We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ribs and Attentive Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 521 BBQ & Grill - CLOSED

521 BBQ & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Ribs and Attentive Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped in for lunch last week and shared a couple platters in order to get a bit of everything. The pulled pork and ribs were especially delicious and their bbq sauce was nothing short of amazing. I'm told they have brisket one day during the week (Tuesdays?), which I'm really looking forward to trying. Our server was extremely friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKumpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best ribs and hush puppies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have eaten there 2 times now and both times the food and service was excellent. They have the best ribs and hush puppies ever!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best BBQ Ribs anywhere. I can't wait to go back. They are meaty and the sauce is great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you are ever in South Carolina, Ft. Mill area you have to stop at this little BBQ place. The best BBQ ribs. They are called Boston ribs. You have to try them.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice20141945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Around!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have tried many of the top bbq places here in the Carolinas and 521 BBQ has some of the best ribs I've have ever had. They are the meaty, off the bone tender at a very reasonable price. The chopped pork is excellent also. Their hushpuppies are outstanding as well. Worth the drive!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best BBQ south of Lexington, NC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Having grown up in BBQ county in NC, I have eaten all varieties: vinegar based, tomato based and mustard based. 521 serves excellent chopped pork BBQ with a variety of sauces to put on the meat so you can have your pick of flavors. Their ribs are some of the best I've ever had, meaty and drop-off-the-bone tender. And the two-meat plate with hushpuppies and beans gives you enough to take home and make another meal out of it. I'm not fond of their red slaw as it has a strong aftertaste that is not a good fit with the pork BBQ but the mayo-based slaw is a good substitute. They have opened another place in Fort Mill, SC off Hwy 160 and it serves the same excellent BBQ. It's worth the drive to Lancaster or Fort Mill.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sctallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 521 BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing