We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Garden Resort
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was lovely.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

All reviews I've read seem to be Accurate. Yes, the shower in the second bedroom is super tiny and the parking garage is tight. I really don't have anything to complain about though . We don't stay here at the beach very often so I can't comment much to the value, they all seem pricey to me... However the view was simply breathtaking. The amenities included an indoor and outdoor pool,sauna,and hot tub. Also the Sandbar restaurant (which I did not go )to seemed to have a nice snack and drink menu. The kids loved it and we were pleased. I will return as long as the price is right. This place made a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary_09631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    35
    22
    27
See reviews for
100
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This may sound like the first review....: DIDO! Our second stay too. Nothing has changed The shower in the second bathroom was so small you could hardly move in it. The furniture on the balcony was that lousy white resin stuff. Our room was clean, but the surroundings seemed dirty. The parking garage is very tight and dark.Do not attempt to park any large trucks (F-150's or Hummers Talked to people who had to find parking elsewhere cause there isn't enough parking spaces in the garage. The beach area at high tide was so small it only had room for one row of umbrellas and one row behind them. Had good internet connectivity. One pool. Had a snack bar but no on-site resturant. Elevators were SLOW, had 3 but only 1 went to ground (beach) level. Won't go back again. BGonda has done a great job on reporting this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here. First time was about 10 years ago. Nothing has changed. Unit 712 was a 2 bedroom unit. The second bedroom is so small I was worried my son-in-law wouldn't fit in the bed. The shower in the second bathroom was so small you could hardly move in it. The furniture on the balcony was that lousy white resin stuff. I think it should be replaced every year because our stuff looked filthy, and we tried to clean it but was stained beyond cleaning.Our room was clean, but the surroundings seemed dirty. They tried to keep the main areas mopped but it was always sloppy. The parking garage is very tight and dark. Talked to people who had to find parking elsewhere cause there isn't enough parking spaces in the garage. The beach area at high tide was so small it only had room for one row of umbrellas and one row behind them. The price of the room was $1400 with linens and taxes for the week. Had good internet connectivity. One pool. Had a snack bar but no on-site resturant. Elevators were SLOW, had 3 but only 1 went to ground (beach) level. Won't go back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garden City Beach hotels

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i think it is important to have the right mindset and know what to expect when staying in most places in the Myrtle area. 5 star resorts notwithstanding(mostly those in North Myrtle)..the royal garden has an excellent view of the ocean and beach...the condo was more than competent with no little maintenence issues..the front desk was little help, nor do i care, but my daghters and went to ask for a blanket, a couple towels and a couple of trash bags, all to no avail..the snackbar downstairs had terrible food and a seriously limited menu..the parking was attrocious and actually impossible for me as i have a full size pick up and the garage is scaled to ultra small spots and distance to the vehicles across from each other.. all in all i enjoyed my stay because i refuse to let the little stuff get to me..i enjoy gazing at the ocean from my balcony and having the beach right downstairs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanqui7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This condo is on the top floor with an awesome view and top -notch porch furniture. The 3 bedrooms are all newly decorated with comfortable beds. All of the decor is new, fresh, and beachy. I love all of the beach paintings on the walls. The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes, glasses, cookware, appliances, etc. One of the bedrooms does not have any windows. The deck is sunny in the morning and shady in the afternoons. The condo has 4 tv's. We personally like the indoor if the weather is bad. Thereis also a beach snack bar which is handy.

Room Tip: Find out how recently the condo you are renting has been updated.It can make a world of difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in unit 1604 for my second visit to this property in as many years. Its a great location for myrtle beach bike week which is now held in the murrells inlet area. This time i rented a 3-bedroom unit and while the unit was a little and i mean a little larger it was still very dated. Ill start with the kitchen, the cabinets looked like they were refaced with gray plywood. The appliances all worked. The den/TV area, nice couch, love seat and recliner, decent flat screen TV. Carpet needs replacement or a good cleaning. Bedrrom number 1-King bed, great matress, decent bathroom. Again carpet a little aged. Bedroom #2-this is the bedrrom you have to walk through a bathrrom to access. Bed was Motel 6 quality, carpet filthy and the TV was useless. It was a 13 inch outdated antique. No A/C vent in this room so it was always warmer than the rest of the condo. The bath room was a mess. Stall shower was the size of a phone booth and the shower curtain did nothing to stop the place from flooding everytime the shower was used. Tiles were falling off or fell off by the base of the shower and the toilet paper holder was the tank of the toilet. The 3rd bedroom had 2 beds that were also of mariginal quality and the bathroom was bizzare. You had to step up to access the shower and had to be careful not to hit your head or slip on the step when you got out of the shower. I can beleive this was the original design. The 16th floor for whatever the reason requires that you use a key in the elevator to get to the floor. I have no idea why. This place was no penthouse. Although I love the location I will not be staying at this property again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Unit 808. This one bedroom condo was recently renovated and the owners did a fantastic job. We rented through Dunes and were very happy. We brought our own sheets and towels and used the washer/dryer provided in the unit. Yes, the elevators are slow but we are used to that. Yes, the building is dated. But you know what? We didn't care, we were on vacation. If you are looking for a great place to stay, we suggest you look at this condo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VARetiredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.7 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
54 reviews
9.3 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
10.1 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,705 reviews
2.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Garden Resort

Property: Royal Garden Resort
Address: 1210 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-9068
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Garden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Hotel Garden City Beach
Royal Garden Resort Sc
Royal Garden City Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing