We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edge of Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Waters Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waters Edge Resort
High Point, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Edge of Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The title Waters Edge says it all! You are literally at the edge of the ocean. There is very little beach front which makes it very crowded. The unit we stayed in, 109, needs a major renovation. Everything is very old and dingy. The kitchen and bathroom floors are yellow. I just had this unclean feeling the entire time. The bedroom is on the side near the garage which means anytime someone comes in or walks by talking you are awakened. Will not choose this location again.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here choose a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank KKBum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allyn M, General Manager at Waters Edge Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I did want to clarify one thing. This unit is rented out by the individual owner and sometimes when this happens you get a inconsistent product. At WER Inc we strive to maintain a high standard in both cleanliness and room décor. All our rooms are outfitted with a standard amount of Kitchen amenities
. Guest satisfaction is also a priority. If you have an Issue we have staff on site to take care of any situation.
Make sure in the future you are booking with Us!
www.watersedgeresort.com or call 1800 255 5554
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    30
    20
    35
See reviews for
88
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in Suite 1406 at Water's Edge Resort in Garden City from 29 June - 5 July 2013. We chose this condo based on reviews and the location is good. It is directly on the beach and on the 14th (really 13th) floor.

There are better places to stay for the money we paid. The suite itself was appointed well, had everything we needed, but fell very short on some basics like a comfortable mattress, comfortable furniture and lighting. The mattress in 1406 is absolutely shot - our backs were hurting after the 1st night. A week-long backache on vacation is not a good thing to have to endure. There is no lamp in this entire condo bright enough to read by. We purchased a brighter bulb for a bedroom lamp ourselves as my wife likes to read before going to sleep. We couldn't use the lamp shade with the new bulb, by the way. The bedroom is noisy due to it's location. One thing that was particularly irritating to us was the constant sound and vibration of slamming doors - if the sliding door to the balcony was open, the front door would slam shut every time unless you prevented it from doing so. Most didn't, even in the middle of the night. The shade on the bedroom window did not block light from the outside. We had to hang the bedspread over the window to get the room dark enough at night. The furniture in the living area is also in need of replacing as it is not very comfortable due to wear. The TV is a 26 inch tube type that nobody owns anymore. The balcony is nice, the view fantastic, but it is not private and your neighbors are so close that you can hear their conversations. The furniture on the balcony is probably the cheapest plastic furniture you can buy. Water pressure for showers was horrible, but probably on par with any other condo near the top of a high rise building.

We cannot recommend The Resort itself. There are a great many condos and only 2 elevators, which resulted in long waits on busy days and almost impossible waits on check-in and check-out days. Several times during the week, one of the elevators was out of service. The Resort was quick to get it working again, but some guests were reluctant to use it after the problems arose, including us. Carts for moving luggage were supposedly available, but either the Resort doesn't have enough of them or people were hoarding them in their rooms because most people couldn't find them when needed. Parking was okay. We didn't use the pools or hot tub due to the crowds.

We understand that a vacation rental is not going to be as good as home, and we didn't expect it to be. We're not overly critical people, and we've stayed at worse places than this condo. Had we payed less, our overall rating would be better. But for almost $1500 for a week (after taxes and fees), the least one should expect is a decent mattress. We will not be staying here again in the future and cannot recommend either the condo or the resort if staying more than a day or two.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent location direct beachfront. Our condo was decorated in a beach theme, and was super clean on the 7th floor. The ocean view straight ahead, and to the right of the Garden City Pier, and to the left looking towards North Myrtle Beach was fantastic. The Waters Edge building has lots of parking, clean pools and decks, and a breakfast cafe, and an afternoon karaoke bar, one never has to leave! The building is in walking distance of the pier, and downtown area. A great family vacation spot for children, or couples. Bonus - No dogs allowed !!! Wifi was Excellent in condo.

  • Liked — Within walking distance of downtown, and Garden City Pier
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at Water’s Edge for “Bike Week” 2013 (May). Although we reserved a privately-owned condo for the majority of our week, we did end up going down several days early to stay with a friend in a three-bedroom “hotel-owned” condo.

There was no comparison! The (hotel-owned) room was dated and run-down with shag carpet, 70’s wallpaper saggy mattresses with springs that stuck out and cut my husband and peeling paint. The privately-owned condo, however was perfect with all the modern luxuries and features including top-of-the-line countertops, faucets, washer/dryer, fridge, etc. We were very pleased! (Try VRBO.com for a privately-owned condo).

Water’s Edge is a nice place to stay with a great beach area and two hot tubs. I honestly think that one employee single-handedly keeps the place looking so good. “Fuz” spends his days picking up after guests, tending to flowers and plants and making sure the pool deck is clean and the chairs are all in order. He impressed us especially every time we saw him digging through the trash cans to get the dozens of aluminum cans people had tossed and then transferring them to the recycle bin. He was very dedicated to his job and gave good advice on where to go and what to do. There’s a little store located at the hotel, which was useful for things like batteries (or late night ice cream!). There’s also a snack shop, which I hear is great, but we never ate there and a ‘bar’ where everyone always seemed to be having a blast. All the employees we encountered during our stay were helpful and full of that legendary Southern hospitality.

I love Garden City Beach! I highly recommend eating at “Nalu’s” and “The Conch Café” just down the street in opposite directions (see reviews).

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms right at the elevators b/c the master br in our condo was right at the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrooperWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

A family friend owns 2 condo's here and offered us a week's stay. The ammenities include an indoor, heated pool, an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and the most beautiful, clean beach with views from every single unit! Very friendly, clean throughout. A mix of guests-families and "snowbirds". The unit we stayed in had everything we needed-washer/dryer, cooking and cleaning supplies, beach necessities. We LOVED our stay! The weather wasn't what we wanted but obviously no one can have control of that. We found alot to do.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Atlantic Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RIslandgirl120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I decided at the last minute to take an overnight trip to Garden City to celebrate the holidays with my sister and her family. We had a party of eight, so we needed a large condo unit. After searching several search engines, we came across the Waters Edge Resort, and a 3BR unit for a very reasonable price. Having lived down at Garden City for many years, I was familiar with the location, and to get a large unit like this that was not only oceanfront, but available for just one night, seemed to be the perfect answer to our accommodations' needs.

First, the positives. Despite check-in time being at 4pm, we arrived around 1pm and were warmly welcomed by the staff and able to check in early, which was a pleasant surprise. We also discovered that the on-site bar and cafe were both open during this time of year, which we did not expect with it being the down season. After taking an elevator ride up to the 7th floor, we attempted to enter our unit, but struggled with the entry lock/key. After several attempts, we had to send someone back down to the front desk to request assistance. Maintenance was dispatched to our unit, and he showed us the "secret" to these locks, which was a little unorthodoxed. However, we were able to finally get into our unit, and what a pleasant surprise it was. The condo was layed-out in a very comfortable and spacious way, with a "shotgun" hallway leading to all three bedrooms. The kitchen was clean and modern, and the unit itself was painted in a tropical, festive blue with furniture that was a bit outdated but comfortable. The bedrooms were of good size, especially the master, which sported a king-sized bed and a balcony overlooking the ocean. When they say oceanfront, they mean it! The water was literally lapping at the edge of the property.

The beds were a bit soft; you could tell that economy was more prevalant than expense, but the beds slept fine for the one night that we spent. There were two full baths, plus a half-bath in the hallway that ended up being very convenient for our guests. The view was spectacular from the living room balcony, and the balcony itself was very spacious, unusual for an condo like this. In addition, having a washer/dryer was also a benefit after a swim in the pool/hottub.

While we didn't have time to take advantage of the bar and cafe, we did stop in for a peek. The bar seemed to be nice, and that night they were having a two-person accoustic show, which was again unusual for the time of year. Had we not have made previous plans for the evening, we would have definitely taken advantage of the opportunity to sit oceanfront and listen to a good band while enjoying a cocktail. In addition, the cafe menu was posted on the door, and there seemed to be a nice selection of simple foods (burgers, chicken, etc.) at very reasonable prices for a resort location. Even the breakfast menu was very appealing, though we didn't take advantage.

The indoor pool was a great positive, and it was much larger than expected. It was very warm, and the kids really enjoyed it. The hot tub inside was also very nice, although the large hottub outside was ever nicer - if you could stand the cold air getting out to it! The whole pool experience really made the vacation nice for the kids.

Now, the negatives. The front door to our unit was covered in rust - looked like the door had not been touched in years. Just a very disappointing first impression for us. In the third bedroom, the heat did not work, and on this particular night, temperatures dropped into the upper 30's. I had the misfortune of being assigned to this room, and it was a very cold night of sleep to say the least. Unfortunately we did not discover this until late in the evening, when we closed the door to the room, and at that time it was just too late to call maintenance. Overall, the unit was "cozy", but definitely could have used some upgrading. There were TVs in the master and third bedrooms, which was nice, but having one in the 2nd bedroom would have been nice also. The television in the living area was an old 25" tube-style, and while I know most people don't watch a whole lot of TV while at the beach, having at least a 32" flat screen would have made viewing TV at night a lot more enjoyable, given the low prices of those units these days. And just a small note, but maybe having one of the bedrooms with two double beds instead of a queen would be a big upgrade, considering that most families that stay here have children.

Overall, this place has a lot of potential, and is somewhere that we will give a lot of consideration to for a return visit in the summer. The room layouts are very nice and spacious, the views great, and the location couldn't be more convenient. If the ownership would just put a little money into some minor upgrades (exterior of property, inside units), it could be one of the nicer venues on the south end of the beach, especially for the price. We will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: We had an end unit that had a very large balcony. Also, the views are breathtaking, so request a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nightowl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in room 401, and were very impressed. Good wifi, stocked kitchen with utensils, plates, etc. the beds were comfortable, and very spacious for 4 people.

The best asset was the patio that overlooked the beach -- it was accessible from both the master bedroom and the living room, and easily had room for 8 or more people.

The beach is literally steps from the door, and going to bed while hearing the waves crash below is a real treat. Will definitely stay he again!

Room Tip: All of the condos are different, but I can tell you that 401 was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CreativeLinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
2.8 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
4.0 mi away
The Inlet Sports Lodge
The Inlet Sports Lodge
#2 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Property: Waters Edge Resort
Address: 1012 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-8799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the finest in one, two and three bedroom fully furnished condos ( all oceanfront ) for the price of a regular hotel room. All suites include fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves washer and dryers and private balconies for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing