We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A View with a Condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SurfMaster By The Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garden City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SurfMaster By The Sea
Save
You added SurfMaster By The Sea to your Saves list
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A View with a Condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Unit 304 was wonderful-spacious for 2 Bed. 2 Bath; nice kitchen (however needs to be "stocked" a little better), hot water was good, mattresses better than most rentals where we have stayed before, and the best balcony ever. Balcony in itself like any other, but the view was fabulous. It was definitely a "view with a condo." Sunsets and sunrises were awesome. Took some great photos. Besides the firecrackers every single night, it was basically pretty peaceful. Hopefully that noise would not happen all year round, and we realize that is to be expected on the 4th of July. We also realize we were visiting a state that legalizes fireworks-that's probably the biggest reason for all the firecrackers all week long. That was new to us.
Anyway, we appreciate having a place to have a memorable 4th of July holiday. Thanks to the owners and to Garden City Realty.

Room Tip: It was very nice not to have to bring linens. The beds were made and towel and hand cloths were ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    9
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I also stayed at Surfmaster, in condo 904 at the same time in June 2012 and I didn't noticed any new carpets in the halls, unless the person was talking about Surfmaster 1.
We went with another couple and loved our condo, it was updated, and well stocked and our linens were included in the condo price.
Had enough comfortable furniture to seat 8 people.

The only thing wrongs I found wrong was that the traffic areas of carpet could use cleaning, I would like to have had a mattress cover on the bed and glass furniture tops were not cleaned.

Owners should be proud of the condo they rent out!!

Room Tip: 904 is the best value for your money with great view of beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Have stayed in units 904 and 511 at Surfmaster Garden City Very updated - cleanest condos I have ever stayed in. View is beautiful. If you look at virtual tours of unit 511 and 904 you will be very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susuterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARDEN CITY BEACH, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is my favorite condo complex on the South Strand but unfortunately, the units are not being kept up to par for the rental prices. My husband and I come down every year for the Month of April and it is becoming very difficult to find a nice clean up to date unit to enjoy. Much of the furniture is getting old and not comfortable, including beds. The carpets are not being kept shampooed or replaced as needed and and a lot of routine maintenance seems to be being neglected. I don't mind paying a decent rate for a nice clean comfortable unit but when staying a month, they are also not stocked for any cooking. Please fix up these great units. I do enjoying staying down here once a year for the month of April. And let us know if you are an owner are are interested in renting every year for April. Our email is skmfwm@yahoo.com. We prefer a 2 or 3 bedroom at SurfMaster or Once Ocean Place on the lower floors.

Room Tip: Check rooms for comfort of beds, kitchen supplies, Good Lighting, Ceiling fans, Adequate Linen, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNNY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our 2nd year at Surfmaster & was just as good as 08/2010. Friendly staff that was quick to react to a couple of issues that we brought to their attention. Overall, unit 807, is about a 8 out of 10. Afterall, Surfmaster is over 20 years old and some deterioration is to be expected. Well furnished and comfortable.

One negative: BR with a double and single bed could use new mattresses and box springs. Daughter and SIL complained about them.

Mike

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freightchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Surfmaster is still an excellent condo rental site well maintained, great location, good parking, etc. We stayed in 910, which was well functioning - good AC, water, etc. No issues checking in, pool was clean, lifeguards cool, people friendly. In our unit the big downsides were a hard bed in the master and no cable in the second bedroom. The TV in the second bed was so old it couldn't even connect up to a DVD player. Only 1 ceiling fan in the unit. Not a bad condo, however, just needs a slight update.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlierok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

1). Lack of internet is HUGE issue - need to resolve limited or no connectivity.
2). Upon arrival, AC was set at 80 degrees! No instructions on how to adjust. Repairman told me there's an override button, but after he left, never could locate it - very frustrating.
3). Refrigerator is in need of repair. Ice machine had to be fixed upon arrival. Shelves are broken inside fridge and freezer. No water filter, water tastes horrible (so does ice). Drawers don't stay on track, thus difficult to keep fridge door shut and temp inside gets warm.
3). Dishwasher's bottom shelf will not slide in and out well and is a back breaker everytime it's loaded.
4). Drains in both bathtubs have old, loose drain openers/closers making it hard to drain the tubs.
5). Outlets in the master bathroom don't work.
6). Leg on desk in one bedroom was just propped.
7). Front door locks are horrible! Look like they've been jimmied.
8). Lightbulb over stove needs replaced - need phillips screwdriver to replace. When asked fridge repairman if he had screwdriver, he did, but refused to let me borrow it to replace the bulb myself, said he was only there for appliances. Therefore, poor lighting while cooking the entire stay.
9). No instructions on how to use the DVD player - switch from tv viewing & back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garden City Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.4 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Resort
Waters Edge Resort
#1 of 2 in Garden City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SurfMaster By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SurfMaster By The Sea

Property: SurfMaster By The Sea
Address: 1690 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-9088
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Garden City Beach
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Surfmaster By The Sea Hotel Garden City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing