We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Fort Mill
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Phyllis at the front desk was very courteous and professional. The hotel may be undergoing repairs / renovations, but they do take good care of their guests. Bathrooms were very clean and service was efficient. We were even permitted an early check in due to a pressing appointment.
Especially for folks with kids visiting the nearby amusement park, this is a very convenient hotel with a great view
.

Room Tip: You want quiet and peace? Go for the south side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheergrace s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    36
    34
    76
See reviews for
101
38
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
GROVE CITY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is under construction, but please do not let that stop you from staying here. Our stay was so wonderful. First I had called them about the package to the the Carowinds amusement park and I was given some "advice" by the person at the front desk that worked out in my favor. We then checked in and even we wondered what kind of room we would have with the construction. When the door opened, we were in such a state of wonder our room was clean, had a hot tub (we needed this after a day at the park) and was just perfect. And for the price they charged for this room, I would say it was the best room we had on our trip! We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 1100 was the room we stayed in and I would suggest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We made a reservation via Expedia, the check-in was quick and without problem, the lounge was nice and clean, Phillys, the woman who did our check-in was very kind and take her time to answer our every questions. The room's view was great, the bathroom was clean. We stayed in 8th floor which was just remodeled, on 7th floor were working but we weren't disturbed at all neither by noise nor dust. Breakfast is just cereal an bagels, but we were pleased anyway. If i'm going back to the Carowinds area I'd most likely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Could not check in till 2 pm,had to wait after a 12 hour drive. the hallways are a mess,elevator was messy.still under construction, curly black hair in sink,tub and woven in the white towels... I have never been so disgusted in my whole life. If you plan on staying here,leave whatever you brought with you or you'll be taking home cockroaches!! They aren't even afraid of you! I went to call the front desk and a cockroach ran across the end stand! I ran out, dropped them their key and told the desk attendant he just said oh, yeah sorry!! Are you kidding me! Told them to refund my money, like I'll ever get it back. This was my first time in the Carolina's and it wasn't pleasant! Just want to warn everyone about the COCKROACHES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.very dirty and health hazard!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osr l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Mill hotels

Grove City, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed one night to be near the Carowinds. We made reservations and at first glance wasn't impressed with it. They are currently remodeling so parts of the Hotel are beautiful and other parts are still in need of work.When we walked into our room we were surprised with the luxury.The room was very clean with a very high end feel. Our room had a hot tub and we weren't expecting that. The hospitality can not be beat. The staff was very friendly and we instantly felt at home. You can see the evidence of the remodeling going on but we weren't disturbed by it at all during our stay. I wish we would have found this hotel earlier in our trip. We will certainly stay again if we visit this area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great staff! Cleanest rooms around. Newly renovated and extremely comfortable. The front desk personnel goes out of their way to ensure that we always have a great stay. I love this hotel. The price is always a great deal too. Close to Carowinds and close to the Plaza Fiesta.

Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in were top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My room on the 10th floor had been newly renovated. It was very nice and clean. Free WIFI There is a KFC and a gas station next to the hotel. The continental breakfast was very basic. The price was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaYorktown_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carowinds
Best Western Carowinds
#2 of 9 in Fort Mill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 9 in Fort Mill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Mill
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlotte/Arrowood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel at Carowinds

Property: Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Address: 3695 Foothills Way, Fort Mill, SC 29708-9299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel at Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carowinds Hotel
Plaza Hotel Fort Mill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing