We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fresh seafood”
Review of Bonito Boathouse

Bonito Boathouse
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good fresh seafood”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Hard to get it during the dinner hour, but worth it. Try to get there before dark as the view of the marsh and tidal river is amazing. You will probably see fisherman coming in and cleaning their catch just below your window too. The food is consistenly good; the staff sometimes good, sometimes not.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebbieS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    31
    28
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairport NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food on Fripp Island”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a great place if you don't feel like leaving the island. There were 6 people in our party. Since we were going before all of the tourist show up our service was very quick.

I ordered the crabcake as an appetizer. It was very tasty...fully of lump crab meat and not a lot of breading. My entree was the Broiled Seafood Bounty...this had scallops, crab legs, flounder and shrimp. Everything was wonderful...the shrimp were a bit tiny but the rest of the seafood was wonderful. The crab legs were crisp...meaning you could use the crackers and they weren't soft and flexible that you find in some restaurants.

For my drink I had a Mojito....fresh mint leaves, not over powering on the mixer...I was very happy.

Overall if you are staying on Fripp Island I totally recommend stopping here. Just remember that you need an amenities card to dine here and if you come here during the peak time...be prepared to wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy Island Choice”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bonito Boathouse is a decent place to grab dinner when you don't feel like leaving the island, but don't expect too much. During prime season this place is packed with island vacationers, you must have a Fripp Island Amenity card to eat here for everyone in your party over 12 years old, it's great for those lazy days when you don't feel like leaving Fripp or cooking back at your house. The food is decent, fresh fried seafood for the most part, with my husband's favorite being the She-Crab Soup. My kids love the Key Lime pie, and will sometimes take a golf cart ride to Bonito's after dinner just for the dessert. My favorite part of Bonito's is the bar filled with vacationeers and island residents all looking to have a good time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GPPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Order to go”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want to eat in the restaurant keep in mind it isn't huge, although it is cute and clean, but you will get slow service. The she crab soup is really good! For a quick lunch or dinner call ahead and order to go. We usually do this a couple of times during our week stay. This is not where you want to have you big family seafood dinner night out . Go off island for that.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snjlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Give the boathouse another try”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The view is super, atmosphere is good, and it is the only game in town on Fripp island. The secret to the boathouse is to know what to order. Don't try anything fancy. Go for the hamburger, steak sandwich, flounder sandwich, or a salad. The basics are hard to mess up. Good for. a family group. The service is still spotty. If you hit a busy time it will be slow.

The boathouse is trying to improve and is making progress

Helpful?
1 Thank Buck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Boathouse also viewed

 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Bonito Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing