We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Restaurant- convenient location”
Review of Bonito Boathouse

Bonito Boathouse
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marina Restaurant- convenient location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

OK, this is our 4th year on Fripp Island and we always have one meal at the Marina because it is convenient, but be aware that they do not take reservations and it takes forever to get a table (even when they are all open, I inquired about that and was told that they were giving the kitchen a chance to "catch up".). Food is OK, nothing special and nothing new in 4 years, but the view is nice and the kids like to walk around and look at the boats while we wait for out table so that makes the wait more bareable.
Wish they would add some more menu items and work on the ambiance. It is very plain and boring inside and could much more attractivily set up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crshaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    28
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Red Lobster with a view”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The food seems over priced for the quality you receive. One of my kids even said "This is like Red Lobster", but with higher prices and lower quality. Service seems over worked and not very interactive. It was not a particularly crowded night

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the buttermilk fried flounder and sunset views”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our party of 7 was seated immediately and our server was fantastic. She was helpful, efficient and had a great sense of humor (which was nice since we had 3 children with us). I love the buttermilk fried flounder there and rarely order anything else. However, I did taste some of what everyone at our table ordered and the shrimp and grits were also great. The portions were huge and we took plenty home with us for lunch the next day. The only thing we ordered that was lacking was the shrimp nachos appetizer. I would definitely skip that next time.

If you can get a window seat, there is a fantastic view of sunset from the 2nd floor of this restaurant. Although the restaurant itself has a laid back and more casual atmosphere (it is at the Marina), the prices don't necessarily reflect that. They do have a wide range of options in varying price points though so that helps if you are on a budget. As a general rule though, Fripp Island is not an easy place to do on a budget unless you cook all your meals at home.

Like everything on Fripp Island, you have to have a Fripp ID card to eat here (just as you do to gain access to the pools, golf course and other restaurant/bar) so be sure you bring it with you. They are super serious about that policy and don't make exceptions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-Vegas, NC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Tiny portions, SLOW service, old food.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start. This is my second time eating at Bonito. The first time was a year ago and it was poor all the way around. I decided yesterday to try again, mostly because Fripp offers minimal food options and leaving the island takes a while. Yesterday it was absolutely awful. I will never return.
$84 total for two adults, one child.

$28 (plus $6 = $34) steamer pot: 5 shrimp, 2 snow crab clusters, 4 overcooked potato halves. Asked for no sausage but it did include petrified sausage. Requested side of scallops in lieu of sausage, which was possible as a side for $6...3 scallops. Scallops were fine. Corn was so old that all of the kernels were sunken. Requested and received a new ear maybe a day fresher, but still gross. Baked potato ordered as a side was black and hard as a rock. Again requested a fresh one. The waiter laughed and said sure, agreeing "that was probably cooked yesterday." The new potato came and was identical to the first. Ultimately the manager came over and in her standoffish way agreed the food looked unappetizing. She gave a $10 discount. So, $24 total for 3 decent scallops.

$19 shrimp trio (photo attached)
Three fried shrimp
Three scampi (with shells still on!)
Three stuffed (too disgusting to eat)
Side of delicious Mac and Cheese.

Hushpuppies ordered as appetizer. They were good but cold by the time the tartar sauce made it.

We waited and waited between each interaction with the waiter. Ultimately took daughter's brownie to go because it had been nearly two hours. Her dinner was fine, just plain pasta with butter...which came 15 minutes before our food so she sat there half falling asleep as it nearer 9:30.

The view is of the marsh and naturally it's beautiful. The tables and chairs are older, like a fish camp. Tacky table tap lights (we didn't even have one.,,used cell phone to see shells on shrimp until we could get a light). Just not Fripp level decor.

I fail to see why this place receives any positive reviews, but I attribute them to the bar. This restaurant highlights how restaurants benefit from competition. This one has none and exists without any effort to improve, submit a quality product or work within a pleasant timeframe. Two waiters in dining room....four girls and one manager at hostess station. Priorities.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JNTx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cheated”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Ordered 2 $11.95 fish sandwiches with mahi mahi. good tasting but when bill came they charged us an extra 21.95 and said the menu said "chef's choice" and that always means talapia. The waitress never told us that chef's choice was only talapia. We didn't ask for money back and they didn't offer it back. We went to the 11th Street Dockside on Lady's island for the next 5 strait nights and spent about $325.00 on those 5 nights that Bonito Boathouse would have gotten if they had offered us our money back. By the way if they had offered we would not have taken it and would have spent the money with them. Bad choice!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Boathouse also viewed

 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Bonito Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing