We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good!”
Review of Gulfstream Cafe

Gulfstream Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Gulfstream Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Atlantic Avenue
Transit: Water taxi is available at Marlin Quay Marina.
Description: Voted “best restaurant with a view” and “most romantic” by The Sun News; Gulfstream Cafe is the only restaurant on the Strand overlooking the ocean on one side and Murrells Inlet on the other. Watch the sun set from the upstairs bar or deck and savor the creamy She-Crab soup, jumbo lump Crab Cakes, daily catch or Southern favorites- such as fried Lobster Tail. Offering something for everyone: live music, seasonal Oyster Roasts and Sunday brunch with a build your own Bloody Mary bar. Located at the south end of Garden City next to Marlin Quay Marina.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Repeat visits for early bird special and also Sunday brunch. Both are great values, service is impeccable, and the view is stunning. One of the best dining spots on the entire Grand Strand!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ckconey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    168
    79
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This restaurant is so nice with a view of the inlet. We had a window table. The food was spectacular and the service was outstanding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Von H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, great food, great view”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The place is a little older, could stand a few updates but overall was really great food and a nice romantic evening for my husband and I. It is off the beaten path a little (which we liked). The waitstaff was friendly and the view rocked!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindseyo756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“They do not honor their early bird.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were there a few minutes after 5 and waited for the rest of our party. They made sure they seated us at 5:30 and then told us earl bird was now over. We have eaten there many times but no more. There are too many good restaurants in myrtle beach. The manager seems to have forgotten that the. Customer is always right. The customer is never right here!! Early bird only lasts if they don't have enough 6pm reservations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhendrix100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at Gulfstream Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed. We don't seat incomplete parties. It sounds like the timing just didn't work out with our early evening menu when your party was complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

great view, service was pretty good. food was subpar at best. the broiled lobster was overcooked almost burnt on edges. crab cakes where also on the overdone side, tuna was cooked very good. not what I was expecting from this high of rated place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benrickbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA_Centraarchy, Public Relations Manager at Gulfstream Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal. In the future, please seek a manager. They can remedy the situation quickly to assure you leave full and happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulfstream Cafe also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gulfstream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing