We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeshare units great! Others not necessarily so”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Atalaya Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atalaya Towers
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Timeshare units great! Others not necessarily so”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We are at Atalaya right now and I decided to see what others say the reviews here on Tripadvisor. I soon realized that there is no mention that there are 80 units in the building, 19 of which are timeshares traded through RCI and Interval International and 61 of which are privately owned and often rented through local realtors. All have the same 3 bedroom floor plan. I can only attest to the 19 timeshare units which are well maintained and decorated. The units are large with three large bedrooms and one quite small but adequate. The master bedroom is oceanfront with a patio door onto the balcony. The sound of the ocean in bed at night is sooo relaxing! The second bedroom has twin beds and the third and smallest bedroom has a double bed. The kitchen is large and equipped for 8 with the usual appliances and equipment. The living and dining areas have recently been professionally decorated and are comfortably appealing. A patio door leads off the living room. All units are oceanfront with table and chairs on the balcony.
Atalaya is on a quiet beach just south of Myrtle Beach but still on the Grand Strand. There are no bright lights nearby, just condo buildings. There are several restaurants/cafes nearby at Garden City Pier and Surfside Beach pier which cater to a variety of tastes. I particulary like Bubba's Fish Shack for fish 'n chips etc. and The Gulfstream, (down the same road and out onto a spit into Murrells Inlet) for a more upscale experience. The sunsets over the inlet from the Gulfstream are worth the visit and the food is excellent. The River City Cafe is also good with its verandah over the ocean.
We come back here every year and love it!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank heatherdcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The condo was very spacious and the views from the living room and balcony were outstanding. Unfortunately, the weather was rainy and cold while we were there. Also, the resort was undergoing some construction work on the building and it was extremely noisey from 9 - 5. We left the resort everyday to get away from the noise. I would stay at Atalaya Towers again and hope there would not be any construction. The sun deck was right on the ocean and was a little small. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool, but the indoor pool was clean and warm. The hot tub was very hot and very powerful. The check-in office could use a spruce-up. The staff was very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover0747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Large space, great views, oceanfront. Loved all that -but was a little disappointed in the mattresses that had to be fixed, broken chair and couch. We rented from Garden City Realty and had to call them for the repairs. They were really good about getting someone out there. Things were fixed enough that we okay for the rest of the week.. Staff at the towers were very nice and the realty company. Location was good also. I think Realty Company needs to check out units at least once a month before renting for the mattresses. We did dread going to bed with the saggy squeaky mattresses. Might try another unit next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We go to Garden City every year for vacation. This year we booked a three bedroom condo at Atalaya Towers. We were so excited because we had never stayed in this place before. Wow!, were we shocked. It was the worst place we have ever stayed in. The unit we got was so rundown. It stunk of sewer so bad I was afraid we would all get sick. I went to management and told them. They sent someone up to spray but I wouldn't let them spray because of our allergies. They then put some chemicals down the drains. I don't know if it took care of the smell or if we just got use to it. The bed covers on one of the beds was mildewed. They changed that. I was still so upset that we paid 1383.32 for this dump. They did give me back a small amount of money. Housekeeping came by and checked on us several times. They were so kind. They said that the owners of this unit refused to do any repairs to the unit and that it was in severe need of a good cleaning but the owners refused to let them do that also. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WvGrannyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We just stayed here with 4 adults and 4 children and had plenty of room in our 3 bedroom condo on the 14th floor. With a huge balcony. Yes, the building is older but it is maintained and indoor pool/hot tub was very clean.Staff was VERY nice upon check in and when we had questions.We did rent directly from an owner. It is right on the beach and the views are spectacular. It also located right near great places to eat that have waterfront seating like Nibils, River City Cafe, Surfside Cafe. All had great food and great views and were off the beaten path. We saw dolphins most mornings and the kids loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We spent a week at the Atalaya Towers and were a bit concerned after we booked our condo through RCI for the week. Several reviews posted on tripadvisor were quite negative. We decided that since it was too late to change that we were going to make the most of it.

When we arrived the staff was very friendly and quite helpful. We entered out condo and were quite surprised to find such a nice accommodation. Apparently there had been some major renovations that had taken place. I seem to remember that someone had written a comment about security and how the magnetic cards were never changed. Good news the locks are now keyed. We felt completely safe.

All of their units are ocean front. Very easy access to the beach. Pool is open late and kept very clean (three of our children are lifeguards so they'd know). We only had access to the indoor pool as we were there in February and won't have wanted to use the outdoor pool. It was nice looking. The girls and my husband did go in the ocean-silly people!

You need to remember that you are not going to a brand new resort where everything is marble and shining. You're going to a condo complex that has been around for a few years and is a full time residence to some families. It's clean, in a great location, great kitchen with lots of dishes (bring your own frying pan-I bought one there) and if you're as lucky as we were you'll be able to see the dolphins morning swim a few meters off shore heading south between 8 and 10 am.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We were robbed the first night we were there. Security at this place is TERRIBLE. The deadbolt lock didn't work with our key and we've learned that they usually don't. work on any of the units The "security" code is never changed which doesn't matter much because the ocean door is usually open because it doesn't shut correctly anyway or it gets propped open after office hours! The manager offered no help whatsoever and they took no responsibility for what happened. I don't mean that the theft happened, but that they didn't seem to care that it even happened !! Didn't WARN anyone else that was staying there either. I will never stay there again, our week was terrible, we felt unsafe the entire week. We were treated as if we were the problem.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — feeling unsafe
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birdbrain67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.9 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,813 reviews
9.9 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Resort
Waters Edge Resort
#1 of 2 in Garden City Beach
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atalaya Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atalaya Towers

Property: Atalaya Towers
Address: 912 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-8792
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Garden City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atalaya Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This page is for the timeshare units available for rent directly through Atalaya Towers. Some units at this property are fully-owned. The ones that are fully owned may be rented through a third party and decorated and maintained differently than the rest of the units. Atalaya Towers Resort, offerd vacation ownership and vacation rentals, is located right on the beach in Garden City. Just a few miles south of Myrtle Beach, Garden City offers both the seclusion from noisy tourist crowds and the convenience of the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atalaya Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atalaya Towers Hotel Garden City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing