We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait very long, food fair, operations chaotic”
Review of Bonito Boathouse

Bonito Boathouse
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wait very long, food fair, operations chaotic”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our party called ahead for seating. When we arrived they had not written down the name. Said 15 minutes, but we waited one hour for seating and then 45 minutes after ordering for food to arrive. No rolls because they were burned, waitress was good and saved the day. Orders came out in a 15 minute time frame. Food was ok but certainly not great. Operation was in chaos. Typical boathouse dining experience. We only go because of the convenient location.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    35
    28
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“View far exceeds food or service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We dined here on July 2nd and went early to beat the crowd in hopes of a quiet, romantic meal. Our table had a great view of the marina and marshes and we enjoyed the view and how quickly we were seated.

The restaurant wasn't very full -- but somehow we ended up being surrounded by several large groups/families. Instead of a quiet, romantic dinner for two, it was extremely noisy and the next 1.5 hours we spent appalled and in disbelief at the badly behaving children and oblivious or acquiscing parents. The service was even worse than the ambiance. We ordered our drinks and it was 25 minutes before they were delivered. We ordered our salads and entrees and it was another 30 minutes before they were delivered -- salad and entrees at the same time. My husband's salmon and shrimp were okay, but not the delicious, fresh seafood taste for which he hoped. My steak was well done rather than medium and so tough it was very difficult to eat. After our food was served, we didn't see our waitress again until she brought our check. At no time during our meal were we asked if we wanted more drinks or dessert.

By the time we paid, we both had headaches from the family circuses going on around us. We were glad to leave and don't plan to ever return. The view was not good enough to compensate for the mediocre food and horrible service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marina Restaurant- convenient location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

OK, this is our 4th year on Fripp Island and we always have one meal at the Marina because it is convenient, but be aware that they do not take reservations and it takes forever to get a table (even when they are all open, I inquired about that and was told that they were giving the kitchen a chance to "catch up".). Food is OK, nothing special and nothing new in 4 years, but the view is nice and the kids like to walk around and look at the boats while we wait for out table so that makes the wait more bareable.
Wish they would add some more menu items and work on the ambiance. It is very plain and boring inside and could much more attractivily set up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crshaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Red Lobster with a view”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food seems over priced for the quality you receive. One of my kids even said "This is like Red Lobster", but with higher prices and lower quality. Service seems over worked and not very interactive. It was not a particularly crowded night

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the buttermilk fried flounder and sunset views”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our party of 7 was seated immediately and our server was fantastic. She was helpful, efficient and had a great sense of humor (which was nice since we had 3 children with us). I love the buttermilk fried flounder there and rarely order anything else. However, I did taste some of what everyone at our table ordered and the shrimp and grits were also great. The portions were huge and we took plenty home with us for lunch the next day. The only thing we ordered that was lacking was the shrimp nachos appetizer. I would definitely skip that next time.

If you can get a window seat, there is a fantastic view of sunset from the 2nd floor of this restaurant. Although the restaurant itself has a laid back and more casual atmosphere (it is at the Marina), the prices don't necessarily reflect that. They do have a wide range of options in varying price points though so that helps if you are on a budget. As a general rule though, Fripp Island is not an easy place to do on a budget unless you cook all your meals at home.

Like everything on Fripp Island, you have to have a Fripp ID card to eat here (just as you do to gain access to the pools, golf course and other restaurant/bar) so be sure you bring it with you. They are super serious about that policy and don't make exceptions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Boathouse also viewed

 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Bonito Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing