We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place, will definitely be going back.”
Review of Waters Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Edge Resort
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We chose to take a weeks trip to Garden City and stay at Waters Edge on the recommendation of a friend and his experience. We rented a 2 bedroom for 7 nights and were very impressed with the unit we were given. All of the units are privately owned and are rented out and maintained by a property management company. We had stayed at a similar place in Hilton Head the year prior and had a very bad experience with the unit we rented. To put it simply it was a dump, and we were somewhat hesitant to end up in the same situation on our very next vacation. The unit we stayed in was recently renovated and was in excellent condition. It was also cleaned very well after the previous people checked out, foors were spotless, all appliances and kitchen ware were clean, and bathrooms were in great shape.

My quick summary of the positives and negatives.

Positives : Units are spacious and have everything you need for an extended stay with the exception of food.
The setup with an indoor and outdoor pool right on the beach is fantastic.
The bar is nice if you want to stop by and have a drink or shot.
The restaraunt is really good as well, youre not going to get fine dining but they have great burgers, fries and finger food that is great for a quick snack while hanging out on the beach or by the pool.
And a well stocked convenience store for items that are urgent. I wouldnt use it as my main source shopping spot, but they have some great beach items and some necessities should you run out and dont feel like getting in the car and driving to a store.

Negatives :
The building is older and with that age there is some need for updates and regular maintenance.
The only reason I did not give a rating of 5 to waters edge is that they need to do some serious cleaning to the 2 stairwells. A large amount of bleach needs to be applied to the walls and floors of each stairwell and scrubbed extensively before being washed down. They smell AWFUL!!
A bit more attention given to regular cleaning of each units entryway area would be nice as well.
The building is 15 stories tall, however only has 2 elevators. Not much that they can do about it, however they definitely need to spend some money to have regular maintenance done to keep them working. There were about 15 of us all together staying here and a group of 6 or so got stuck in one of the elevators for 5 - 10 minutes. And one of the elevators was out for most of one of the days we were there as well. Luckily we were on the 6th floor so not a huge deal for us to walk up the stairs to our room, not so good if you are in one of the upper floors.

For us the positives far outweigh the negatives, we decided while we were there that we would be going back again next year and staying at Waters Edge. A great location, very family friendly, lots to do close by, and again the setup by the pool is just great since we spend the vast majority of our week hanging out in that area.

Cant wait to go back!
Cheers

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Waters Edge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just returned from our visit. The room was nice but as many others said, it was outdated. We found our room to be clean but the sofas were very worn out, and one wouldn't fold back up. Walking around in the room made our feet black which says how dirty the carpet was. It was equiped with a washer and dryer but no detergent so if you go, bring your OWN, because they will not provide it for you. We had asked for additional towels, which we were declined because as we were told, we had a washer and dryer in our room and needed to wash our own. Sooo if you go with this resort, take detergent or additional towels of your own. Also take dish washing detergent, I didn't think about that when we went but did end up needing it. The water pressure was pretty good considering each room had its own hot water heater. The view was amazing. As for all the noise complaints, we didn't have much noise but I was surprised by all the fireworks on the beach EACH night, so having my 1 year old trying to sleep that was kind of annoying at midnight with them still going off right off of our balony. But they were very nice. It wasn't the hotel that did them but random guess. The beach access was perfect, so was the pool and the area around the pool. I was annoyed by the pool guy, because he was the arm band nazi, you have to wear the armbands they provide to be at the pool, but wouldnt say anything to the annoying kids who kept hitting people with a rubber ball and had no parental supervision. The mini mart down below was well stocked with the necessities and snacks and such. The bar was low key and kinda high priced, $8 for a strawberry daiqurie which had stock liquiour. Everyone was very friendly for the most part. We had 7 people in our party, 2 adults, 14, 12, 8, 4 and 1 year olds. The kids had an absolute blast being able to go between the pool and beach with no walking distance inbetween. We loved it too because we were constantly going back and forth. The kids did say that the couch bed were hard but what sofa bed isnt?!?

Room Tip: Bring your own towels, dish detergent, and laundry detergent. Stay halfway up, say the 10th floor, t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We traveled from New York. On our last night, which was a Friday, we decided we wanted to have a couple of drinks. We went down to the bar at 10pm and it was closing!!! Come on a bar on the beach, on a Friday night closing at 10pm!!!! I could understand if it were during the week or during the off season but this was June 15, 2012. There were alot of people there. Other than that our stay was very nice.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a great view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

and it was as good as the first. Great condo, beach within reach. Everyone was nice and helpful.
Like comming back home. To me it is the best @ Garden City.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank houdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights in April 2012. We were traveling with an elderly family member who uses a walker, so I was looking for a place to stay that was right on the beach, without much difficulty for him to get on the beach, plus I needed a place that wouldn't require our party to be split up in separate hotel rooms. I found Water's Edge through Internet research.

We were in unit 402, a 2-BR unit. It was very spacious and offered what we needed. We only wished we could stay there longer and really take advantage of the apartment-like setup.

The front desk staff was very helpful. We had a few maintenance issues in the two bathrooms and they were promptly taken care of.

As we stayed somewhat off-season, the small restaurant onsite was closed, but the front desk staff gave us excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants.

In general the property is slightly shabby but it was clean and met our needs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoJNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family and I spent 5 wonderful days here in the sun. I read all the reviews on this place I could find. I have to tell you all I was worried at what we might find. When we got here I was so pleasantly surprised. We stayed in condo #712 a little outdated but who cares....we had a great view and the condo was very clean. The beds "omg" were so comfy..pillow top. The staff was over the top nice. The lady that works in the store was super sweet and wonderful with all the small children. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Waters Edge Resort for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We wanted to celebrate our 40th anniversary and wanted a special place. We rented 907 at the Water's Edge.We heard it depends on the owner and this owner really came thru on decor. What a great unit that made us not want to leave. We rented thru VRBO and I will return to this unit on our 41st anniversary.

Room Tip: Higher floors amazing views
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City Beach
1.8 mi away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
64 reviews
9.2 mi away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
10.0 mi away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,883 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Resort

Address: 1012 N Waccamaw Dr, Garden City Beach, SC 29576-8799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Garden City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garden City Beach
Price Range: $149 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waters Edge Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the finest in one, two and three bedroom fully furnished condos ( all oceanfront ) for the price of a regular hotel room. All suites include fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves washer and dryers and private balconies for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waters Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Garden City Beach
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing