We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mansfield Plantation
Ranked #1 of 5 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

For a nature or history lover this place is absolutely amazing. The grounds keeper was very friendly and cooks a great full breakfast. I skipped lunch the whole weekend. The rooms are retro fitted into the original structures on the plantation. I choose the upstairs room as I liked the view over over the old rice fields. Although if you have hard time going up steps stay with the downstairs rooms. The upper rooms are up narrow old masonry stairs. Each room has it's own entrance so you can come a go without disturbing others. Most of the time my wife and I stayed on the plantation itself just enjoying the peace, watching the birds swinging under old growth oak trees with Spanish Moss handing down. Breakfast is in the main house and takes you back a couple hundred years in time as you eat at main dinning room each morning. I'm already planning for a return trip in the fall of the year. One side of me hates to write this review as I think they could easily charge much much more the rooms. Head a tails above any location I've stayed before and a great value to boot. Can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: Room prices are more or less by size. The cheaper rooms (one I stayed in) are a bit smaller but plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I took a two-week road trip through the Southeast the last half of May, 2012. After several days of driving, hiking, and touring, Mansfield Plantation made a wonderful oasis for a much needed breather. The drive onto the plantation took us through a South Carolina Low Country forest which helped separate us from the busy world we had just left, and the tunnel of oaks leading onto the plantation grounds really set the theme. Beautiful! Kathryn Green, the innkeeper, was there to give us a very gracious greeting when we drove in, showing us to our room in the old plantation Kitchen, explaining everything to us, and assuring herself that all our needs were met and questions answered. The Kitchen room was beautifully furnished, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom and shower quite adequate. The air conditioning worked well, and was not loud. The room was immaculately clean, as were the main house and grounds. Breakfast was not overly large, but was well prepared and quite yummy. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous, and several small dirt paths made for excellent walking along the water, or into the forest. The day had been hot (lower 90's) and humid, but the breeze from off the water made the evening quite comfortable. There were bugs (especially mosquitoes) but Kathryn does a good job of ensuring that insect repellent is readily available, and this worked just fine. The cost was an excellent value! I really can't think of anything negative to say about this experience; it was a highlight of a very, very pleasant trip. We plan to return next year. Thank you Kathryn!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Everything from the drive in through the large oak trees covered in Spanish moss to the actual inn itself is breathtakingly beautiful. It is so quiet and peaceful and truly allows you to step outside of your busy life and simply relax. Georgetown is just a short ten minute drive away and has cute shops and several restaurants. This B&B is amazing and Kathyrn made an incredible breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travAPRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This B&B is highly recommended. Kathryn is a great hostess and her breakfast is excellent.
You can relax and enjoy the feeling of being back in time....a short drive to Georgetown and Pawly Island to sightsee and go to many nice restaurants. It is wonderful they have preserved this Plantation so we can see and enjoy this piece of history.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I fell in love with the Mansfield Plantation!! If you want the "Notebook" experience riding bikes through the beautiful over-sized oak trees covered in Spanish moss experience then this is the place for you! It's nature at its best. This alone is what makes this place a beauty! I recommend the Lance Room. A very inviting, warm and cozy room! Kathryn took very good care of us by cooking the best breakfast! Breakfast is served at 9am every morning, however, even though we had to leave at 7am on our last day she accommodated us by having breakfast ready for us at 6:30am so we didn't miss out. That was very sweet of her. My favorite part of breakfast was not only the food but she even played Billie Holiday as background music. I JUST LOVED THAT! Also, even though there aren't any restaurants on the premises for lunch or dinner, you didn't need it!! It is part of the whole romantic experience! We went to a local store and bought stuff for picnics such as wine, meats and cheeses, crackers, and fruit. There is a refrigerator so we were able to store it. We even bought ice cream and ate it while relaxing on the hammock. I will definitely recommend this place, however, ONLY TO THOSE WHO TRULY APPRECIATE NATURE AND THE LITTLE THINGS IN LIFE!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Billiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A beautiful location and very well kept accommodations. We enjoyed learning the history of the plantation and being able to explore the grounds using the bikes that were made available to guests. Our ground floor (inter-connecting) rooms in the Old Kitchen were nicely decorated, very comfortable and clean. We liked hanging around in the hammock and admiring the view from the swings in the trees. It was nice to mingle and chat with other guests over breakfast at the long dining table in the main house. The food was delicious and the classical music played in the background added to the ambience. Kathryn, the Innkeeper, is a real gem and made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Mansfield Plantation is the most peaceful and quietest place I've ever been! Beautiful huge live oaks, marsh/river landscape, antique furnishings, guest rooms well furnished. Plantation house lovely, incredible woodwork everywhere, including guest rooms. Only drawback was no restaurant on premises..Georgetown several miles away with decent restaurants. Next time we'll bring a picnic hamper and take advantage of picnic table, under an old oak. Most remarkable was the quiet, just what we were looking for!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
9.4 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,915 reviews
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Georgetown - Marina
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Georgetown/Near Georgetown Marina
5 mi away
Baxter's Brewhouse Inn
Baxter's Brewhouse Inn
#2 of 5 in Georgetown
4 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansfield Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansfield Plantation

Address: 1776 Mansfield Rd, Georgetown, SC 29440-6923
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: $150 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansfield Plantation (ca. 1718) is a well-preserved, antebellum rice plantation on the banks of the Black River in Georgetown, South Carolina. Today, Mansfield still retains the old world charm and elegance of a bygone era. With over 1,000 acres of property, Mansfield Plantation offers guests the unique opportunity to step back in time and experience life on a Southern Plantation.A gourmet breakfast buffet is served each morning in the main house, with offerings such as stuffed French toast, poached pears, and Kathryn's always-changing egg bake. Mansfield is sensitive to guests food allergies and preferences, so just ask!The plantation has three surrounding properties with unique guests suites in each. The North Guest House has four private suites, while the School House has two guest rooms. The Old Kitchen House has two lower-level suites and one upstairs suite. All nine guests suites have a private entrance, private bathroom, as well as many amenities from a modern hotel (satellite TV, coffee maker, mini fridge, etc.)Rent a room and stay for the weekend, or rent the entire plantation grounds! And look for Mansfield in "The Patriot", which was filmed on-location at Mansfield.As seen in Garden & Gun, Charleston Magazine, South Carolina Homes & Gardens, on CNN, and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing