We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
142
14
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
14
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseslave cabinsspanish mossthe inn keeperguest houseantique furnishingsshrimp and gritsfire pitlive oaksenjoyed exploring the groundsbikes providedsouth carolina low countrybed and breakfastsouthern breakfastguest roomswonderful staybeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 163 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Total solar eclipse at the Mansion! The skies opened up and we saw a beautiful, jaw dropping, totally awesome, once in a life time experience. The grounds of plantation are totally cool. Kathryn, the inn keeper is the best. Very quiet and peaceful place surrounded in 1776 southern plantation history. Lots of live oaks smothered in vines and Spanish moss.

Room Tip: Pick a date and stay for a couple of days. This place is a gem of southern history.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

One of my favorite overnight experiences to date. Historic property located on an incredibly beautiful landscape. Kathryn, the innkeeper, was incredibly kind and accommodating. I am already plotting another trip back to Mansfield. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kangaroo214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

We found ourselves here by default and were so happy we did! Kathryn was so warm and welcoming, the breakfasts were creative and reflected the cuisine of the area and the accommodations and setting were so historic. Expansive lawns leading to the river bank, swings, bikes to explore the plantation and the slave village all added to our enjoyment here. She even has mosquito repellent (some organic) to keep away those pests. A great place to just relax in a long forgotten time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foothillfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Our recent visit to Mansfield was excellent. The grounds of the plantation are quite beautiful. We really enjoyed spending some time just relaxing in the swings down by the lake. We borrowed bikes and went riding out to the slave village and chapel and then just enjoyed exploring the grounds. After dinner in Georgetown we came back and spent some time on the terrace at the fire pit. We stayed in the north guest house in the Lance room. Very nice room with antique furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The bath room was small and tight but it was built in the 1930s. Breakfast the next morning was especially good. Kathryn was an extremely gracious host and a good cook as well. She spent a good bit of time with us answering all the questions everyone had about the plantation .

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shep864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017

This must epitomize the atmosphere most of us conjure when thinking of a coastal plantation. The huge oaks draped with Spanish moss, beautiful grounds dotted with a few charming guest rooms, old slave cabins, and out buildings, all beside the river and ancient rice fields. Kathryn, our host, prepared a grand southern breakfast and presided over conversation at the large communal table in the dining room of the "big house". Quiet, romantic, and full of exotic southern charm, I highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank metacom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews