We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surfmaster 301 Well Past Best Before Date” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SurfMaster By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garden City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SurfMaster By The Sea
Save
You added SurfMaster By The Sea to your Saves list
1690 North Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surfmaster 301 Well Past Best Before Date”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first time at Surfmaster 301 and it will be our last . The location is great , but this unit is a disaster and in need of a complete make over .When we checked in the kitchen was filthy and took a complete morning to clean. The rest of the day was spent cleaning the caked on dirt on the rest of the unit. The toilet bowls were clean on the inside but the bases hadn't been cleaned in months. The bathroom floor tiles are cracked and the tubs are beyond cleaning. The faucets are starting to deteriorate in all the bathrooms.
The stucco is falling off the ceiling in spots and the air ducts haven't been cleaned in years. The backsplash tiles are missing in the kitchen and the painted over wallpaper is separating from the walls in the bedrooms . The stove , dishwasher , and the audio video equipment are ancient with one remote held together with scotch tape.
All of the walls and doors are badly marked and in need of painting. The living area furniture is just plain dirty. Upon check in we discovered that the garbage disposal didn't work , an outlet cover was missing in one bedroom and a kitchen outlet was pulling away from the wall . These problems were quickly rectified by our rental company.
Overall a real disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    8
    12
    5
See reviews for
36
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the fourth time we have managed to stay at #711 over the last 8 years in Garden City Beach. This has got to be one of the nicest and most well-kept condos on the Grand Strand. The owners have kept the furniture and appliances updated over the years. The decorations and all the little details have been kept up as well. The kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils and dishes you would need. The cleaning people did an excellent job. This condo just generally exhibits real pride of ownership. The building and pool areas seem to be much better maintained than previous years, probably due to new management, but we only saw security guards once. Security is not much of an issue here but, someone did have the seat stolen off their bike that was chained outside. Garden City Realty, the agent, was as helpful and efficient as always. Overall, this was an excellent stay due, in large part, to the quality of #711.

Room Tip: Garden City Realty is the agent for most of the Surfmaster condos. They have virtual tours on their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MS1Timonium_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The seven of us went back to Surfmaster this year for two reasons: We love the place and, also, we love the place! Stayed in unit #114, this time and were fully satisfied with all the furnishings, including the kitchen supplies. The a/c even seemed to do a better job this year!

Being able to park practically right outside your door is a real plus also. No waiting for an elevator to load or unload your car(s).

We even went ahead and reserved #114 for next August!

*This year our teen aged grand daughter took a friend with her,

Room Tip: Look closely at the virtual tours and if something doen't look right, call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freightchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsfield, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have been staying at Surfside Beach for 20+ years. There are better units out there for the same or less money. This unit was about 10 years past a much needed upgrade. Two out of three bathrooms had problems, all the kitchen supplies were cheap and worn out. Older TV's and equipment. They did come and work on the WIFI and it was better. Rusted bath fixtures. The building in general needs upgrade. Carpet, paint, etc. Check around, you can do alot better for the money. Don't get me wrong, Surfside beach is beautiful, just do your homework before you rent.

Room Tip: Area is very nice and quiet. Beach is well kept and not crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garden City Beach hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I love the view and the rooms are nice! It is a great place to stay!!! It's a little creepy during the night but that doesn't even come to mind when you think of the advantage of being beach front! You would really love to stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clemsontigerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unit 304 was wonderful-spacious for 2 Bed. 2 Bath; nice kitchen (however needs to be "stocked" a little better), hot water was good, mattresses better than most rentals where we have stayed before, and the best balcony ever. Balcony in itself like any other, but the view was fabulous. It was definitely a "view with a condo." Sunsets and sunrises were awesome. Took some great photos. Besides the firecrackers every single night, it was basically pretty peaceful. Hopefully that noise would not happen all year round, and we realize that is to be expected on the 4th of July. We also realize we were visiting a state that legalizes fireworks-that's probably the biggest reason for all the firecrackers all week long. That was new to us.
Anyway, we appreciate having a place to have a memorable 4th of July holiday. Thanks to the owners and to Garden City Realty.

Room Tip: It was very nice not to have to bring linens. The beds were made and towel and hand cloths were ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I also stayed at Surfmaster, in condo 904 at the same time in June 2012 and I didn't noticed any new carpets in the halls, unless the person was talking about Surfmaster 1.
We went with another couple and loved our condo, it was updated, and well stocked and our linens were included in the condo price.
Had enough comfortable furniture to seat 8 people.

The only thing wrongs I found wrong was that the traffic areas of carpet could use cleaning, I would like to have had a mattress cover on the bed and glass furniture tops were not cleaned.

Owners should be proud of the condo they rent out!!

Room Tip: 904 is the best value for your money with great view of beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.4 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Resort
Waters Edge Resort
#1 of 2 in Garden City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atalaya Towers
Atalaya Towers
#3 of 9 in Garden City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfMaster By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfMaster By The Sea

Property: SurfMaster By The Sea
Address: 1690 North Waccamaw Drive, Garden City Beach, SC 29576
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Garden City Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Surfmaster By The Sea Hotel Garden City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing