We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought this was just a coffee shop”
Review of Coffee Break Cafe

Coffee Break Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: I'm surprised you guys don't have this restaurant on your list. It's a great little place.
Restaurant details
Description: I'm surprised you guys don't have this restaurant on your list. It's a great little place.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thought this was just a coffee shop”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I frequently eat lunch in Georgetown. We had not been to Coffee Break Cafe for lunch because we thought it was just another coffee shop. Were we ever wrong. Great great food prepared by the owner's wife from generations old family recipes. The chicken salad is the best I've had. We also had soup, tomato bisque and the house special white bean soup. They were both great. Service was excellent and the owner Ron, is one the nicest guys you'll ever meet. We had our dog with us so we had lunch outside on a beautiful sunny day. Ron even brought water for my dog. Highly recommend Coffee Break Cafe for lunch. Now we have to go back for breakfast. For sure, not just another coffee shop.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast In Historical Setting”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Robust coffee, creamy grits, thick cut bacon, huge sugary cinnamon buns & more. Relaxed atmospher in neat old downtown building makes for a slow & easy Southern breakfast. Worth the drive down from the nearby beaches.

Helpful?
1 Thank Popadoupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Coffee Break Cafe took the chill off!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Four of us were exploring Georgetown on a cold and rainy day when we found the Coffee Break Cafe at lunchtime. A friendly guy greeted us, described the menu, and told us that his wife did the cooking. All of us decided on the Tuscan bean soup and chicken salad sandwich combo with coffee.....it was a great choice. Not only was the soup and sandwich delicious, the coffee was very good also and we warmed up from a chilly day.

The Cafe had artwork on the walls for sale and had a warm and inviting atmosphere. We all decided we will make the Coffee break a destination next time we are in Georgetown to check out the rest of the menu!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were visiting Georgetown the day after Thanksgiving and found this delightful place with a blackboard sidewalk sign advertising Ahi Tuna chopped salad $8.95 (or something to this effect), which was EXACTLY what we were in the mood for and at a decent price to boot, so we went in and found this brickwalled coffee shop with comfortable booths on one side and tables in the open space (plus tables and umbrellas out on the sidewalk), all run by a proprietor who vaguely resembles and acts like Robert Duvall's Great Santani. He seems to have gone to school with every patrons' children, played football and baseball in high school and college and surfs and rides his motorcycle even now and is quite a character. But the food and coffee and conversation were all excellent at this place. We're definitely going back here the next time we visit Georgetown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank revchrisesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast to go and the food took quite a long time. But, the breakfast sandwiches were delicious and the staff was nice. I would return when I had time to sit down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brevardrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Break Cafe also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Coffee Break Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing