We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fripp is great but has limitations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fripp Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fripp Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fripp Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fripp is great but has limitations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have shared beach front houses on Fripp Island on two occasions and each time was pleased with the accommodations and easy access to the beach. Grandchildren loved the beach and enjoyed the activities center. They spotted deer and alligators on golf cart rides, enjoyed flying kites, and had good times at the pools. Homes rentals seem to include a golf cart which makes exploring the island a fun time activity.

Both golf courses were fun to play. Restaurants are so-so, and you have to get off the island to get a wider selection. It is frustrating to have to buy amenity cards to access golf, restaurants, etc. We are already paying an exorbitant rental fee and the additional charge seems inappropriate when we are desirous of using their services.

Harry's Catering Service does a fantastic job at a reasonable price. He works with you on menu choices and delivers everything promptly at the desired time. Highly recommended.

The turtle patrol acts like a bunch of Nazi's--ordering people where to stand, refusing to allow pictures of eggs that were destroyed by crabs, and not responding to simple questions--they, for the most part had a condescending attitude towards vacationers and acted like we were going to stomp on the turtles or take them home for pets. Meanwhile, they march all around the nests as they hatch, relocate turtle eggs, handle the hatchlings, and act like super Ninja turtles saving the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank loves2travelandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    25
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
75
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

2'nd Floor Up North Hampton Condo's have the most amazing views!!! We open the sliding glass door and from the den & kitchen you see ABSOLUTELY NOTHING but ocean!!! Pool is cooler than the rest of the island's and this end is just SO unbelievably quiet!!! Even during 4th of July week you hardly hear a squeak!!! Don't have to walk a country mile to get to your room and it's the only condo on the island with an elevator!!! We use to stay at "The Pelican Pad" but for some reason it's no longer on the market. We haven't been in several years because we bought a 30' Grady White Marlin and stay on it at the Port Royal Landing Marina. I terribly miss staying at Fripp, but you have to own property to have an extended stay at the Marina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowerysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I can't think of a better place to take the family. It is back to the simple life which after running around all the time with work and kids, I truly enjoy. Yep, the closest grocery store is a half hour, but if you are smart and plan well, then this won't be an issue. Even if you have to make that ride a few times, WHAT A SCENIC TRIP IT IS. There are rules and regulations as there should be. When people don't follow them, they get arms bit off, or fall out of golf carts and think they should sue the property owners. Follow the rules and security won't bother you...don't follow them then YEAH expect to get a ticket. JUST LIKE ANY OTHER PLACE ON EARTH. It is NOT just old grumpy people, I have met more kind hearted people on Fripp than most places we have visited. It is such a great place for families, but also for golfers or a girls get-a-way....There is no other place that offers this value either!!! I have been there in April, July, August, October and December, each month has its own amazing experience. So beautiful!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmp72862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Because of beach erosion and accretion it is important to select a rental house or condo that is easily accessible (beach extends too far into the Ocean) and is not covered by the ocean during most of the day. With the right house or condo on the right location it is a fabulous place for a family beach or golf vacation. It is about a 30 minute drive to a grocery store so load up on the way in.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to Fripp for a niece's wedding. We went 9/11-15 so it wasn't the busy season. We loved it. Because there are no hotels on the island, only vacation rental homes and condos, it wasn't crowded at all. There isn't much for food so stop in Beaufort for groceries before heading onto the island. We really only played on the beach and attended wedding festivities. There was golf and tennis, but we didn't partake. The beach where we were disappeared completely when the tide came in, but you could just walk down the road a bit and find beach there. Golf carts are the main form of transportation, although we walked most places. Having the wedding there, right on the beach, was spectacular. They rented one of the bigger houses and had the wedding on the beach and the reception inside. It worked out great. We were truly impressed by the cakes that Publix in Beaufort made for them. They had 8 different flavors and put one on each table, but each one was a work of art. We would definitely love to go back, but Frontier doesn't fly anywhere near there so it's a bit difficult. That is who we have miles with. We ended up flying to Orlando, driving to Sanford to spend the night and then driving about 5.5 hours to Fripp.

Room Tip: No hotels on the island. Go to vrbo.com or to the Fripp Island website to find vacation rentals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barlauco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have been coming to Fripp for almost ten years and love our time there EVERY year! The island is getting more crowded each summer, and not all rentals are the same. However, we always regret when our time at Fripp comes to an end. The shelling boat is a great family experience. We have watched the dolphins swim at various points on the island. The beach is really only crowded by the beach club, with lots of room to spread out everywhere else on the beach. The service at the restaurants can be super slow, but the food is good. Just plan on extra time for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just stayed one week at this property. It is rated Gold and I asked for Gold or Platinum when I booked. the location is great, beach walk and pool just steps from the back door, but the property is in need of lots of maintenance. The deck was dirty, the furniture on the deck was plastic, the furniture inside is mismatched in the living room, and the décor is dated. The King bed upstairs in the "loft" type bedroom was excellent and there was a strong ocean breeze all night. Which thank goodness for that, as the AC does not work properly, seemed the freeze, and water leaked out of the ceiling AC vents. This is a less than desirable condo and If you are finicky about your lodging, pass on this. There are lots of kid activities on the Island, but none in the Beach Club area where this condo is.

Room Tip: Talk to the vacation planners and book a platinum facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fripp Island
14.3 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
14.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
14.4 mi away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fripp Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fripp Island Resort

Property: Fripp Island Resort
Address: 300 Tarpon Blvd., Fripp Island, SC 29920-7427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fripp Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fripp Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check out our fantastic vacation rentals which range from oceanfront homes to villas, golf cottages and efficiencies. Whatever you need for your vacation, we surely have a rental to match. Additionally when you book directly through the Fripp Island Golf & Beach Resort, you get all the benefits of a private resort club: our exclusive "no hassle check-in", free guest cards, and fully furnished accommodations. Welcome to your home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fripp Island Hotel Fripp Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing