We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough. It's a great trip”

Cap'n Rod's Lowcountry Plantation Tours
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bethpage NY
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Can't say enough. It's a great trip”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Capt Rod is outstanding he's is so knowledgable about the area history and combine that with his outgoing friendly and humerous personality and you are in for a great time. It really is one of the things you maust do. We have done both tours and enjoyed them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    38
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vestaburg,Mi
1 review
“This is a "Bucket List" must.”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you have never been on a narrated tour or if you have, this one is a must. No 2 tours are the same because of his knowledge and everyday has new adventure. I would recommend this trip to anyone.Don't be afraid to ask questions. We had our 11 year old great gandson with us and Captain Rod was very patient with his questions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank a50sMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell NC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No Comparison”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Took this Lighthouse shelling tour and was the best day of our vacation. We have been on another boat for this same tour but Cap'n Rod and first mate Luke are the best. There was not a dull moment on the way out or back from the island. We loved hearing the history and stories and all the scenery along the way. The shelling itself was also very good, we came back with a good haul of conch shells, star fish, angel wings, a couple shells fron horseshoe crabs and alot of others. We recommend this to people of all ages, and plan on going back to this again and taking in the Plantation tours. If you are ever in the area and want an enjoyable afternoon, this is the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MothertRockwellNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun,informative,and well worth the trip.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went today had a blast. My son even enjoyed it and learned some history along the way. Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys history or just enjoys walking in the sand looking for shells. Cap' n Rod is a great ,fun loving, story telling man and his wife is a sweet southern belle visit them in your next trip to Georgetown,SC.

Helpful?
Thank KHADDIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boat Tour”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took the lighthouse tour today with friends and made many new ones on the trip.Cap'Rod was very knowledgeable about all of the plantations an verious other subjects, his joke where very funny. I would recomand this boat tour to anyone who loves the water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaG307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Rod's Lowcountry Plantation Tours also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cap'n Rod's Lowcountry Plantation Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing