We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly Staff and Nice Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fort Mill
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Nice Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

As soon as I checked in I felt good about my choice. The friendly young blonde girl was super friendly and accommodating with my need to use two different credit cards since one night would be business and the rest personal.

The room was on the 1st floor and I was delighted to find that I could open my window for fresh air. The queen bed was comfortable and clean with an updated cover and the carpet looked in great condition. Had a refrigerator and microwave and a large desk area. I happened to be assigned a handicap room so I had a large bathroom that was very clean. I always wipe down the countertops in a room and when I finished with this room, there was nothing on the rag.

The toilet didn't flush on my first try and I called to ask for repair and that was handled in a timely manner. Throughout my stay the staff was super friendly and helpful. Nice place and right across the street from Carowinds if anybody's going there.

Breakfast was fresh and large variety with a large area of tables.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNatureInUsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
3
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

They accommodated early arrival. Desk staff were very personal and helpful. Purchased Carowinds coupons at the hotel for a discount.
Stayed for a location close to the Carowinds amusement park. Great Italian restaurant across the HWY next to Comfort. Smoking smelled, non-smoking did not.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshar P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is under new management and we hope to better serve you in the future after we go through our extensive renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I don't know where to begin b/c this hotel was awful! I would never recommend it. 1) our room and the entire 4th floor had water damage and smelled moldy (including soggy, smelly, and sticky carpet) and yet they insisted on placing everyone on this floor 2) the bedding smelled of sweat even when supposedly changed 3) we couldn't communicate (housekeepers didn't speak English)and we were met with rude glares from most of the workers for a reason we didn't know 4) one worker barged into the room w/out knocking while I was sleeping at 7:30AM and still to this day I don't know why 4) I was accused of not staying here by a female greeter and that I was just using the pool although I had been there for a week at that point 5) the price is way too much and if you ask for towels or extra hangers you receive a look as if it's the strangest request and they tell you no 6)the one English speaking housekeeper gave me attitude when I was in the room when she wanted to clean, which was difficult to know when b/c it ranged from 10-3 and there's nothing to do around the hotel (Carowinds gets expensive at $40 or so a day)... please don't stay here unless you like harming yourself.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The wireless internet didn't work most of the time.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshar P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is under new management and we hope to better serve you in the future after we go through our extensive renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Mill hotels

Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Ok, First I must say they don't have enough people on staff to help you when you need extra things, towels, coffee, etc...
They have a great continental breakfast, but were terrible at replenishing the items when they ran out. The pool is small, but the place is clean. I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times in the last 3 years and I suppose I didn't go anywhere different because I was use to being there and knew it's location.

Recently I wanted to give my daughter and grandson a present..yes..a trip to Carowinds and was given an awfully hard time about using my credit card to pay for the room. This was due to the fact that I would not be accompaning them on the trip. I was told that I had to fill out an authorization form and fax it back to them. They requested me to put down all my financial information including my entire credit card number and demographic information. I was to fax a copy of my drivers license and my credit card (both front and back as well). I had already booked the room for them online, and my daughter has a drivers license and credit card for identification purposes. All I could think was, "what if someone walks by and picks up my information or my information basically ends up in the wrong hands?. I could mis-dial the number for example. So, I called the Best Western next door and 'walla!" I had their room and all she needed to show was her I.D. I will no longer be staying with Sleep Inn nor will any members of my family. I spoke directly to management and still couldn't get them to allow me to mark out a few numbers on the credit card for safety purposes. The front desk people were very rude and unreasonable when discussing this.

  • Liked — Nice Continental Breakfast
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brioliluvlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 7 in Fort Mill
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
#2 of 7 in Fort Mill
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Mill
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Charlotte/Ayrsley
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte - Arrowood Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds

Property: Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Address: 3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708-6204 (Formerly Fort Mill Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds is off Interstate 77, across from Carowinds. We are near Charlotte Convention Center, Discovery Place, Bank of America Stadium (home of the Carolina Panthers) and Knights Stadium. Charlotte-Douglas International Airport is eight miles away. Attractions include Winthrop University, Metrolina Expo Trade Center, Ovens Auditorium, Verizon Amphitheatre, Museum of York County and Lowe's Motor Speedway. Shop at a local outlet mall and two shopping malls. Several restaurants and bars are nearby. Free amenities include Morning Medley breakfast, coffee, newspaper and seasonal outdoor pool. We have free Wi-Fi in all rooms and access to copy services. We have bus parking. Rooms come with coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Sleep Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing