tower (a former hardware store) contains a hodge-podge of artifacts and interpretive displays that are ok, but see them soon. The roof of the entire building was leaking during our visit. Artifacts were being incessantly dripped upon. Buckets and towels lined the floors. I could go on and on...I completely understand and appreciate tight budgets and non-profit administration. This museum conveys nothing more than indifference in the way it is run and curates its collection. Disappointing indeed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and Rushed”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Having spent time hunting in and around this region's rice fields I was curious about this museum and paid the $7.00 for the "guided" tour. We were told by the shop owner's that our docent was "very good". The docent was a pleasant young lady who led us up to the museum and essentially tell us the information that was on the display plaques in a flat, disinterested tone. She would then stop for a second allowing us to look around. Unfortunately she seemed a bit impatient as we looked at the various artifacts, diagrams and dioramas. Most of this material was dated but very well done and to me very interesting but the impatient docent made us feel rushed and uncomfortable. I would have liked to have spent 15 or 20 minutes looking at the stuff but we were there maybe 5 minutes.

The recovered ship remains over the gift shop were interesting but the roof was leaking everywhere to the point that we were getting dripped on.

The 15 minute movie was also dated but again, very interesting to me.

So my beef is not with the quaint and limited museum material. It is worth seeing. My complaint is with the impatient, disinterested docent, the cold, leaking building and the fee of $7.00. I think if this had cost $2.00 it would have been worth it.

Granted, seven bucks isn't that much, well fourteen for both of us, but let's put it in perspective. Brookgreen Gardens just down the road is one of the most, if not _the_ finest sculpture gardens in the world, with a small zoo and its own smaller sculpture 'museums; and it is $14 per person and it is good for a whole week! Atalaya, the Huntington's bizarre summer home across the street at Huntington Beach State Park is $2.00 per person with park admission.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GTBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Museum also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing