We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No place for a vegan”
Review of River Room

River Room
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The River Room has served delectable coastal-influenced fare to a tremendous following of loyal patrons since 1984.Moderately-priced lunch items include our World Famous Shrimp and Grits, Shrimp Creole and Pecan Chicken Salad served with apples and grapes.The dinner menu features fresh, grilled fish such as Carolina grouper, yellow-fin tuna and Atlantic salmon. Chef specialties include Herb-crusted Grouper, McClellanville Crab Cakes and Twin Filets of Beef with Blue Cheese ButterThe River Room is located in the historic J.B. Steel Building.In 1888 when the J.B. Steele Building opened, it housed two businesses known as the Steele-Moses stores. Downstairs, customers inspected dry goods and groceries displayed on massive hardwood counters, and upstairs they could be fitted for custom-made hats.Today, the building’s history is evident throughout and is enhanced with tasteful nostalgic décor. The dining room extends 50 feet into the Sampit River; its panoramic windows offer expansive harbor views. Nautical and turn-of-the-century antiques are on display, and an intimate bar showcases the restaurant’s wine collection.Children will surely make a beeline for the giant reef aquarium filled with colorful sea life.
Quito
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No place for a vegan”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The restaurant is in a lovely location and almost every table has a view. Unfortunately, there is nothing for a vegan except the house salad and the waitress didn't know the definition of vegan so I had the house salad and the black bean soup which had a large chunk of pork fat in it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    168
    52
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good View, Good Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sit by a window and look out onto the river while you enjoy a casual lunch. Sandwiches, burgers and/or salads are excellent. Ambiance is nautical and well done. Atmosphere is casual yet not noisy even when full. Dinner is fine, but lunch is great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto87112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Location & Good Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been visiting the Myrtle Beach area for over 45 years. We always visit Georgetown at least once while we are here. Have been eating at River Room for many years. They never fail to provide good service and excellent food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were staying in Myrtle beach and we had heard this place was really good. So we decided to drive on down. It took about 45 min to get there from Myrtle Beach, but it was worth the drive. I asked our server what was the best thing on the menu and she recommended the Shrimp and Grits. I ordered them even though I don't even like grits. Needless to say they were so good, I had to lick my bowl!!!! Everyone's food was top notch and the prices we excellent!! We will be adding this restaurant to our must haves when visiting Myrtle Beach. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyvacfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local seafood”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We drove into Georgetown from the local Mansfield Plantation where we were staying just to check out town and landed here for dinner. The greeter and wait staff was very friendly. The menu was very enticing and we couldn't figure out what to have. We almost settle on one of the platters when we saw a couple get their order and realized that's what they ordered and the portions were huge. When we come back we'll probably order one to share. I had the seafood casserole, it was smaller but still very filling. My husband had the crab cakes. And, we had to finish it off with dessert of course. After that we walked along the harbor walk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Room also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing