We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HOPSEWEE PLANTATION TOUR”

Hopsewee Plantation
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hopsewee Plantation is an original lowcountry rice plantation on the North Santee Rive built between 1735 and 1740. Birthplace of Thomas Lynch Jr., Hopsewee is one of just 12 remaining birthplaces of Signers of the Declaration of Independence. The home has not been modified from its original design and is furnished with 18th and 19th century antiques. Two original slave cabins remain on the property. The guided tour explores the history of the Patriots and Planters who lived at Hopsewee while you explore the architectural features of the house from Attic to Cellar. Enjoy the hour long tour or just come for lunch in The River Oak Cottage Tearoom with Lowcountry favorites such as Shrimp and Grits, Pulled Pork, Soups and Sandwiches and our Southern Tea service modeled after a British Afternoon Tea.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“HOPSEWEE PLANTATION TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very educational tour. The tour of the house was most interesting. I experienced a nostalgic feeling with respect to the grounds that I walked where slaves had tread. If house walls and trees could talk, what horrible stories one would hear about the horrific treatment of slaves. It saddened me to see how these unfortunate human beings had lived and the hardship of working in rice fields where they were subjected to crocodiles, poisonous snakes and disease. It is recommended that one should visit the plantation in order to get a real appreciation of those trying times.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    90
    28
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“small group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came in September 2012 to scout out the place and returned with a group of 10 in October 2012. We had a tour at 11am, followed by lunch immediately following (about 12:15). The tour began with a 10 minute video by SC historian Walter Edgar which included the historical significance of the area, and of this particular site, and some of the items of furniture in the plantation house. A guide then took us to the house, explored the rooms and she showed us some of the items discussed and some more items in the house. It was informative and entertaining. We were able to go into the attic and the basement and looked at the manner of construction. There were 2 slave quarters on the grounds which had been moved from their historical location to a location close to the house, and one had some original items (wooden washing machine, pots, old maps, etc.)
Lunch was per the menu in a separate new building, and was reasonable. No complaints from any of our 10. I enjoyed the shrimp creole, but their specialty is shrimp and grits. We each split desserts with spouses, which were excellent.
They provide a discount for groups of 10 or more on the tour. The menu is online.
This place has a lot of historical significance. Home of Thomas Lynch, signer of declaration of independence, location of largest rice growing area in the world in the mid 1800's.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DieterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

enjoyed both the house tour and the tea room. guide was knowledgeable and the lunch and desserts were sooo yummy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gail h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tea House is grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wonderful service and great fresh goodies. The owner/hostess has a wealth of local lore and presents everything fresh baked and fabulous.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We love to visit historic houses and when staying in Myrtle Beach we thouht this would be a good one to try and not quite so far to drive as some that are closer to Charleston. We also found a $2 coupon in a discount book and we heard they also give a AAA discount. It was still a little pricey at $15.50 each but it is a beautiful home that is a current residence that they open up for tours most days. Our guide, Sarah, was very knowledgeable about American history and has lived in the area all of her life. The house does not have any original pieces but there are many antiques and the woodwork is specactular.

In the tearoom I had iced tea and a scone before the tour....it was lovely if a little disorganized. I wish I would have been with a group of girlfriends instead of my husband who was NOT into it at all! We didn't have much time and that took away from the whole tea experience. Make sure you have time to spare after the tour to try the tearoom and don't be hurried just enjoy the beautiful experience. The prices were very reasonable in the tearoom.

Helpful?
1 Thank SeptSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopsewee Plantation also viewed

Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
Georgetown, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hopsewee Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing