We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We traveled in time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 3 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We traveled in time”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

When we arrived it felt like we were driving through the fog in time... it was cold and the trees had almost no foliage, we arrived kind of late so it had a little bit of a scary feeling. I had no idea what we were getting into. We saw the little slave cabins (some nicer than others) and I started to doubt our decision... when we arrived at the main house we were greeted by Kathryn, she was very nice, explained to us the details of our stay and showed us our room, the room was really pretty, a little bit in the small side (specially for parent and children) but it was in very good condition. The next day we had great breakfast, there was more people than seats in the table but Kathryn was quick to find us accommodation, the food was fantastic (these breakfast were the best of the whole trip) the atmosphere was great and cozy. After breakfast we went to visit the amazing plantation, I was very sad to see all that land and no use at all... I wish there was a way to make the plantation produce something, I heard they are trying some crops but no sure how much of that is real... I didn't see much going on. The place is beautiful but I will recommend to go when is no so cold, Im sure you can see a greener landscape and plenty of flowers. My kids enjoyed fishing, riding bikes (provided by them), we did gorgeous pictures too. There is not much more in Georgetown so I wouldn't plan more than two or three days in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flafami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    14
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. Kathryn, the Innkeeper was a true joy to talk with and had a lot of information to share. Oh, she makes a fine breakfast too!
We found our room to be very nice. The bed was comfortable and the paintings added a nice touch.
The site provides opportunities for a quiet walk and various things to photograph.
We will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Unfortunately, Mansfield plantation was a disappointment. The gardens and exterior of the buildings are quite lovely, with a big lawn, live oaks covered in Spanish Moss, and all of the things that evoke the lyrical stereotype of a Southern Plantation. Our room, though nicely furnished and clean, had an awful smell of mold that just wouldn't go away; the bathroom was old and is in need of a major update. The mattress was lumpy, way too soft, and I paid for this with a terrible backache for the next two weeks. This is not really acceptable for a place that charges $200 a night. Breakfast was just ok, as was the attention and service. Some more investment to get rid of the humidity that is causing the moldy smell and an upgraded bathroom would make this a truly lovely place. A little more genuine warmth in terms service would also be welcome.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lancet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tradewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldPlantation, Owner at Mansfield Plantation, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are pleased to let you know that there are all new beds and mattresses in the Lance and Izard rooms. Your feedback helps us make necessary improvements to our bed and breakfast, and we are grateful that you took the time to share your opinion.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from Mansfield Plantation and found it beautiful. The innkeeper is very knowledgeable about the plantation and makes a fantastic breakfast. We plan on going back next visit to the beach area.

MG in Lake Wylie

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mann room but the kitchen house is also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in the Lancet Room. The mansion and guest houses are very special, the location is unique, worth visiting. The owners have really invested heavily to make this place nice and the have achieved a lot, I can only imagine how much work and money this has required. B&B is children and pet friendly which is great.
A few comments. The Lancet room needs serious updating, the mattress is absolutely lumpy, my back hurts, seriously for a US$ 200 a night B&B this cannot be. The bathroom can easily take a week of serious repair, painting, fixtures changed. Moreover the room is moldy and smells unfortunately. Service is OK but nothing memorable. I was asked to settle the bill as I was having my breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juan_in_Pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MansfieldPlantation, Owner at Mansfield Plantation, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and welcome your feedback.

I am please to inform you that we have made many updates to the Lance Room, including a new, king bed and mattress set. Your comments are much appreciated, as it helps helps us make Mansfield a better experience for all future guests.

We hope you'll plan another visit soon—the changing seasons always bring about new migratory birds and changing blooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and i enjoyed our stay in the upper room of the old kitchen. perfect...a view of the water out the bedroom window, breakfast was very yummy and we even managed to use up a few calories on a bike ride along the plantation dikes. ( bikes provided!)
Would recommend to others and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My fiancee and I recently celebrated our new engagement with an overnight trip up the coast to Georgetown. We decided on Mansfield Plantation due to the positive reviews and the seeming serenity of the plantation, which was entirely confirmed upon driving up the dirt road to get to the facility.

Kathryn, the innkeeper greeted us even in the rain and showed us the room (the Rutledge Room in the School House), which appeared to be in good order. We had guests next door from Germany and everyone else staying at the plantation was kind and friendly, including at breakfast the next morning. That evening, we ate dinner in downtown Georgetown (10 minutes away) and the next day we went to Brookgreen Gardens (highly recommended).

The quality of the bed was standard, nothing to rave about, but a comfortable night's rest. The bathroom could use a bit of an update, but that can oftentimes be tricky in historic structures. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty with fresh ingredients and good coffee.

The only disappointing aspect of our trip was that some parts of the grounds were not really in the best of shape. We attempted to ride bikes while we there and found them to be haphazardly scattered in the barn near the plantation home. The barn itself appeared really trashed, and it appeared was a staging or trash area for future or ongoing improvements to the estate. The bikes themselves were a bit difficult to work with and needed to be cleaned and maintained better.

The plantation itself is a labor of love and work continues to occur to make repairs and improvements. Nowhere was this more evident in the slave cabins, in which some of them were repaired and some were perhaps beyond repair. Beyond the rough appearances of some parts of the estate, this was a really great place to stay, and one where we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beaufort-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
3.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
11.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
10.7 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,706 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Plantation

Property: Mansfield Plantation
Address: 1776 Mansfield Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-6923
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Plantation (ca. 1718) is a well-preserved, antebellum rice plantation on the banks of the Black River in Georgetown, South Carolina. Today, Mansfield still retains the old world charm and elegance of a bygone era. With over 1,000 acres of property, Mansfield Plantation offers guests the unique opportunity to step back in time and experience life on a Southern Plantation.A gourmet breakfast buffet is served each morning in the main house, with offerings such as stuffed French toast, poached pears, and Kathryn's always-changing egg bake. Mansfield is sensitive to guests food allergies and preferences, so just ask!The plantation has three surrounding properties with unique guests suites in each. The North Guest House has four private suites, while the School House has two guest rooms. The Old Kitchen House has two lower-level suites and one upstairs suite. All nine guests suites have a private entrance, private bathroom, as well as many amenities from a modern hotel (satellite TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, etc.)Rent a room and stay for the weekend, or rent the entire plantation grounds! And look for Mansfield in "The Patriot", which was filmed on-location at Mansfield.As seen in Garden & Gun, Charleston Magazine, South Carolina Homes & Gardens, on CNN, and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing