We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but there are better hotels in the area...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Fort Mill
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK, but there are better hotels in the area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I flew in from NY to visit a friend for the weekend. Overall, the hotel was nice, but regardless of the no smoking sign in the elevator, guests continued to light up. The "continental breakfast" that was advertised consisted of cereal and make your own waffles. Thank goodness right across the parking lot is a Cracker Barrel where you can get a real breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yankees180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    14
    14
    15
See reviews for
26
9
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My fiancé, myself, and another couple stayed in this hotel recently and it will most certainly be the last. We wanted something that was clean, inexpensive and close to Carowinds. I should have listened to the reviews and kept my distance. First of all, we arrived at the hotel right at 11:30 on a Friday night which in my opinion isn't late considering we were traveling from another state. When we arrived there was no one at the front desk or in sight for that matter. We rang the bell and waited for about five minutes...no one came. My fiancé then proceeded to call the hotel's phone, when it rang the MANAGER came up to the desk to answer it. He was extremely rude and even told us that we should have let someone know we were arriving late. I have an issue with this. First of all, if you have an issue with your paying guest arriving later that should be posted on your website or listed somewhere. Secondly, as an adult, I felt like I was being reprimanded which is not okay. We finally got our room keys and went on our way. Now the rooms aren't terrible but nothing I would brag on either. The bathrooms are super small so if your claustrophobic this isn't the place for you. The next morning we went downstairs to eat breakfast it's your typical waffles, dry cereal, mini muffins etc. but it had been completely wiped out, there were probably 2 muffins and a bagel and once again, there was no one in sight at the desk or in the lobby. We had to skip out and go to the Cracker Barrel next door which is fine but I feel like if you're paying to stay there and it promises free breakfast there should be a stocked breakfast bar. The last complaint I have is when we made the reservations they said there was an outdoor pool in working condition, not true. The pool was dirty and hadn't yet been cleaned for the summer. Overall, just take your money elsewhere. There are tons of other great hotels/motels a few miles down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank linzdeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshar P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
We apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is under new management and we hope to better serve you in the future after we go through our extensive renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Management sucks, no points, refridge needed repair, mold on ceiling in bath, overall poor maintenance and bad management... Thumbs down.... Will never return to this hotel.... Many others in the area to choose from

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yammadog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshar P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
We apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is under new management and we hope to better serve you in the future after we go through our extensive renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have stayed at this location many times. While this particular Sleep Inn has not been part of the recent re-model a lot of the choice properties have been part of, this hotel is always clean and the Manager friendly and helpful. Mattresses are a little on the older side but seem to still have some good life left in them. The pillows are a bit flat and could use an upgrade. If you are traveling on business or will need access to the internet during your stay, I suggest you bring a personal hotspot with you. I stayed in this hotel for three week most recently, and although I could connect to the internet through the free wifi, the signal is no where near strong enough to actually go anywhere or do anything.

Room Tip: These rooms are very quiet, I have never once had a problem with "room noise" from the fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairmont, WV, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

For the price is excellent, Rudy the manager is a very very nice and professional and so helpful. Place was easy to find, very clean, and I enjoyed my sleep there. Thank you for keeping your hotel so nice! I hope to come back!

Room Tip: Great Hotel! clean and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at this sleep in twice now and the service has been great. Our organization uses this Sleep Inn on a monthly basis and we keep coming back because our experience has been very good and the customer service is great. Rudy, the General Manager, is always on the job, I don't know when the guy sleeps, but when he is called upon for help he is always there with whatever you need and has a very good work ethic. He is always nice and helpful. Along with all of this the rates are good as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This property is right next to carowinds. Room was clean , carpet a bit worned but not ragged out. Staff was freindly . Breakfast was of cereals, pastries and waffles. The price was in line with other hotels in the area. Overall it is a pretty nice facility. They could use more help though. as the night desk clerk was also the morning desk clerk and the breakfast guy. He was literally a one man band LOL. but he had it taken care of. We did not see any other staff. while there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highmiles61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akshar P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
We apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel is under new management and we hope to better serve you in the future after we go through our extensive renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Mill
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
BEST WESTERN Carowinds
#2 of 9 in Fort Mill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
Comfort Inn At Carowinds
#3 of 9 in Fort Mill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel at Carowinds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Mill
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte/Ayrsley
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte - Arrowood Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds

Property: Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds
Address: 3540 Lakemont Blvd, Fort Mill, SC 29708 (Formerly Fort Mill Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Fort Mill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Fort Mill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds is off Interstate 77, across from Carowinds. We are near Charlotte Convention Center, Discovery Place, Bank of America Stadium (home of the Carolina Panthers) and Knights Stadium. Charlotte-Douglas International Airport is eight miles away. Attractions include Winthrop University, Metrolina Expo Trade Center, Ovens Auditorium, Verizon Amphitheatre, Museum of York County and Lowe's Motor Speedway. Shop at a local outlet mall and two shopping malls. Several restaurants and bars are nearby. Free amenities include Morning Medley breakfast, coffee, newspaper and seasonal outdoor pool. We have free Wi-Fi in all rooms and access to copy services. We have bus parking. Rooms come with coffee makers, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites at Carowinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Carowinds Hotel Fort Mill
Sleep Inn Fort Mill
Fort Mill Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing