We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Antebellum charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 3 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Antebellum charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A true Southern welcome was extended to us by Kathryn Green, the innkeeper, when we arrived.
She gave us a comprehensive overview of the history of the place and what life would have been like in the days when it was a rice growing plantation.
We stayedin the Rutledge room in the old school house which was where the owner's children were taught.
The scene driving down the long drive passing through the old slave village set either side of the avenue of Live Oaks with Spanish Moss hanging from their branches was much more than we could have imagined such a scene to be. It was captivating.
Looking around the grounds in the evening and following morning we were awestruck at the enormous amount of human labour that went into creating this place from clearing the forest, to laying out the grounds, constructing the buildings and digging the dykes enclosing the rice paddy fields.
Kathryn served breakfast in the dining room of the main house which had all the original furniture and artefacts. We enjoyed the interesting combination of sweet bread pudding with savoury bacon and turkey sausage preceded by a warm pear compote.
This b&b is great value in all senses of the word.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    13
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
94
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

For those wanting the true feel of Lowcountry rice plantations, Mansfield is your spot. I love Live Oaks and Mansfield has some beauties. The view from the house either down the front alley or across the rice fields is breathtaking. Kathryn Green has to be the hardest working Innkeeper in the business. She was weeding the grounds when we arrived, but was even better at delicious cooking and gracious hostessing. Her breakfast was super, and an embarrassment of riches. Her stories are worth the admission price too. The prices are very reasonable, and a steal for the setting, room size, and hospitality. No worries about parking either. We stayed in the Izard room in the former brick kitchen, and it was wonderful, though we had to use the footstool to get up into the big four-poster bed. The rooms are in the outbuildings. Not unusual in the Lowcountry, the house itself is not a huge Greek Revival mansion. It is a gem though, and worth seeing. The plantation retains many of its slave cabins behind the trees lining the drive.....and those are rare. The overall location is very secluded, but just right for a quick drive into old Georgetown. Try the Winyah bay tour while there. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our Izard room was neat in a vintage way, and was furnished with antiques. Nice hammock and swing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldPlantation, Innkeeper at Mansfield Plantation, responded to this review, April 16, 2015
We are glad the Izard Room suited your needs and budget. Please come visit again, and do tell a friend or two about your stay at Mansfield Plantation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The b&b is exceptional in absolutely every way. From Kathryn's (the innkeeper) welcome, knowledge and superb cooking through to the beautifully appointed and decorated rooms to the manicured grounds.
We loved every moment of being at the plantation investigating the grounds, slaves quarters, chapel and cemetery, sitting out in the peaceful surroundings on the many swing seats and hammocks and passing time in our room (the Parker). Kathryn is delightful and an absolute fountain of knowledge about the property and southern life in general as well as being an amazing chef.
There is a typical southern breakfast awaiting you in the morning around the large dining room table where you eat with the other guests, which was really lovely.
The rooms are perfectly air conditioned so even in over 90 degrees of heat our rooms were cool and inviting.
There is a large amount of nature around the grounds at all times including enormous butterflies and dragonflies and crabs in the day time and frogs, bats and lizards at night, much to the delight (once she got used to it!) of our 5 year old. The mosquitoes were a problem for me but Kathryn provided complimentary repellent in every room. It is these extra touches that make the stay even better. We would love to visit again in the autumn to see the changing seasons here. Everyone should experience this place for a trip back in time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmos328is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mint Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I waited for two years to visit this place. I was not disappointed by anything. The drive down Mansfield Rd to the plantation entrance was a transformation into a time past. Driving through the old slave village sparked imagination of how life was during the rice production days. We stayed in the Simons room in the old kitchen building and really enjoyed the seclusion, the peace and quiet, and the relaxation of our entire time there. The breakfasts that were prepared by the innkeeper, Katherine, were superb. I found myself arriving early, hanging out, sipping coffee, anticipating what we were having. The step back in time while roaming the property, strolling through the cabins where the slaves once lived, sitting on a bench pew in the old village chapel was overwhelming as I imagined the necessity of knowing God under those conditions. I was extremely humbled by the whole experience and just sat there quietly, respecting the effort that had to have been made in those days. I would highly recommend taking a few days to spend there to simply enjoy quiet at its best. It is a picture perfect solution to serenity and escape from everything life forces on you today. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we are planning another trip there one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jporter704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

From the moment you enter the oak covered driveway, you know you have arrived at a special place. The breakfast was delicious and added to the low country plantation environment. If you love nature, there are many opportunities to explore and observe wildlife, particularly birds. The accommodations are comfortable and pleasantly decorated. This is a very special place and should be at the top of ones list if in the Georgetown area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HallFamilyGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My mother and I enjoyed 2 nights at Mansfield Plantation this past April. We felt enveloped by the beauty of the place: live oaks hanging with Spanish moss, azaleas in bloom, a view of the old rice paddy from our window and of course, an opportunity to stay at a real antebellum plantation. The breakfasts were generous and delicious, but what makes Mansfield authentic is hospitality of Kathryn. thanks for such a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with a three night stay in this exclusive B&B. The breakfasts served on fine china were excellent, but this place is far more than a B&B. All 9 rooms have private entrances and have a microwave, fridge, and coffee pot, so we were able to enjoy some lunches and dinners at the plantation rather than driving into town. It was really hard leaving this beautiful place because it offers so many opportunities to explore the grounds and get back to nature. This was absolutely the quietest, most tranquill place we have ever stayed. Kathryn, the innkeeper, was really interested in making our stay a very pleasant experience. We're planning to return early next year to see the wintering waterfowl.

Room Tip: Over half the rooms are almost ground level--just a few steps. This is a real plus for older folks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_F75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
11.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Plantation

Property: Mansfield Plantation
Address: 1776 Mansfield Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-6923
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Plantation (ca. 1718) is a well-preserved, antebellum rice plantation on the banks of the Black River in Georgetown, South Carolina. Today, Mansfield still retains the old world charm and elegance of a bygone era. With over 1,000 acres of property, Mansfield Plantation offers guests the unique opportunity to step back in time and experience life on a Southern Plantation.A gourmet breakfast buffet is served each morning in the main house, with offerings such as stuffed French toast, poached pears, and Kathryn's always-changing egg bake. Mansfield is sensitive to guests food allergies and preferences, so just ask!The plantation has three surrounding properties with unique guests suites in each. The North Guest House has four private suites, while the School House has two guest rooms. The Old Kitchen House has two lower-level suites and one upstairs suite. All nine guests suites have a private entrance, private bathroom, as well as many amenities from a modern hotel (satellite TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, etc.)Rent a room and stay for the weekend, or rent the entire plantation grounds! And look for Mansfield in "The Patriot", which was filmed on-location at Mansfield.As seen in Garden & Gun, Charleston Magazine, South Carolina Homes & Gardens, on CNN, and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing