We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food. Great service.”
Review of Aunny's

Aunny's
Ranked #11 of 74 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
New Bern, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food. Great service.”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Bad food. Great service. Had shrimp & grits. Shrimp were cooked until rubbery. Grits were a good texture but flavorless, not even a hint of butter, and.... if you're going to serve it with gravy at least do homemade instead of the high msg stuff from a package. Gravy is not that difficult and less expensive to do homemade. The okra in the butter beans had been cooked until they had dissolved and turned to complete slime. The shrimp,grits and beans were ebible but no more than that. The cabbage was even worse - so bad the waitress had to take them away because they smelled like tainted or rotted meat. Made me think the seasoning meat had gone bad before they cooked it and tried to salvage it in hopes no one would notice. Unfortunately, I had a small fork full in my mouth before I figured it out. I've cooked a lot of greens in my life including cabbage and they should never smell that way. It was just nasty. I'm now laying around with a bloated belly waiting for the big blow and I know it's coming. Hope your evening is more pleasant than mine. Bon apetit :/

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTNewBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    50
    14
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Down home cooking”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We fell upon this place accidentally when travelling around South Carolina. Being from Australia we were struck by the "real southern" feel. If you want authentic food and atmosphere and you are in Georgetown I would give it a go. All the other restaurants are the usual fare. It is right at the end of the restaurant strip and we felt lucky we passed all the others to find this delight. Unfortunately we only stayed for coffee and on cook's recommendation had the pound cake. We really wanted to try black eyed beans, collared greens, smothered chops all of which we hadn't heard of before.
There is a religious quote on every table....it is a family run business with grandma and nephew working there as well. We liked it and were very happy to have this Southern experience. Since then we have had all of the above and more as we travelled around.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food! Affordable prices!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is great! Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who's looking for a home cooked meal away from home!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Soul food...”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was my first visit to Georgetown I had read up on what a Great little town this was the fire and the beautiful waterfront. But when we arrived all we could smell was cabbage in the air OMG it smelled so good being from a Irish background in all. So as we shopped in and out of the shops we were trying to find who was cooking this cabbage lol..And then we came upon Aunny's! We entered this quaint little place and asked "Are you cooking cabbage" and she said yes we are, so we started to tell her how we followed the scent trail we all laughed Aunny was so funny. So being in the South we had to order the fried chicken,mac and cheese,collard greens and oh the cabbage!!! it was so good! Real down home Southern cooking in here .Aunny makes her own desserts sweet potato pie,coconut pecan pie. Delish! sorry we forgot to take pictures of the food, because we ate it all.. Please come to Georgetown and check out Aunny"s . I can't wait to come back just to come to Aunny's..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Travelbug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
“Worst food, service and a disgusting atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If the restaurant itself doesn't turn your stomach than the food will. Cheap and greasy ingredients. The server wasn't aware of the beverages available along with the side dishes. We started off with the fried pickles and wasn't notified til 10mins after ordering that they were out. Instead we got the cheese fries. They were greasy and the cheese tasted like plastic. The server gave us the wrong entrees and when they did come out it was unseasoned and watery. We both were immediately sick after leaving, we could barely make it down the road before pulling over because of an upset stomach. The entire time we knew we should have left just from the sight of the cob webs hanging off the walls. How can you purport to be 'southern food' if you don't know how to use salt or make even decent Mac and Cheese. We made a unforgettable mistake and couldnt wait to get back to Charleston. We wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. I'm not even sure people in third world countries would eat this garbage. What a waste of time and money. Save yourself the upset stomach and wait for charleston cooking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodandBev101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunny's also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Aunny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing